We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great venue for a children's party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rudyard Lake Steam Railway

Rudyard Lake Steam Railway
Rudyard station, Rudyard Road | Rudyard, Leek ST13 8PF, England
01538 306704
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 14 things to do in Leek
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Steam trains give a scenic 3 mile return trip along the side of Historic Rudyard Lake. This is the best way to see the beautiful lake and get to its attractions. The lake is where poet Rudyard Kipling's parents met at a picnic and named their child after the spot. Its an unspoilt place great for a family day out or picnic.There are toilets for our customers open 10.30 to 4pm when the trains are running and the Platform 2 cafe is open at weekends from April to October.There are special family event days throughout the year. See the website for details or email us for information.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great venue for a children's party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We have just held our sons 3rd birthday party at this venue. Everybody loved the train ride, the food provided was great for the children and we were under no pressure to leave which meant plenty of time for party games. I thoroughly recommend this venue, our experience was faultless and we were left with one very happy little boy.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    48
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Quaint Railway with lovely walk around lake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was a last minute day out because the weather was actually decent. A few people have reccommended visiting. The railway was quiet and quaint. We are all grown adults, but of course we had to have a ride on the steam train. The walk around the lake is really relaxing and is beautiful. It's a great place for a relaxing walk. I was in awe at the goregous lakeside houses that I could see. It was worth a visit just to see these. I reccommend a visit for all ages.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leek, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Great walks along the track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Rudyard Lake is a nice day out and if steam railways are your thing then it's worth a visit.The track runs alongside the lake for about a mile, also great to walk the dogs and then pop in Rudyard hotel for reasonably priced grub

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Day Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Beautiful setting and you get to ride a miniature steam train. Make sure you read all the signs especially the one that says, "Mind Your Head", or you'll end up with a big lump like I did. You can go for a walk, hire a rowing boat or just relax. Lot's of photo opportunities.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armitage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Steam Railway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Three of us, all elderly, visited Rudyard Lake earlier this week just to ride on the steam railway. Great! Excellent views of the lake and the surounding country and the system is staffed by a very good crew who are intent in making your day out a good one. We were particalarly impressed by the attention given by train staff to children who were making the trip, they tried very hard to include the children in all aspects of the ride. Will go again

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudyard Lake Steam Railway also viewed

Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Froghall, Stoke-on-Trent
 

Been to Rudyard Lake Steam Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rudyard Lake Steam Railway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.