We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pascal's rates as high as any in the area. Will definitely return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pascal at the Old Vicarage

Pascal at the Old Vicarage
2 Main Street | Branston, Burton upon Trent DE14 3EX, England
+44 1283 533222
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Pascal's rates as high as any in the area. Will definitely return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Food and service excellent, quality of food excellent, starter portion a little small, pigs trotters superb but my wife would have liked a little more. Venison and staffordshire beef were top notch. I don't really like fixed price menus with supplements for certain dishes.
The wine list suited us perfectly we had Macon Lugny and a Barolo both superb.
The staff made us very welcome and were professional and attentive but not ott. Decor is comfortable if a little dated but didn't detract from the overall ambience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    28
    14
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Top class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Food was superb. Have been many times and always had excellent service. Price is not overly expensive main meals around £20. The decor is traditional cosy and comfortable. Belly pork is to die for. Better by far than the belly pork I had at Claridges. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A lot better value than i expected, i'll be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

To be honest, according to other reviews, i was expecting a huge bill at the end of our meal,but so what? I wasn't paying as it was a birthday treat, ha ha, hard luck wife.To my surprise, the saturday menu was a la carte.It consisted of a 3 course meal, with a good selection for £29.95. The service was superb from the moment we walked in. The food was even better.The atmosphere was great too. A fairly quiet atmosphere, but friendly diners who were expressing their positive comments to us made us feel even more welcome.A must do dining experience.Well recommended .

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“First class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Went for lunch today with two friends and my wife the food and service was first class we had a great time I use a wheelchair and the access and facilities were very good we will be going back again soon try the belly pork and venison all puddings are great

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Want to be looked after extremely well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Wow what an amazing dining experience. Food out of this world. Staff very friendly without being overpowering. Would certainly go back here

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pascal at the Old Vicarage also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Pascal at the Old Vicarage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pascal at the Old Vicarage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.