We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay when visiting National Brewery Centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East to your Saves list
Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82, Ashby Road East, Burton upon Trent DE15 0PU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Lincs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay when visiting National Brewery Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed at this Premier Inn last weekend 9th - 11th November. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, giving excellent information and even arranging a taxi big enough for our family to travel together. The rooms are comfortable,warm and clean and the cleaning staff have a cheery word with guests. The breakfast is great with plenty of variety. Every hotel we have ever stayed in has a slow toaster but everything else was fine. The meals in the evening were all you would expect of a chain bar meal but the service was "spot on". We visited the Brewery Centre on fRiday Night for a " Dr Busker" special- not for the faint hearted but huge fun!! The Half Hogshead tour next day was great value for money informative and very jolly due to the beer tasting experience. Burton on trent has much to offer and the Premier Inn East is a great base to use. This seems a happy place with settled, experienced staff who genuinely want their guests to have a good time

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be OK ( we booked three) Family rooms are available and quite large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    54
    19
    13
    8
See reviews for
56
45
6
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

We used Burton on Trent Premier Inn recently while visiting Alton Towers (around 20 miles away)
Excellent value for money, very clean, good facilities, very friendly & helpfull staff, breakfast was also good value as our kids ate for free.
Could not fault the hotel it self but the road outside was busy and a little noisey.
Overall an excellent stay, highly recommended and we will use again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.A.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We recently stayed at the Premier Inn for five nights while visiting the UK. We have stayed at this hotel before and have always been happy with it. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially those on reception. We ate at the hotel and enjoyed the food which we thought was good value for money. We especially liked the breakfasts. We will definitely use the hotel again when we return to visit family and friends in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We have friends who live just down the road and needed to stay over. We need a room with wheelchair access and disabled facilities.

Running late as usual, rather than fully check-in I just dumped our bags and straight out again. The desk was unmanned when I got there rang the bell and a very amusing lady came and checked us in. When she asked what was in the rather large black travel case (it contains our mobile hoist btw) I couldn't resist and said it's a small dwarf! Well I hope you're letting him out later. she responded.Well made me chuckle.

As I say straight out again and when we got back later again the desk was unmanned. Got to the room and because we need space for the hoist etc I as usual had to re-arrange to accommodate. Not a problem as we're used to it. No space under the bed so make sure you bring bed raisers. TV in wrong place if you need to use the single..Big bathroom with bath but the toilet is too close to the wall and there is no space under the bath to use a hoist.The electric macerator toilet mechanism sounds like there's a munchy creature chewing you waste which is quite funny..

Living where we do we don't have much traffic noise, the hotel is right next to a fairly busy road, but once we got used to it, you don't notice it too much. Well we couldn't have done as we slept through breakfast time so didn't use the restaurant this time. We have eaten there before and it's good standard table top chain.

Desk unmanned on check out so used the key drop box.

Apart from showing me to the room and saying just shout if you need anything, we didn't see any staff, which suits us, but knowing they are just next door if needed is fine.

The hotel could do with a bit of a freshen up and they need to sort the wheelchair access from the little car park. There is no dropped kerb so you need to bump up it to use the pathway or push out into the road area to use the entrance to the main door. Even that has a rain gully you need to lift over to get across. Maybe they should mention it to the council.

On the whole a good little hotel for a couple of nights stay and if like us you can arrange round the £19 deals it's perfect.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Apart from the road noise (ask for a room at the back) this is a cut above the usual budget hotels I stay in. V friendly staff; and menu choicces much broader and more itnresting than usual. The kids eat free was a bonus. The cooked breakfast - cooked to order for a change instead of some luke warm and dried up hot buffet, was an unexpected and delicious bonus.
On the down side - the staff were very pressed on a busy Saturday night when they had a full restaurant and a private funciton as well. We waited more than an hour for our main coourse. And they ran out of decent white wine.... Those staff on duty did their best - but it really did spoil the meal

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the main road and the side where deliveries come to the kitchen at 5am!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Same story really, and a good one, I honestly don't believe you can go wrong with a Premier Inn.

This is small for PI standards, only 33 rooms, but they still have all the amenities you need. I only have one small gripe about room 32 though. The layout is odd due to its location in the building, with an alcove where the additional sofabed is, this means the desk is to the right as you come in the door, but there isn't a plug socket anywhere near it! What use is having a desk with a light on it when you can't even plug it in, or any other electrical items for that matter like a laptop etc? I had to move the desk over to beside the TV and wardrobe unit so I could plug the light in and work on my laptop, only other solution is to have the top light on and the laptop power supply stretching across the room making it a tripping hazard. Not really well thought out that.

Otherwise it does everything else fine! Will be nice when they eventually get the flatscreens that are in most PI's now.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
76 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

As it was a last minute business trip I ended up in Burton East rather than central (which I'd have preferred to get to the football ground that night) and I guess this one was nearly full as I was in a disabled room on the ground floor. That in itself was no real drama although the height of the bed and sink is hard work if you've a back like mine!

That aside the check in staff member was lovely and organised me a taxi with the minimum of fuss. For all it was a rushed dinner the food was good and the local ale fantastic! Breakfast was also one of the better ones I've had and set me up for a long day on the road. I'd have not hesitation booking again should duty call.

As ever my final point to Premier Inn is FREE WIFI FOR ALL please, having to log in all night is a pain in the proverbial. Do away with the charge as I'm sure you lose business because of it already. I for one often stay at Best Western for that reason alone!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Burton upon Trent
3.2 mi away
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Central
Premier Inn Burton On Trent Cent...
#1 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.5 of 5 stars 300 reviews
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-Trent
Holiday Inn Express Burton-upon-...
#8 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
The Three Queens Hotel and Lodge
#6 of 11 in Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
3.6 mi away
Riverside Hotel
Riverside Hotel
#1 of 1 in Branston
3.5 of 5 stars 290 reviews
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Hotel
Premier Inn Ashby De La Zouch Ho...
#1 of 2 in Ashby de la Zouch
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East

Address: 82, Ashby Road East, Burton upon Trent DE15 0PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in lovely tranquil and historic surroundings, tor Burton on Trent hotel puts so much within easy reach, including Burton on Trent town centre, Alton Towers and Ashby Castle. Explore the beating heart of industrial England at Barton Marina. Or have your heart in your mouth on the Oblivion ride at Alton Towers. Get the pulse racing at Donnington Park Download Festival. Then come back for hearty fare at our Table Table restaurant, and a lovely comfy bed in your room. Directions: Exit A42(J13), follow A511 towards Burton for approx. 7 miles. Hotel is on your left. From A38 follow signs for A511 towards Leicester. Hotel is between Burton and Ashby on right. Next to the Stanhope Arms Table Table. For Satnav postcode enter DE15 0PT. Transport and local information: Calke Abbey A42 J13 Burton Train Station 3 miles East Midlands airport 16 miles Doninton Park race track Alton Towers Twycross Zoo Tutbury Castle Conkers National Memorial Arboretum Directions: Exit A42(J13), follow A511 towards Burton for approx. 7 miles. Hotel is on your left. From A38 follow signs for A511 towards Leicester. Hotel is between Burton and Ashby on right. Next to the Stanhope Arms Table Table. For Satnav postcode enter DE15 0PT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East Hotel Burton Upon Trent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Burton-On-Trent East, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.