We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“deep clean” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Grail Court Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Grail Court Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Grail Court Hotel
Station Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1BN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Burton upon Trent
north east
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“deep clean”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Nice staff, helped me with booking a taxi, location is quite close to train station and town centre. Bed was quite comfortable and the linen was clean. A medieval theme running through the hotel is not to my taste, but is consistant and a lot of attention to detail on the decor.
The room had not been hoovered, the chair in the bathroom had a layer of dust on the under part and there was a musty smell from the room. There was dust in a lot of other places too. The hotel in general could do with a deep clean. The window is georgian and fits the style but not practical with a busy road and a hot room. Bathroom had no wall fixture for the shower hose and at one point there was no hot water. The carpet in the batroom is away from the wall and there was tape on the bottom of the bath. An electrical shower would be better. The extra money for the ensuite was not worth it. Only one electrical socket in the room. Bit frustrating. The breakfast was poor on selection. No fruit, pastries or yoghurt. The coffee had been sat out a while and was very bitter. The fry was tasty but I would have liked more. A newer faster toaster is needed. I think the hotel has begun renovations as I noticed the newish tv and carpets. I would like to see it if some money was spent on modernising it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    3
    2
    5
See reviews for
2
8
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I stayed here a few months back and was utterly dissapointed. The staff were ignorant and the room was very small and cluttered. The underneath of the bed had obviously not had a clean as there were cigarette butts and general rubbish under it. After stayeing here i had encountered a rash on my hands and lower arm from the bedding that landed me in hospital with a severe infection. I had tracking up my arms and on my wrist that led to minor septicemia. Would not EVER stay or reccomend to anyone

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011 via mobile

Best Place I've stopped in a long, long time. Forget travelodge and premier inn, they are your basic standard. This hotel goes one step higher than the mundane experience. Customer service is the best I've seen in such a long time. Thanks to Rob and Brian.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Anyone who is thinking of having a wedding reception should look no further than the Grail Court Hotel. The Manager, Brian, was absolutely fantastic, helping out with everything and making sure it all ran smoothly (a big massive thankyou to Rob & Jess as well). The hotel itself is Arthurian in theme and is just a lovely environment.

Would we go back? Absolutely!!! 10 STAR rating from my new wife and me.

PS Watch out if you're staying there on your wedding night as your hotel room key apparantly "accidentally slips out" of the managers hands and falls into one of your friends/family hands and you will find lots of streamers and petals underneath the duvet :D

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

First of all, the nightclub has closed so no worries about being kept awake all night. B/B in a double was only £56 so as far as I`m concerned its good value. Room was clean, the shower worked which from previous experiences was a bonus. The owner is really friendly and helpful. It`s not luxury but at £56 what do you expect. Would happily stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

We spent two nights here in the last week in July . The welcome we got was good . The room was clean and comfortable and breakfasts were very good . We had dinner in the Hotel both evenings and the meals were well cooked and presented . The staff , from the owner down were smart , polite and very helpful and we would not hesitate to stay there again .

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Old building with basic rooms which were very clean. Great value for money. Excellent personal service from the friendly manager and his assistant. Nothing was too much trouble. Good breakfast which was cooked to order.

The only slightly annoying thing was that the bar closed at 10.45pm (even for residents) and were were asked to bring our drinks upstairs to our rooms! So ignore previous comments about the noisy nightclub - it has since closed!

Made a nice change from the "chain operated" hotels. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grail Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grail Court Hotel

Address: Station Street, Burton upon Trent DE14 1BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 11 hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Grail Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grail Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grail Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.