We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Edgecote” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Edgecote

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Burton upon Trent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Edgecote
Save
You added The Edgecote to your Saves list
179 Ashby Road, Burton upon Trent DE15 0LB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dundee, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“The Edgecote”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had stayed at this excellent hotel before and were delighted to see Sue and Christine again. They work extremely hard to ensure every guest has first class service. Our room was lovely, tastefully decorated, cosy and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was lovely too and well equipped with showergel/lbody lotion etc.Everything that a guest might need was supplied. The breakfast was first class with plenty of choice. Sue and Christine are very friendly and guests are guaranteed a very warm welcome. Very good value. We cannot wait to return and wouldn't stay anywhere else when we visit Burton.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmccabe, Owner at The Edgecote, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
It was lovely seeing you both again... and look forward to the next time you come Pat L
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
18
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We enjoyed our one night stay at the Edgecote. Very friendly owner Sue, lovely breakfast and clean, tidy room. Some great pubs in Burton so look forward to a return trip.
We will stay again when we are back!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmccabe, Owner at The Edgecote, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Im glad you both enjoyed your stay.. and I look forward to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had the pleasure of spending 3nights there last week. we were upgraded to a lovely large, comfortable room at the back of the hotel, which was very quiet. Excellent breakfasts cooked by Sue and served by Christine. Lots of choices for breakfast. A very pleasant 3 nights, couldn't fault it, Carol and Jim Warren.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmccabe, Owner at The Edgecote, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
It was lovely meeting you both and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay... especially the breakfast.... I hope you had a good trip back to South Africa ...where I am sure it is warmer than here ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lombard, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

The Edgecote was very nice; got a free upgrade to a fine, large room. Excellent breakfast. Bit of a long walk down the hill and over the river into town, but ate at the Beer Museum Restaurant and had more beer on the way back. We visited Burton on Trent for the beer, but the town is a bit depressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmccabe, Owner at The Edgecote, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for your review.... Im glad you enjoyed your stay ..and sampled the Burton Beer.
Part of the 20 minute walk to the Museum is along an area which I am told is being rejuvinated soon and the local Chamber of Commerce has said Burton is set for a boom...which is good news for all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our time at Edgecote. Sue and Christine are very obliging and nothing is too much bother. Breakfast superb, room very clean and comfortable. Will definitely be back. Thanks for everything. Paul & Beryl.

Room Tip: Room 3 the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmccabe, Owner at The Edgecote, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review Paul and Beryl .. I loved meeting you and our chats ... I'm glad we were able to make your stay enjoyable and look forward to seeing you both again sometime .. Have a lovely Christmas..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We've booked this for a couple of nights whilst visiting friends in the area. We had room 2 which was spacious, warm, and very clean. It was facing the main road, but fairly quiet at night, so it did not disturb us. The en-suite shower room was small with a tiny corner sink, only really suitable for a quick handwash and teeth cleaning. But it suited our needs and we are shower people anyway. Service was excellent and friendly and we were made really welcome. Breakfast was extensive. As well as fruit, cereal, cake etc., they served freshly prepared cooked breakfast from a large list. Well cooked, well presented and nice to set you up for the day.

We will return if we are in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmccabe, Owner at The Edgecote, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you treforH for taking time to write a review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay
I am aware that the basin in the room is small and it is on the "list" of things to change , because its a very popular room its finding time to change it
I look forward to seeing you both again if you come this way .
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I found the bed hard and lumpy. Front road can be noisy. Dated decor. The only B&B I went to that charged extra (one pound) for having smoked salmon at breakfast. Apart from that the breakfast was very good, nice selection of fresh fruit, lovely dining room. I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanmccabe, Owner at The Edgecote, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
I am sorry that you didn’t mention these matters to me while you were here, as I certainly would have done everything possible to make your stay more comfortable.

In the past 5 years I have completely refurbished the Edgecote - this has included new shower rooms, beds, curtains, carpets and flat screen televisions. The building is over 100 years old and I have chosen fixtures and fittings in keeping with the period.
The guest house is on the A511 so it can be a little busy during the day but quietens at night. The rooms at the rear of the property are quieter and have views over Stapenhill - unique for a guest house in Burton upon Trent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Edgecote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Edgecote

Address: 179 Ashby Road, Burton upon Trent DE15 0LB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Edgecote A distinguished Edwardian residence with all the warm ambience of that era. It has a wealth of period features, including oak panelling and stained glass, some unique to the house.The Edgecote offers great value and a memorable stay, very different from the box-like lodges and inns that are everywhere these days-yet no more expensive.The 6 well appointed rooms are comfortable and stylish in keeping with the house, and are suitable for those on business or on vacation. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Edgecote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.