We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab and well worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anoki

Anoki
A38 Burton Road, Eggington, Burton upon Trent DE65 6GZ, England
01283 704 888
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fab and well worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We visit quite regularly as a family group to anoki and always have a fab time the place is great and the food is unbeatable wouldn't say there's a let down at all regarding service and the food or atmosphere although it is a little bit more expensive than most Indian restaurants its well worth it for the quality and customer service the only tip to management is to advertise better from the road but dont change a thing inside!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    48
    42
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Barton under Needwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great food, poor location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The food, service and ambience here cannot be faulted, it's not exactly cheap but I always come out having enjoyed the experience.

The only negative is the location, next to the A38, not easy to get to only by car and no pubs within waddling distance - solution a few beers in Burton at the Coopers or the Devonshire and a cab.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Amazing food, in fact, best ever, a few disappointments but will give them another chance given situation. Get more staff!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We have heard of anoki and have been looking forward to going for a while.
Our booking was at 7 on New Year's Eve.
We arrived late which was our fault but they were more than ok with it.
The first thing we noticed was the huge size of the car park and it was rammed!! The restaurant was no different either, It's massive and it was packed out. People were queuing back to the doors to get in!
We were however seated pretty quickly. The atmosphere was buzzing. We noticed the staff were flying round all over the place doing 20 things at once.
They were clearly understaffed and struggling to cope. We were later told that 4 members of staff had phoned in sick and that they had no idea it was going to be this busy. We felt for the staff so didn't make too many issues.

We had to wait ages for everything that the floor staff should be attending to ie, drinks, menus etc which a few things didn't arrive at all but again weren't that bothered because we hadn't really got much else to do that night.

I must say the chaos only seemed to be out on the restaurant floor and not in the kitchen as the food was pretty swift in arriving after the order was finally taken.
We did however have to clear our own popadom bowls, plates and pickle trays away onto one of the many serving trays that were left around the restaurant floor as our starters were brought out and just piled onto our table around them.

Onto the food....I make no exaggerations when I say it was absolutely beautiful and given how busy they were I'm very surprised! I would go so far as to say its the best Indian meal I have ever eaten just spectacular. The tastes are gorgeous and the presentation is lovely. I'd say best in the midlands by far and miles better than 'ramsays favourite' in Birmingham!

We asked for the dessert menu 4 times with three different members of staff and after waiting 25 mins were told that we would not be getting dessert as they were too busy but if we go and pay at the bar (so they could get the seats cleared no doubt) we could have a free pudding next time. A little surprising to be told that but we agreed as we weren't in the mood for desserts by now.
Incidentally when we paid we never actually got given the free dessert coupon but thought we wouldn't be coming back for a while anyway so again, didn't make an issue.

All in all, this place serves the best indian food I have ever tasted which to me is what's important.

They clearly have staff issues which need to be addressed.

I WILL be dining there again for sure because the whole place is just great looking and the food is spectacular along with a great drinks selection. I recommend the markani chicken, keema naan and a bottle of mongoose beer!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Consistently Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

we tried the 2 for 1 deal here and were very impressed. I enjoyed the slight twist on the normal popadom offering and tried both the jalfrezi and sagg both of which were more than generous on portion sizes.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Left me wanting more...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our first visit to Anoki with our close friends was excellent. We were greeted with a warm welcome with all staff in traditional dress which was great to see. The menu wasn't over complicated but enough to choose from which is normally a good sign of excellent food. How true that was; each course was beautifully presented and tasted superb wanting more and more, it was impossible to decide which dish was our favourite. We can't wait until our next visit, why did we wait so long? Superb.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anoki also viewed

Derby, Derbyshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Anoki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anoki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.