We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tried to cancel us with 48hrs notice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent to your Saves list
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newborough Road | St George's Park National Football Centre, Burton upon Trent DE13 9PD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tried to cancel us with 48hrs notice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was angry when with 48hrs notice the hotel tried to cancel us and move us to another chain hotel 8 miles away. When I refused I was informed we had no choice as they had overbooked and the organisation that were requesting more rooms had priority. We were not offered a refund just a taxi to bring us to our function (which was in the St Georges complex which is the reason we stayed there in the first place). I think this is a terrible way to treat customers and they should have informed the organisation that they were fully booked and could not take any further bookings.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra L, Operations Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Lisa H

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, as per my email please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss further.

Kind regards

Greg Crawford
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton at St George's Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    148
    46
    16
    9
See reviews for
132
167
7
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our second visit did not disappoint; we are booking for a further visit in May, 2014! On this occasion we used the gym and pool; both excellent facilities. The staff remembered us from our previous visit and were keen to share experiences.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Dubaiunlimited

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014, thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Me and my cousin stayed at the hilton for a spa experience, for her birthday and for my self due to getting engaged to my boyfriend a week earlier. The spa was fantastic and Jess the lady that did are treatment was superb, and needs a pay rise. Xx couldn't give her enough praise. When we arranged at the hilton, at about 1pm the staff where fantastic at reception couldn't do enough for us, we had the executive twin room and was welcomed by a birthday card and a bottle of sparking wine. Hank you so much. Our down side to our stay was the way we were treated by the evening staff, we we're invited by two lovely people from the judo event which we accepted kindly, but we we're advised that it wasn't up to the people that invited us and we had to leave which we did with no problem, only to find out when we got back in to the crossbar, they would not serve us anymore with no reason. The way they spoke to us really upset my cousin which made her cry, she is not the kind of person that gets upset. I do not believe we did anything to be treat the way we did. We complained to reception straight away, with the two people that invited us to the event, as they left there as well due to the way we were treated, which the reception staff didn't seem to be bothered about it. We went to our room, went bed. In the morning Sonia went for her treatment, but wasn't in the mood to go due to being disappointed with the night before, any way she went and Jess again from the spa was amazing. We went for breakfast and when we we're choosing want we wanted there was a hair on the sausages, we showed the Lady serving the food from the buffet only for her to say, oh it can't be one of hers as it's not curly she removed the hair from the sausages on the buffet tray and just mixed the sausage up, it was disgusting serves, the breakfast was horrible, under cooked bacon, snotty eggs, runny scrambled eggs, my cousin has had to go the doctors today 18th November as she was unwell from the morning of 17th November which we stayed from the 16th to the 17th. Her doctor has advised her that she has noro-virus, she has been told she can't go to work from today 18th November due to this virus caught from the hilton hotel as she works with children in a school. And now she will be losing money. We are very very disappointed with all of this. When we left I asked for the email so I can complain, which I will

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Emma0563

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, we are pleased we had the opportunity to respond to your email prior to your review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DISS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here because we attended an event in the Hilton I had a phone call 2 days before we went to say they were moving us to the \Premier Inn 10 miles away because they were overbooked luckily my Association managed to rearrange this and I was told I had a room, on arriving I was informed that I had been moved the receptionist just gave me details of the new hotel and would not enquire why it had been changed again I managed to find my organiser who had arranged the rooms and I was on the list the girl did not apologise and the next day sent on a wild goose chase for our breakfast, I feel we were treated like 2nd class citizens because we were in the Hampton on not the Hilton

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra L, Operations Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear deniseo55

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Hampton by Hilton, St George’s Park.

I am really sorry to learn of the confusion with regards to your reservation and I am glad that your organiser was able to make the amendments to your accommodation on the list.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and we do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hampton by Hilton at St George’s Park in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Whilst the rooms are really specious and well appointed, the hotel somehow is soul less. An an experienced executive lounge user around the world this hotel has the only executive loungeIve come across that only opens between 6-8 pm, You cannt even get a coffee in the lounge outside these times. When I queries this at check out I just got a shrug of the shoulders !!
They could do better

Room Tip: Executive Rooms, but not lounge are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Alwaystravelling042

Thank you for your review following your recent stay with us, I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the published opening times and the reduction of the Executive Lounge offering.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton at St George’s Park in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lasswade, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

The setting for this hotel is great, being right in the countryside in the National Park. It is miles from anything so a car is a must if wanting to go anywhere. Also great if you are a football enthusiast, particularly when there's something on.

The spa is excellent and the staff first class, which is more than I can say for some of the others, which is contrary to some other posts here.

On arrival the young chap was friendly enough but failed to communicate anything that was relevant to our stay. Like, as a Diamond member, there was no executive lounge open, even although it was during periods when you would expect it to be. I only found out when I went to find it and found darkness. A call to reception got the response that it was closed, no really! I was then asked if there wasn't a letter in the room to which I said No. I was then asked to go to reception and lo and behold there it was. Like I say poor communication.

I actually think that this lack of communication was down to they appeared new to the job and just learning than incompetence or disinterest. That said who was mentoring?

Later we went to the bar area. It was busy with many people standing around the bar, even although there were a number of free tables, however, they all had reserved signs on the, I think it as more they were reserved for meals than any particular people. I things they need to sort this out, as far as I am concerned a bar area is just that, if people want to sit down and eat then take your chance like everyone else or provide more adequate seating to meet demand.

In addition, the tables were all covered in empty glasses, bottles and plates. There seemed to be a great reluctance on anyone's part to clean up. Very disappointing and quite disgusting.

The reception area is also weird, in that it is very cavernous and they don't seem to know what to do with the space, they have put a number of football paintings/prints to help. In addition, there are a number of lamps arranged around and they are provided with power from covered ground sockets, however, while it may not be a direct health and safety issue it is very untidy and does nothing for the area.

The rooms themselves were great, we were given a junior suite at the end and it was very quiet and peaceful, with a balcony as well.

Downside to this area are the breakout areas at points along the corridors where they have table tennis tables and a tv. All of this reminded me of a residential college than a 4 star hotel.

The final insult in all of this was the fact I read this morning that the England team had decided to change their training camp from St. George's to Hertfordshire due to the fact that the hotel had been hit by a stomach bug. It was no coincidence that my partner has suffering from acute stomach pains that resulted in her being off work all weekend, and still is, with severe stomach pains that her GP states has been caused by a virus.

I contacted the hotel this morning and was told that their press office as dealing with all enquiries, what a cop out.

I contacted them but their office wasn't open so I emailed them. That was now 5 hours ago and I have emailed them back asking for some answers with a little bit more urgency that is currently being displayed.

Travellers beware.

I see the general manager is responding to comments here so I would appreciate some dialogue.

Room Tip: Junior suites are in a great position.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Mike2576

Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay at the Hilton, St George’s Park, we do appreciate your review and also for taking the time to speak to me regarding your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I recently stayed here on a spa break package and overall had a wonderful time. We upgraded to the executive suite and it was well worth it, the suite was superb and the free bar and nibbles in the executive lounge was a lovely perk. Dinner was lovely although service was a bit hit and miss- our dirty plates from our starter were left on our table throughout our meal and were still sat there while we were having deserts! Food was lovely though. We used the pool and spa and it was faultless. Breakfast was a big let down, the supervisor needs to learn to smile more. We were also not given any milk for our coffee and when I asked one of the waitresses for milk she said "oh it's over there" and pointed to the cereal station. I went to where I was directed yet there was nothing to put the milk in so I had to find the waitress again who then disappeared and came back with a small jug of milk- why she could not have done that in the first place bemuses me. But overall it was a great stay, if service is improved in the restaurant it would be a perfect stay.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Nicole K

It’s great to hear that you enjoyed your spa break at the Hilton, St George’s Park.

Thank you for your constructive feedback, we take all comments very seriously and will communicate this to our team, to help with any training needs.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post your review, following your return visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent

Address: Newborough Road | St George's Park National Football Centre, Burton upon Trent DE13 9PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the stylish Hilton at St George’s Park, Burton upon Trent hotel, nestled in the National Forest and geographically in the center of England. Located six miles west of Burton upon Trent and 35 miles from East Midlands Airport, the Hilton at St George’s Park is close to the M1, M6 and M42 motorway links. St George’s Park is home to the National Football Centre, designed for training coaches, teams and studying sports medicine and science. Take advantage of this Hilton hotel's proximity to the park to hold a meeting or event using our modern facilities and 19 flexible meeting rooms. Take advantage of ample parking at the hotel and stay connected with complimentary WiFi access throughout. Relax in a guest room or suite decorated in rich, warm colors. Enjoy the view from large windows and refresh in an elegant bathroom with separate bath and shower. The workspace includes a comfortable ergonomic chair and a large desk with integrated US and UK power outlets. Upgrade to a deluxe or executive-level room for more services and amenities. Sip cocktails in the bar or savor specialties in the restaurant. The hotel features a health club, indoor swimming pool and a spa. Admire the tranquil scenery of the forest or seek out the thrills at Alton Towers and Drayton Manor Theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.