We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent

Save Saved
You added Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newborough Road | St George's Park National Football Centre, Burton upon Trent DE13 9PD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 33%
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Burton upon Trent
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An absolute delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Recently stayed at the Hilton for a relaxing weekend getaway. Right from the start we were blown away by the Hotel, the drive up to the hotel has the wow factor. The front of the hotel looks fantastic. We were met by helpful staff and the service was quick and warm. The room we had was great, lovely features and great space. The bathroom was modern, with the welcome addition of a bath and shower (modern taps, which do take some working out). Great entertainment package on the TV, ice machines and shoe cleaning also available in the corridors.

One of the most impressive features of the hotel was the restaurant. The food was a delight, we ate their three days and I found it difficult not to order to the same dishes as they were so delicious. I can recommend their steaks, they were cooked to perfection.

A clear sport and football theme to the venue as it is the training ground for the FA, and the facilities for that provision look world beating.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and I would very much like to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Evelyn23146

Thank you so much for your review, we really do appreciate your feedback, we are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us.

We would like to thank you for your kind comments in particular regarding the Restaurant, which we will share with Chef.

It’s always great to hear that our team were prompt and professional and helped to make your stay a memorable one.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton at St George’s Park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    108
    22
    9
    3
See reviews for
88
118
3
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and it was great (except for the weather which has nothing to do with the hotel!!!) There was lots of parking and signs pointed us in the right direction. The hotel is very security conscious our room key activated the lift and we also needed to use it to get into the the executive rooms corridor. The room we stayed in was brilliant, bed was very comfortable, there was a full bath and walk-in shower and a speaker control in the bathroom so that you could listen to the TV. There was also wired & Wi-fi access and a iHome clock which I could put my iPhone on. The staff were brilliant especially Michelle & Claire on the Executive Floor, they both took time to chat to us each time we saw them. The Executive Lounge lived up to it's name. The food, drink and service were excellent. We don't eat meat and Michelle & Claire ensured there were fish and vegetarian options available for us. The menu in the restaurant was also great. There were a few fish and vegetarian options. We had the grilled salmon and a white fish that I can't remember the name of. We shared our meals between us and they were both great, the portions were just right. Breakfast was the usual Hilton buffet so you could build your own meal and have seconds if you can fit it in. On our first morning there was an impromptu song from a guest & his guitar (x factor contestant), this was a great start to the morning. The gym & spa were also well kitted out and the staff there were also very friendly. The hotel is in a very central location for sight seeing. Overall, our stay was excellent!! We'll be going back in the spring/summer to stay there so that we can hopefully do some more sight seeing as some of our plans were rained out. Great venue, service & food! Can't ask for more than that.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Tiny2golly

Fantastic review, thank you so much we really do appreciate it, it’s great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Particular thanks for your kind comments regarding our team, who made your stay extra special.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton at St George’s Park next year, let’s hope the weather is better for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shirehall
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Difficult to park in correct car park. Sign posting non existent. Everyone ends up stuck in staff car park first the first time. (Believe they are working o. This is generally a lovely hotel, smart, clean, modern, airy. Decor good. Bedrooms and en suite excellent but no table with mirror and seat for ladies wishing to blow dry hair or apply make up. Must of been a man who designed it, though there is a wall mirror and of course mirrors in the bathroom. Beware, everything on the tray in the room, you pay for, Mars Bars £3.60, small bottle of water over £3 etc. Food was okay but nothing special at all, expected better.

Room Tip: Room 156is areal trek. If you can't walk far suggest when booking you ask for a room near recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Joyce

Many thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay at the Hilton, St George’s Park.

Guests’ feedback is very important to us and we do appreciate your valid points, as it helps towards improving our guests’ time with us.

I can confirm that we are taking steps to ensure we have clearer car park signs in place.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton at St George’s Park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We attended a small function for my Grandads 90th birthday.

The venue was lovely and the staff were very helpful and attentive to our needs. However the food was a let down, our main course of chicken was very dry and only slightly warm and the vegetables were almost cold. We had ordered two children's meals, this again consisted of dry and tepid chicken with mash potato which tasted very similar to SMASH. Most of the food seemed pre-cooked then reheated and had waited far too long before being served.

For such a beautiful venue it was such a shame that the food was such a disappointment. There was only 50 guests at the function so I would be concerned about the quality of food when catering for larger functions.

However on a positive note, I had spoken to some of the guests that were staying for the night and they advised that their rooms were lovely.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Claire

I am really disappointed to learn of this, I would envisage that you organised the event, therefore we will contact you directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night as we were going to a wedding in nearby Uttoxeter. From the moment we arrived the staff went out of their way to help. We were in a rush to get to the wedding and as we needed to check in early they managed to upgrade us to a Junior Suite which was fantastic. The room was bright and airy and immaculate and had all of the necessary mod-cons, wireless etc. The hotel itself was also immaculate and we particulary liked all of the football memorabilia / photos - and I am not even a football fan. I would also like to comment on the staff who were extremely helpful, we needed to book taxis to and from the wedding which they sorted for us, a nice touch was that the next morning they asked us about the wedding etc, which I always think is a sign of attentive staff.
We used the swimming pool too which was lovely and the breakfast was also excellent. There was a very wide choice, everything you could think of and I would highly recommend the cooked breakfast.
Overall a fantastic stay and I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Fiona G

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Hilton, St George’s Park.

I would like to thank you for your kind comments with regards to our team, it is really important to us that our guests’ enjoy their stay and it’s great to know that our team were attentive and helped make your stay a memorable one.

We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A little off the beaten track especially in the pitch black, but on arrival at the hotel entrance it's almost an oasis & a welcome site. A very long drive, car park at the rear with very few spaces close to the hotel entrance........pity anyone staying if it's raining !

Was checked in fairly swiftly although they did have to go and trace my booking in their back office. I was allocated a room on the 1st floor, all floors have access doors whereby you must your room key to gain entrance which is a nice safety feature. You can see how vast the hotel is from outside but believe you me nothing prepares you for the absolute hike along the corridor if your unfortunate enough to be given a room at the opposite end to reception!Given I was a lone female traveller with several bags, case, laptop bag, business bag and suit carrier I wasn't offered any help at reception with my luggage & they gave me a room one door before the absolute end to the hotel 1st floor............seriously annoying.

Room was large, with obviously brand new furniture and fittings as it's only been open 11 weeks. The bed was enormous, although not a very comfy mattress as I later discovered. I had a floor to ceiling window one of which had a lock fitted with a half opening window unfortunately as is often the case the window was locked and no key available therefore if you like a little fresh air as oppose to the air con system then your out of luck. Plenty of lighting in the room along with a narrow desk, great TV, fridge filled with the ever expensive drinks and snacks. Disappointed at the tea tray, nothing special just standard tea and coffee, milk jiggers, no biscuits. Thankfully internet access if free and the access code given on check in, much appreciated given how many hotels totally rip guests off for WiFi.

I ordered from the room service menu, I was warned at point of order that there was a 30 minute wait and bang on time it arrived. Delicious Club sandwich and fries, again though no thought given to any condiments other than salt & pepper.........why no vinegar & sauces as standard ? My food would be cold by the time I ordered it and it arrived so went without..........sort it out Hilton as a standard please.

Bathroom was lovely, speakers in the ceiling so you could bath and still listen to the TV/Radio. A separate bath and a shower cubicle (small but perfectly formed) nice but small and adequate toiletries. Plenty of towels available.

I didn't partake in breakfast so can't comment, I begrudge paying in excess of £14 for cereal & toast !

Check out was very disappointing, the receptionist moved me twice from one terminal to another without apology, despite watching me lug my luggage from place to place. I found her to be extremely rude and "off" Given reception are the first face of a hotel then this young woman needs some serious attention on customer service, her attitude stank and I could almost feel the vibe from her that she just wanted to be rid and move on back to her chat with her colleague............I was made to feel guilty for interrupting her !

All in all if the price was right I'd stay again if in the area, I'd request a room close to the lifts though unless you want the hike I had. If your an England fan then I'm sure this place would attract you given it's the FA headquarters now and England training ground.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear Miss_Chief1

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton, St George’s Park.

Feedback is very important to us and we do take all our guests needs very seriously, this allows us to help towards improving our guests’ time with us and also to help with any training needs.

Again thank you for your important feedback and we do hope that you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Here for a business conference staying for two nights. I couldn't fault the place in any regard.

As it is new the facilities were immaculate. Staff was all very helpful and the food was served swiftly and was excellent.

Conference facilities were excellent with rooms comprehensively equipped with the latest state of the art equipment.

The FA Centre is worth a tour even if you have no interest in football.

Overall an excellent venue.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Talisker1987

Thank you so much for your review, we really do appreciate your feedback.

It’s great to hear that our team were helpful and professional and that your requirements dealt with efficiently.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the Hilton, St George’s Park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent

Address: Newborough Road | St George's Park National Football Centre, Burton upon Trent DE13 9PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the stylish Hilton at St George’s Park, Burton upon Trent hotel, nestled in the National Forest and geographically in the center of England. Located six miles west of Burton upon Trent and 35 miles from East Midlands Airport, the Hilton at St George’s Park is close to the M1, M6 and M42 motorway links. St George’s Park is home to the National Football Centre, designed for training coaches, teams and studying sports medicine and science. Take advantage of this Hilton hotel's proximity to the park to hold a meeting or event using our modern facilities and 19 flexible meeting rooms. Take advantage of ample parking at the hotel and stay connected with complimentary WiFi access throughout. Relax in a guest room or suite decorated in rich, warm colors. Enjoy the view from large windows and refresh in an elegant bathroom with separate bath and shower. The workspace includes a comfortable ergonomic chair and a large desk with integrated US and UK power outlets. Upgrade to a deluxe or executive-level room for more services and amenities. Sip cocktails in the bar or savor specialties in the restaurant. The hotel features a health club, indoor swimming pool and a spa. Admire the tranquil scenery of the forest or seek out the thrills at Alton Towers and Drayton Manor Theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.