We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded location but great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent to your Saves list
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newborough Road | St George's Park National Football Centre, Burton upon Trent DE13 9PD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 33% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Secluded location but great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night.
Room on the Executive Floor was perfect and to the standard I expect.
Enjoyed a refreshing walk outdoors before partaking in afternoon tea in the Exec lounge.
Later in the evening we returned to enjoy a glass of Vino and a light snack, which again was most enjoyable.
Nights sleep was great and without disruption.
Breakfast was in the main restaurant and most enjoyable - wide variety.
After breakfast we partook in some relaxation at the Spa based on the premises - amazing! ; Whirlpool, rain shower, ice shower, sauna, steam room. Parents need to supervise their children more and realise that they shouldn't be playing ball at all four sides of the pool when some of us are there to relax and enjoy a leisure swim.
Check-out was swift and easy.
Highly recommended and will definately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear TrumpLasVegasNV

I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hilton, St George’s Park.

Your feedback regarding our facilities is greatly appreciated, thank you also for your recommendation.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review and we do hope to welcome you back to the Hilton at St George’s Park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    148
    46
    16
    9
See reviews for
132
167
7
169
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This is a bold concept, a Hilton and a Hampton Inn on the campus of the English Football Association in parkland outside Burton-Upon-Trent. The football enthusiast will think they died and went to heaven. Equally, if you are not a football fan (like me) the theme is not intrusive.

The property is under a year old and is finished to a very high standard. A clean, modern, low level building with a very Scandinavian feel. A showpiece in your room will be the full HD Grundig TV with a wide range of international channels.

We arrived for an Easter holiday break with young grandchildren. I liked the way that they were greeted warmly as individual guests with a welcome activity pack and Easter eggs hidden in the room and around the hotel. Our room was ready for us with beds for the children already made up. These were nice personal touches which really created a very good first impression.
Pool and spa facilities were very high quality – again with friendly flexible staff that went the extra mile with the kids.

Meals in the Crossbar and breakfast in the main dining room were a good experience. My only minor issue – no one ever clears tables in this place. We really did wonder just how much crockery and glassware we had to acquire for someone to take the hint and clear it !

We loved it and would have no hesitation returning it is something top class and really different.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear tromsopete

Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at the Hilton, St George’s Park, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your Easter break especially our Easter egg hunt.

Thank you also for your constructive feedback, we will communicate this back to our teams to help with any training needs.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton at St George’s Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed at the Hampton for 3 nights, 1st night as a nightmare! Under 17 football lads staying all around me, Banging door shouting from late and into the early hours of the morning.

Moved rooms for the rest of my stay and things were a little better after that.

Not sure if i enjoyed my stay, to sterile, cold, and far away from anything

Room Tip: stay away from the rooms that the under 17 teens are in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra L, Operations Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Billy H

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent visit to the Hampton by Hilton at St George’s Park.

I am sorry to hear that you experienced some noise issues with your stay, but it’s good to hear that our team dealt with your requirements promptly.

Once again thank you for your review and we do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hampton by Hilton at St George’s Park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights while visiting Alton towers which is around half hour away from hotel- loved the hotel. The drive and the surrounding scenery is gorgeous. Very impressive entrance- and blonde guy on reception couldn't have been any more helpful or friendly. Reception area lovely and very impressive with very new furnishings. Room was great size and very clean, bathroom was great size. All the amenities that you would need! Ate in the bar restaraunt which was more my style of food as I can't stand fine dining- bar food so much more hearty- a little expensive but good size plate of food!!! Pool area was great- very tranquil at night and open till 10pm-always great after a busy day!!!! Would definately recommend this hotel as perfect getaway- u just need a car if u want to visit anywhere surrounding as it is a bit in the countryside and out if the way if anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Claire M

We really appreciate your feedback following your recent stay at the Hilton, St George’s Park.

It’s important to us to know that we have made out guests feel welcome, so it’s great to hear that our Front Office team, offered you a warm welcome on arrival.

Thank you for your feedback on The Crossbar and Health Club & Spa and for your recommendation.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton at St George’s Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke on trent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is our second visit and we were immediately "welcomed back" by Hannah on reception. We 'escaped' here after a hectic week at work and had a  very relaxed evening in the executive lounge and resteraunt. We only live a few miles away but will return frequently for a re-charge. The hotel has improved since it opened and even when it is busy, it retains a calm and relaxed atmosphere. If you are looking to escape after a hectic week at work, I cannot recommend this enough. You will feel at home, relaxed and pampered.
Well done everyone. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: A suite will give access to the wonderful executive lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear chigStokeOnTrent

Fantastic review following your second visit here at the Hilton, St George’s Park, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your relaxing break after a busy week at work.

Once again thank you for your review and kind comments regarding our team members, and we look forward to welcoming you back for a third visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed here this week on business whilst participating in a company conference.
This location and hotel is stunning. Obviously there is the serious football link, and I guess if you were looking for a nice place for a "romantic break" then the location and access to other places might be a downside - once turning off the road you have a LONG drive through some superb scenery !.
Rooms were excellent and well equipped - someone mentioned the curious taps in an earlier review and yes, these caught me out also !. The triangular shower cubicle can be an issue ( bending over under the shower head means that the room can easily be opened by your rear end ! - that may be just me...! ).
Food superb - especially the really great breakfast. A tip - there are small glass dishes in the chiller labelled "Birches meusli". If in any doubt, grab one or even two. The chef said that they were "really nice". He is wrong, they are amazing !.
We had a covering of snow, and I don't know if guests are allowed to walk through the extensive grounds but if you are, then some great scenery abounds.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear colemen

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Hilton, St George’s Park.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and especially your comments regarding breakfast, we will share your feedback with Chef.

We do have a walking/jogging map which can be obtained from Reception, this shows you a route which will take you around the beautiful parkland.

We do hope you will visit us again soon here at the Hilton, St George’s Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This hotel is located in the middle of nowhere - so unless you are staying in the Area for a specific purpose it's probably not for you. Really well kept though clean, great service and a brilliant breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Misha52

I would like to thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Hilton, St George’s Park.

Thank you for your feedback on cleanliness, service and breakfast, we will share your feedback with our team.

We value all reviews and appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts.

Thank you once again, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton at St George’s Park in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent

Address: Newborough Road | St George's Park National Football Centre, Burton upon Trent DE13 9PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the stylish Hilton at St George’s Park, Burton upon Trent hotel, nestled in the National Forest and geographically in the center of England. Located six miles west of Burton upon Trent and 35 miles from East Midlands Airport, the Hilton at St George’s Park is close to the M1, M6 and M42 motorway links. St George’s Park is home to the National Football Centre, designed for training coaches, teams and studying sports medicine and science. Take advantage of this Hilton hotel's proximity to the park to hold a meeting or event using our modern facilities and 19 flexible meeting rooms. Take advantage of ample parking at the hotel and stay connected with complimentary WiFi access throughout. Relax in a guest room or suite decorated in rich, warm colors. Enjoy the view from large windows and refresh in an elegant bathroom with separate bath and shower. The workspace includes a comfortable ergonomic chair and a large desk with integrated US and UK power outlets. Upgrade to a deluxe or executive-level room for more services and amenities. Sip cocktails in the bar or savor specialties in the restaurant. The hotel features a health club, indoor swimming pool and a spa. Admire the tranquil scenery of the forest or seek out the thrills at Alton Towers and Drayton Manor Theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.