We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Night!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant

Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant
Save
You added Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   King Street, Leek ST13 5NW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 16 Leek B&B and Inns
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I honestly can't fault Peak Weavers! Every time I've been it has been nothing but excellent. Excellent food, excellent service and excellent value for money! I am so happy that the restaurant has reopened as I am yet to find anywhere for miles in the area that even comes close!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    10
    2
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
19
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The Peak Weaver Hotel was a friendly and welcoming place to spend a weekend.
The standard of accommodation and full english breakfast was above value for money. The owners Nick and Emma were very friendly and knowledgeable of the surrounding area and attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

I spent a night at Peak Weavers to break a long journey. My room was very clean and comfortable and very tastefully decorated. The staff were helpful and friendly giving me a good idea of what might be of interest to me during my stay. Breakfast was very good, especially nice sausages!

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have stayed at Peak Weavers on business on 3 separate occasions. On each occasion I was well received despite arriving late on some occasions. i was especially impressed with the food - high restaurant standards (at a surprisingly good rate). Bedrooms were generally spacious and well decorated and clean. On one occasion I booked late and was told in advance that the only room available was small. It was, but this was fine as I was fore warned.

The staff have always been friendly and always have time for small talk. I would highly recommend Peak Weavers to business travellers and tourists alike.

Room Tip: Lots of stairs, so ask for a first floor room if your legs ain't what they used to be. Rooms ran...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

I was visiting friends in the area and I SHOULD have let them make the arrangements of where I would stay but didn’t want to trouble them. The website made the B&B/restaurant look charming; in reality it is sterile and devoid of personality. When I arrived the place was practically empty. Getting to the parking lot is somewhat challenging as you have to drive down a side alley with cars parked on both sides of the street. If someone is coming from the opposite direction heaven help you. The lot itself had plenty of room for cars. An employee who was barely interested in my arrival showed me to a room on the top floor, up a narrow, dark staircase, bypassing many empty rooms. The room I stayed in was okay, nothing special or horrible. The lighting left much to be desired, as it was very dim at night, not even bright enough to read by! The place felt very empty but on the plus side it was also very quiet. Breakfast the next morning was a bit sad. The room is large but with only one other person in there, no music playing, and no real interaction with the staff, I pretty much ate and ran. The food itself was blah, I did grab a banana for the road, but no luck getting a refill on my coffee. What makes it worse it was the most expensive place I stayed the entire 14 day trip.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower floor! The higher you go the steeper the stair cases get and the less light to see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

A lovely welcome from the friendly, helpful hosts began our delightful 2 night stay in this beautifully restored house. Spotlessly clean, & really comfortable bed. Nice & quiet, no traffic noise, & a well-prepared breakfast. We were attending a wedding nearby, & staying here added extra enjoyment to a great weekend.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

I was concerned with the reviews on here with regards what appeared to be rudeness by the Manager of the Hotel to guests. I need to visit Leek on Business very shortly so thought I would send an email to the Hotel to see of this rude Manager was still in charge or whether the Hotel was under new management, only to receive a repsonse by the rude Manager himself, a somewhat curt reply which I would of expected if the reviews were indeed accurate, and I can confirm from this reply that they appear to be more than accurate, I shall not be stopping at this Hotel ever and neither will any of my Business Partners, as for the complaints I cannot comment, as for this individual, no comment !, will leave what my response may have been to your imagination.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
weavy96, Owner at Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
I felt that my response to your enquiry was honest and polite and am disappointed that you felt the need to write this review without staying with us
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant

Address: King Street, Leek ST13 5NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Leek
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Leek
Hotel Class:4 star — Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1828 for a local mill owner the Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant stands in its own grounds close to Leek town centre. It was sold by the Wardle family in the 1860’s and became the convent to the Catholic Church. For nearly 120 years it remained so until in 1978 it was converted to a Guest House and restaurant. The Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant takes its name from its close proximity to the Peak District and from the industry that shaped the town of Leek. Fine examples of weaver’s cottages can be seen on King Street, their third storey catching optimum hours of daylight to enable Leek’s women of yesteryear to work their looms from dawn to dusk. In 1999 husband and wife team, Nick and Emma Bettany, took over the Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant and set about restoring the period property to its former glory. An ongoing policy of refurbishment has resulted in the bed and breakfast accommodation being graded at 4 Star by the English Tourism Council and the AA. The 40 cover restaurant, under Emma’s guidance, is a previous “Taste of Staffordshire” award winner and has subsequently been awarded an AA Rosette. In September of 2005 the Peak Weavers was judged runner up in Staffordshire Small Restaurant of the Year by a panel of RAC food inspectors. Also in 2005 Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant attained membership of the Peak District Cuisine initiative in recognition of its support for local producers, the first, and currently only restaurant in the Leek area to do so. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and also makes good use of local produce. For the business traveller wireless internet access is available throughout the Guest House and is included in the bed and breakfast tariff. The accommodation is completely smoke free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant Leek, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peak Weavers Rooms & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.