We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out punches it weight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Winery

The Winery
Manor Drive | (Adjacent to Burton College), Burton upon Trent DE14 3RW, England
+44 1283 568170
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $2 - $2
Cuisines: English, Bar, Grill, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Out punches it weight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The Winery has a nice ambiance with booth type seating creating an intimate atmosphere. Good beers and wine selection. The menu is not too extensive but everything is created to the highest standard. The Steaks are outstanding, having sampled them on numerous occasions. Possibly the best in the midlands. Pricing is acceptable given the quality of the food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    121
    52
    30
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“In the kingdom of the blind, the one-eyed man is king. . .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Any restaurant in Burton Upon Trent that offers cutlery to its diners is regarded as ‘posh’ by the locals, so the Winery is definitely in contention for one of the most up-market in town.

I’ve been visiting Burton regularly for the last 11 years, so until I discovered ‘The Winery’, I would only have considered two Burton restaurants worthy of visiting unless I was looking for an après pub late night sit down, probably ending with a fight. Those two establishments would have been Pascal’s at the Vicarage (too formal for my liking and full of retired rotary-club golf types) or The Brook House at Rolleston. Those are both nice eateries but a bit fusty for a rock’n’roller of my dubious reputation.

The good news is that The Winery successfully fills the gap between fusty formal and post-pub Saturday night curry house gladiator academy. And it’s located in the town centre, whereas the other two posh joints are at least a couple of miles out of town.
The Winery was, until fairly recently, a rough pub called ‘The Abbey’, a haunt of Goths and hardcore bikers, so now the clientele has definitely changed; whether you feel it’s a change for the better depends on your politics, I suppose.

The food is better than adequate at The Winery, and ‘correctly’ priced, as the French say. Our bill of £130 including a tenner tip covered:

Vodka and Tonic
Becks Beer x 2
Whitebait pre-starter (sorry, all you green marine ecologists!)
Kalamata Olives and bread pre-starter
Scallops (x4) in their shells coated with a scrummy Gruyere sauce
Ham Hock terrine (a bit pedestrian I thought)
Two ‘Carafinos’ of New Zealand Pinot to accompany above starters

Pan fried Rib Eye steak, v rare, with peppercorn and brandy sauce (superb, if not for the fact that the steak was rather too large in area and too thin in girth, but it was v succulent and flavoursome nevertheless)
Basket of chips and side salad
Duck in Hoi-Sin glaze on a bed of salad (super flavour but they should really use Rocket, would have made a good dish superb)
Root vegetables, nicely under-done
1 x 75cl bottle Nuit St Georges 2004, properly decanted to boot.

All in all an excellent experience; particularly as the paper-hat office party gangs had their food fights in a separate area from quiet couples. BUT, they have a couple of things to learn about service.
1) No one greets you at the door, so all our coats, scarves, hats and winter woollies were piled in a huge mess on a chair in the pre-dinner bar; when the table is ready, we had to prompt someone to take our coats and hang them up, a pain when you’re trying to navigate to your ‘booth’ with drinks in hand.
2) Most importantly, we thought the wine list was pretty sparse until our waitress said “Oh, if you want to order something as good as that you ought to take a look through our full wine list!’ It seems that as a matter of course, the top end £16 Aussie chemistry-set list of house wine and supermarket sludge is the only one available unless you ask for the ‘proper’ one. What’s that about?

In short, good value for money, reasonably good unobtrusive service and definitely ‘posh’ standard ‘English’ food in a relaxed, informal atmosphere. 4.8 out of 5.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
245 reviews 245 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
“A haven in an unlikely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Very interestingly refurbished part of the old Abbey with good quality food and oodles of atmosphere.

I enjoyed the fish pie. Wine list with better choices by the glass.
I didn't manage a dessert but was seriously tempted by their mini versions - indulgences.

Quiet so service was attentive and flawless. I'd happily go back. Worth a try

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“A rare example of style, quality and value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

With its waterside location and centuries old Abbey setting, 'The Winery' somehow manages to create an atmosphere more reminiscent of Bruges than Burton on Trent.
No small achievement that, but from the moment we arrived it was obvious that we would be spending the evening in an establishment where everything was aimed at providing a warm, welcoming, well organised and stylishly laid out restaurant environment.
Service was polite and attentive, without ever becoming intrusive, throughout. The availability of a 250ml carafino for each of the huge selection of very well kept wines made a welcome change from the standard 'glass or bottle' mentality as did 'The Famous Winery Slab' as a means of offering diners the opportunity to share a well priced 'tapas' like starter involving a beautiful
selection of fish, meat and mushroom based appetizers.
All the main courses enjoyed by our group of five were of a very high standard although one small criticism might be that the otherwise delicious 'Winery Fish Pie' would have been better served with vegetables rather than salad and similarly one might have expected some seasonal vegetables to accompany the Beef Bourguignon without having to pay extra for a side dish.
These however are minor criticisms of an otherwise virtually faultless dining experience which continued into the area of desserts where the availability of smaller portions - 'Indulgences' - at just £2.50 each or the 'Assiette' of four Indugences together with ice-cream provided an unusual and innovative alternative for those whose appetite could not manage the fuller versions.
All in all, excellent food, wine and value in a surprisingly attractive location where a great deal of thought has gone into creating exactly the right ambience and one which we hope to experience again before too long.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great for large parties”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Large family celebration, with our own area of the restauarant - great atmosphere. Very friendly & helpful staff who coped well with our large party ranging from 1-75 years of age.

Food was good and very keenly priced.

Ladies toilet a bit of a disappointment with only 1/4 cubicles usable.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winery also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Winery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Winery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.