We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet evening with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Smithy

The Old Smithy
8 Castle Street, Eccleshall ST21 6DF, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Restaurants in Eccleshall
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Quiet evening with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The menu was a set one as it was Mother's Day I presumed but the items were a little different and very well presented. Very tasty. Service good.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eccleshall, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“simply superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The place is smart, modern, very well presented, excellent staff attitude, the guy who runs it has an eye for detail, the food is consistently superb, the menu is extensive, the wine list is very good, this place isn't cheap pub grub, but it is also not expensive overpriced disappointment, i would have no issues with recommending anyone to go their!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We called here as a family one lunch time, we had read the good reviews on tripadvisor and so thought we would give it a try, what a disappointment!! I did feel that the menu was rather limited; However we all decided to have the cod in batter I think this is where we went wrong, the chef had problems with the fish batter, it was soggy and the plate was full of grease, the chips were inedible and the mushy peas were very sparse! We were given the bill at the end of the meal; we were not even asked if we enjoyed the meal! I know the reviews I read said it was good food but I disagree or maybe they have a different chef, anyway I can honestly say we will not be returning as there are better restaurants around which are far superior.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Really Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I went there with two girlfriends last week. I haven't been there for years and what a change. The place is completely changed, and for the better. The decor was beautiful, and the food and service was second to none. I would definately advise people to try it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CARDIFF, WALES
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent village pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We ate, as a family group of 7, on a Saturday evening recently. The downstairs restaurant was full so we were given a table in an upstairs room which was a little cool and lacking in atmosphere. However, this was more than compensated for by the welcoming and friendly staff who were all excellent.
A lengthy menu plus another quite long Specials list made me worry a little as to whether the kitchen could cope. Worries unjustified as all the meals, ranging from Risotto to Lamb Shank were perfectly cooked and served within a reasonable time. Good beer and wine lists at average prices. Overall a really good meal in a friendly and well managed pub, no hesitation in returning on another occasion.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Smithy also viewed

Eccleshall, Staffordshire
Eccleshall, Staffordshire
 
Eccleshall, Staffordshire
Eccleshall, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Old Smithy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Smithy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.