We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent to your Saves list
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newborough Road | St George's Park National Football Centre, Burton upon Trent DE13 9PD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early & Save
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Warrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Very pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Stayed overnight as a conference delegate and could not fault my stay, room was of adequate size, fittings obviously brand new and modern, location very peaceful if a bit isolated. Conference took place mostly in the Hilton part of complex, food and service was excellent from start to finish, would certainly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra L, Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Hampton by Hilton St George’s Park. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed both the Hampton by Hilton’s and Hilton’s facilities at St George’s Park and we hope we are able to welcome you back to in the near future on either business or leisure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

524 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    138
    40
    15
    9
See reviews for
120
157
6
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We arrived at the hotel grounds and didn't know what we had put ourselves in for! there was a mile journey through the grounds to the car park and a very grand looking hotel. We walked into the lobby and the hilton check in desk was very helpful in showing us the way to the Hampton by hilton check in desk. Staff very friendly and accomodating. The room was very big and spacious with a very nice shower and toiletries. However it is well worth it and the 24/7 complimentry tea/coffee section was a bonus. We got hot chocolates- very chocolatey!. Breakfast was good but do not put the toast through twice! we managed to set the toast on fire!. the hotel and the grounds itselfs are very relaxing and there is a lot of features relating to the england football team which was pretty cool. You feel very safe and secure within the grounds - security on the main gate, need key to get through each door etc. Overall I would definately reccomend this hotel and I hope to visit again soon! We visited alton towers both days and stayed at the hilton over night - we got a very good deal and was only 20-30 minutes drive to alton towers which was very convienient!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra L, Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip Advisor after your recent stay at the Hampton by Hilton St George’s Park. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed the hotel and also the Hampton experience. We hope that you went on to enjoy your day at Alton Towers as much as your stay with us and that we will be able to welcome you back to the Hampton by Hilton St George’s Park again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Visited this hotel for the weekend. Great for any football fan as it built in the grounds of the FA England football training grounds and has quite a few pieces of english football memorabilia but plenty for those who are not into football with spa,gym and pool available.
We stayed in a king size room and the dimensions of which were roomy to say the least with lovely views of the staffordshire countryside. The bathroom was lovely, seperate shower cubilcle and both bath and sink had waterfall effect taps, soft closing toilet seat. Overall the quality of the accommodation was great, more than I expected.
We booked an evening meal in the dining room, the food and service were excellent, The breakfast had the usual choices but again the quality and choice was good. All the staff were very helpful and polite and,unusually for the hotel business, all the staff appear to be native of the area,
My only negative observations are, the foyer is enormous with a seection of very low chairs, these are not suitable for all guests especally for those with any lower limb disbility, the management may want to consider some other chairs both in the foyer and the crossbar lounge to address this oversight. I was surprised at the lack of thought for the disabled as there are plenty of disbaled parking bays an ground floor accommodation.
Not sure whether it is because this hotel has only been open a couple of months or the size of the foyer, crossbar lounge and restaurant but there seemed to be a lack of any atmosphere. I hope this will develop as will the hotel's reputation as a place where you can expect good service.
The concierge was very helpful in suggesting places we could visit in the area ,(as we were new to the area), supplying us with maps and tourist information all of which we found useful.
Have already booked to return erly next year

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay at the Hilton at St George’s Park, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We do appreciate constructive feedback, which helps towards improving our guests’ time with us.

Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton at St George’s Park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night. The hotel is very new with a very stark decor. We were given a key for the room carrying our luggage a fair hike, only to find the room was not made up yet. The short story is we were eventually given another. We are lying on our beds resting, when in walks two guys no knock, nada! We complained but like the former situation, Too bad!
This is a commercial hotel designed for sports training camps, not for tourists. The vastness of the building makes it hard to heat, and the thermostat in the room was preset so as not to exceed there desired temp. Clean bed dorm like atmosphere.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra L, Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete this review. I am deeply sorry for the staff’s attitude and the rooming problems during your stay. This is not a normal occurrence and I will be following this up with intense staff training. Training will consist of ensuring room checks are completed before guests arrive, systems training and staff behaviour.
Please do not let this experience deter you from stopping with us at Saint George’s Park again and I hope to see you in the near future.
Kind regards,
Hayley Shaw
SGP- Hampton Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was a treat for my husband's birthday. The hotel is set in rural Staffordshire and it is very quiet. It is built in the grounds of the England Football Training ground so there is always the chance of spotting footballers, coaches and referees. We had booked a King Executive room which gives access to Executive lounge but ended up with a King Guestroom. The executive lounge had a coffee machine which was out of order on the occasions we went. There were nuts and nibbles provided but aas there was an under 16’s tournament being held the boys made short work of these refreshments.
We used the pool, gym and spa and they are all very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful. As a new hotel everything is immaculate.
We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the food was lovely. The staff were very good and obviuosly enjoy working there. The breakfast was also very good. A huge selection and an egg station for fresh fried or poached eggs was a good addition to the breakfast selection
We will visit the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we really do appreciate your feedback.

It’s great to hear that our team were very friendly and helpful during your stay, knowing our guests have enjoyed their time with us is very important and we will communicate this to our team.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton at St George’s Park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had lunch here today in the bar and was disappointed. We waited for 35 minutes for two sandwiches (although the bar was not busy) my chicken, tomato and bacon bagette was heavy on tinned tomato, sparse on chicken and non existent on bacon. at nearly £10 I was not impressed. My husband"s ham and mustard was liberal on the mustard but sparse on the ham.
We wanted some info on meeting room etc because we organise training course and functions locally but no one was available to assist and reception had no brochures - merely suggested we look on the website. We only live 4 miles away but I will not be in a hurry to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent visit to the Hilton at St George’s Park.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your lunch, we do appreciate constructive feedback and will communicate this to our team.

I would also like to apologise for the lack of information provided surrounding our conference facilities, we would be delighted to host your meeting here.

If you could kindly contact the Groups, Conference & Events Manager, Karen Souza on Karen.Souza@hilton.com she will respond to you personally and will be happy to help with any conference requirements you may have.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write your review and we do hope to welcome you back to the Hilton at St George’s Park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Visited for 1 night with my family as part of my son's birthday celebrations. On arrival it looks amazing. Beautiful views at stunning building design. Checked in and staff were very friendly and helpful. Went to our room only to be amazed again as we had been upgraded from a junior suite to the king presidential suite. I had had some balloons delivered to the hotel and requested they were put in the room which had been done so made it even more special. Used the pool which my kids loved then the executive lounge before dinner. Meal in restaurant was gorgeous. What finished it all off so nicely was when a desert was bought out with a candle an happy birthday piped in chocolate written on the plate, a little present for my son and a couple of birthday cards for my son. We were looking forward to this stay after seeing the photos of the hotel, and also my boys are both football mad so loved the fact they were staying at the new training facility, but everything that was done far exceeded my expectations. Special mention to Lucy and Jenny ( I think, sorry always forget to look at names ) on reception. We are already planning our next visit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the Hilton at St George’s Park.

Ensuring our guests enjoy their stay is very important to us and it’s great to hear that our team made it memorable for you and your family.

Many thanks again for taking the time to write a review and we hope to welcome you back to the Hilton at St George’s Park very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent

Address: Newborough Road | St George's Park National Football Centre, Burton upon Trent DE13 9PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the stylish Hilton at St George’s Park, Burton upon Trent hotel, nestled in the National Forest and geographically in the center of England. Located six miles west of Burton upon Trent and 35 miles from East Midlands Airport, the Hilton at St George’s Park is close to the M1, M6 and M42 motorway links. St George’s Park is home to the National Football Centre, designed for training coaches, teams and studying sports medicine and science. Take advantage of this Hilton hotel's proximity to the park to hold a meeting or event using our modern facilities and 19 flexible meeting rooms. Take advantage of ample parking at the hotel and stay connected with complimentary WiFi access throughout. Relax in a guest room or suite decorated in rich, warm colors. Enjoy the view from large windows and refresh in an elegant bathroom with separate bath and shower. The workspace includes a comfortable ergonomic chair and a large desk with integrated US and UK power outlets. Upgrade to a deluxe or executive-level room for more services and amenities. Sip cocktails in the bar or savor specialties in the restaurant. The hotel features a health club, indoor swimming pool and a spa. Admire the tranquil scenery of the forest or seek out the thrills at Alton Towers and Drayton Manor Theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.