We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely restaurant meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant

Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   King Street, Leek ST13 5NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 15 Leek B&B and Inns
staffs
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely restaurant meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We have dined at peak weavers on numerous occasions and on my birthday nick and emma made the effort to wish me a happy birthday and they also served us desert which we had not ordered and put a candles on it, they always make us feel special and the food is of excellent quality..they are extremely polite and courteous and we recommend this restaurant to all our friends, most of whom have visited and totally agree with us

Room Tip: lovely room, beautifully decorated. good hosts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weavy96, Manager at Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, we do try and make sure that everyone is looked after well. It is always wonderful to hear that your guests have enjoyed their experience and had a special evening. Best Wishes Nick and Em
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    10
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
19
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Me and my Fiance booked a night at Peak Weavers when we went to visit our Wedding venue (Something management were aware of) unfortunatly it snowed which cant be helped but when we finally got there I changed my wellies for trainers as I was cold and the Manager greeted us by saying 'That's not appropriate footwear for this weather...' He then snorted at our choice of car (a Mini Cooper) to be driving round the snow in and continued to look us up and down making hidious facial expressions and derogatory comments about our choices of clothing which was instantly off putting and rude.
No one had made an effort to clear the steep drive of snow even though management were aware we were coming, he then showed us to our room which was cute, cosy and clean but small especially for £88! Needless to say we stayed over and left as early as possible with as little communication with management as possible.
We thought considering he would gain business from our wedding next year he may have behaved more proffesionally. Dissapointed, wont be staying again and certainly wont reccommend to family staying over for our wedding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weavy96, Manager at Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments about your room, it is always nice to hear positive & constructive comments. We are sincerely sorry you didn't enjoy your stay however, you were right, weather conditions were horrendous, 10 ft snow drifts in some places. It had been continually snowing, we couldn't clear the snow quick enough!!! Thus we were concerned about showing you our self catering property as planned, we don't have a four wheel drive(wish we had) nor you. The only other alternative would have been part drive and walking, which is why we were concerned about footwear, when asked if you had anything else to protect your feet other than little pumps, you said no. We were genuinely concerned that you would get hyperthermia. Best intentions were meant, I am so sorry that you didn't see it that way. Wishing you both a fantastic day and a happy future together. Best Wishes Em and Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Stayed here for a nearby wedding - very comfortable, good cooked breakfast with a few different options. The owner was really helpful recommending nearby walks etc - the surrounding countryside is beautiful, and he helped us find some amazing places. Perhaps a little pricey though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weavy96, Owner at Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review, its always nice to hear positive comments from our customers.

Kind Regards

Nick & Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business for 3 nights in mid April. I was bitterly disappointed. Closed bar. Closed Restaurant. No real effort was made to make me feel welcome and only briefly saw other souls at breakfast. The lack of heat was similarly startling with radiators that must share a common candle. Decor pleasant but needs maintenance. This is essentially a B & B and should describe itself as such. It has the air of a failing business where the owners invested love and money several years ago but are now unmotivated.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weavy96, Owner at Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Sincerely sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, and I am so disappointed that you didn't enjoy your newly decorated Farrow & Ball room with its beautifully comfortable new king size bed - this is my favourite room, especially when the church is lit up at night. I am also sorry that you did not get to sample our award winning restaurant restaurant, it is not open at the beginning of the week, however there are some lovely pubs and restaurants within minutes walk in the picturesque town of Leek, we are very lucky!
Best wishes for the future Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for one night but wished it could have been more. A beautiful B & B converted from what once was a convent and adjoined to a historic church. Lovely room. Comfortable with a nice, clean ensuite. Good breakfast and nice dining room. Would go back again. Only negative was it was a little pricey for what it was. We paid 89 pounds for one night.

Room Tip: Lovely little village to visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weavy96, Owner at Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments, it is always lovely to hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay.

Best Wishes Emma and Nick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We are always assured of top quality food and a warm welcome at Peak Weavers which is why we chose this venue whenever we have a special celebration. There is nowhere in the Leek area to compare with the quality of the food and the ambience of this lovely old building. The owners Nick and Emma do not compromise on any aspect - we have never had cause to complain about anything - fine dining, fine wines and excellent staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weavy96, Owner at Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your lovely words, it is wonderful to hear that that you have enjoyed your evening and that you rate us so highly. Best Wishes Nick and Em
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I am afraid our family nearly completely took over this place, taking 5 rooms for our 9 family members for a nearby family wedding.

Rooms were ready for our arrival and we were made to feel completely at home.

We were treated so well in a lovely historic building, with very comfortable rooms. We had a memorable dinner on Friday night with wide choice and excellent cooking, including for a further 3 invited guests. Emma cooked dinner, and, in spite of our "invasion", it was well served and without any fuss. Good choice of wines for a small establishment, too: well done !

The owners were very quick to please, made us tea on arrival, and operated the lounge bar manfully. They were also enlightening about the venue's history and, being local, the town itself.

We felt very relaxed and some of us would certainly return for a walking holiday in future - if my hip stands up, as the venue is in a central location for exploring then Peak Dsitrict. Leek is a much more interesting place than we expected.

We chose the Peak Weavers as a non-bland place to stay, compared to other faceless places. The Canadian members of our family enjoyed this booking immensely.

Well done Nick and Emma.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant

Address: King Street, Leek ST13 5NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Leek
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1828 for a local mill owner the Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant stands in its own grounds close to Leek town centre. It was sold by the Wardle family in the 1860’s and became the convent to the Catholic Church. For nearly 120 years it remained so until in 1978 it was converted to a Guest House and restaurant. The Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant takes its name from its close proximity to the Peak District and from the industry that shaped the town of Leek. Fine examples of weaver’s cottages can be seen on King Street, their third storey catching optimum hours of daylight to enable Leek’s women of yesteryear to work their looms from dawn to dusk. In 1999 husband and wife team, Nick and Emma Bettany, took over the Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant and set about restoring the period property to its former glory. An ongoing policy of refurbishment has resulted in the bed and breakfast accommodation being graded at 4 Star by the English Tourism Council and the AA. The 40 cover restaurant, under Emma’s guidance, is a previous “Taste of Staffordshire” award winner and has subsequently been awarded an AA Rosette. In September of 2005 the Peak Weavers was judged runner up in Staffordshire Small Restaurant of the Year by a panel of RAC food inspectors. Also in 2005 Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant attained membership of the Peak District Cuisine initiative in recognition of its support for local producers, the first, and currently only restaurant in the Leek area to do so. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and also makes good use of local produce. For the business traveller wireless internet access is available throughout the Guest House and is included in the bed and breakfast tariff. The accommodation is completely smoke free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant Leek, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant to your Saves list