We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired but still value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound to your Saves list
Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound
A38 Southbound | Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8EH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Cedewain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A bit tired but still value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Breaking my journey from the East coast of England to the hills of mid-Wales, I was warmly greeted by the staff. The hotel was somewhat dated and tired looking, however the staff were attentive, helpful and the room (including bathroom) was clean.

The bed was a bit low for me (I am 6 feet tall) and a bit too soft for my liking, though this is a personal preference.

At £19.00 this was very good value for money.

Room Tip: Book online in advance for best prices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    29
    21
    21
    20
See reviews for
26
34
7
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights as a base for travelling to Alton Towers. This is a small Travelodge and there was a closed and ramshackle Little Chef on site which added to a sense that this place is not flourishing. The rooms do need a freshen up but they are habitable and suited our needs.

Having said that it was busy with mainly works vans and some cars. Staff were very helpful in directing us to local eating places.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with family as we were visiting Alton towers which is 40 mins away we got a great rate and the room was comfortable and the staff friendly. Sure it's not the ritz but for the money it suited us fine. Some nice pubs nearby for dinner/ breakfast

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

The hotel rooms were filthy! The bathroom had mold everywhere and the carpets hadn't really been hoovered. The dust was horrendous and overall just felt grimy. When we complained the receptionist tried to blame poor cleaning to the fact that the place needs renovating. A burnt chair, stained carpet and falling apart furniture I get putting down to needing renovations bit they desperately need a good cleaner. The beds didn't feel any cleaner either. The sheets were clean but the duvet was grey and the towels were stained. I will never again stay there. Please don't go there.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is what is it is, cheap and cheerful accommodation, and I stayed here for 3 nights in April 2013. It was in a good location for the places I was visiting, the staff were friendly, providing extra towels, tea, milk and pillows. My room was out the back of the hotel, so quieter than the front of the hotel but there was still some noise from the industrial estate the room faced. Although not enough noise to be disruptive. Whilst clean the room looked abit tired, like it needs a fresh coat of paint and tidy up. Also note the sat nav initially took us to the wrong Travelodge, the single storey one instead of this one which is on 2 levels (one is on the northbound side of the road and the other on the southbound)

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Got here 30min before book in time and reception kindly let us have our room we were not happy that it was near to the staircase so asked to be moved and were promptly swapped to another. Room was clean and bed comfy. At 20 pounds for a double room can't complain about that

Room Tip: Rooms at rear of building seemed quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Wanting to write a review here because despite all other reviews, we had no complaints whatsoever. The 2 rooms we had were clean and the lady at reception was friendly. We were stopping here whilst visiting family so literally was a bed for 2nights. We got a great deal & would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound

Address: A38 Southbound | Barton-under-Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8EH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Burton a38 Southbound Hotel Burton Upon Trent
Burton Upon Trent Travelodge
Burton Upon Trent Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Burton Upon Trent
Travelodge Burton Upon Trent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Burton A38 Southbound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.