We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A veggie delight!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Duffield Lane | Newborough, Burton upon Trent DE13 8SH, England
+44 1283 576182
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Red Lion is situated just off the A515 and is an ideal venue for all occasions. We are close to St George's Park, Tatenhill Air Field, Trent Raceway, Old Bakers Cottage B&B, Newborough Cottages and Hoar Cross Hall & Spa. We have a lovely bar area with open fire. Our restaurant can accommodate 45 guests and also fantastic new bar area. We welcome families, walkers, cyclists, dogs and large parties. Our daily menu is available from 12pm-2.30Pm with dinner menu available from 5-9.30 Tuesday to Saturday. Sunday Lunch is served 12-6 pm.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A veggie delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

I am sure that carnivores are well catered for but it is so unusual for a vegetarian meal to be so delicious and creative. We have just returned from the Red Lion after eating a very impressive Sunday lunch and hopefully it will not be long before we return. The ambiance, all staff and food were first class which added up to a brilliant meal. Well done .

  • Visited December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    6
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doveridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another magnificent meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

The Red Lion is becoming something of a regular haunt for my wife and I. The combination of its welcoming "busy local pub" atmosphere and the outstanding culinary experience makes the Red Lion a great choice for dining out with family and friends.

Signature dishes such as the "Surf & Turf Platter" and "Rotisserie Chicken" add a little character to an excellent menu offering a broad selection of creative options. This well presented "finger food" also makes the experience relaxing and informal.

The Red Lion offers a good selection of beers, and the wine list has some interesting choices, if a little limited at the premium end.

What really makes the Red Lion shine is the service. Positive, enthusiastic servers make regular, but non-intrusive visits to ensure everything is being taken care of. Be sure to book well in advance if you want to dine at weekends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Randomly selected from Trip Advisor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Saw this pub/restaurant whilst trying to find somewhere within 15 miles of home for a Friday night Birthday meal. We knew of the area so gave it a whirl and booked in the night before. Wasn't disappointed. Fresh cooked food selected from a non run of the mill menu at very reasonable prices for this type of establishment (Mains ranged from £11 to £18) Two nice veggie options were included. A smallish restaurant but well organised and comfortable. Decent draft ale at £3.20 a pint, so all in all a good experience! A busy pub in a nice little village, isolated but not too far from anywhere! Will call again

  • Visited November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hi Ken C

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely review.

I am really glad you enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon,

Kind Regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yoxall, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well done Red Lion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Had a lovely night at the Red Lion, staff very friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is great, we ate in the restaurant the food was very good. Thursday night is pie night was very busy all the locals having a great time.

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hi Hugh

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

I'm really glad to hear you enjoyed your meal with us at the Red Lion.

Look forward to welcoming you again soon

Kind Regards

Emma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I've eaten in a lot of Pubs, best ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

After quite a bit of business and personal travel, I have found my favorite Pub. This is my first review and this place deserves it. Normally I look for decent food and bearable service. ThIs staff will keep you coming back and the menu consistently surprises. A mix of excellent pub fare which varies throughout the week and the occasional themed meal will keep your palate interested. The local crowd is friendly and the staff is thoughtful. After 30 years of travel across Europe and the US, "Best Pub Ever". Stop here soon before the talent gets discovered.

  • Visited October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma S, General Manager at The Red Lion, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Hi Doug

Firstly Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

And then secondly Thank you for joining us during your stay in England, It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and have you join our regular crowd.

On behalf of the team, our lovely locals and myself we all hope you are well and will come back and see us soon.

Kind Regards

Emma and all the Red Lion team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.