We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Golden Cup

The Golden Cup
Main Street | Yoxall, Burton upon Trent, England
+44 1543 472295
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Greg and Rachael welcome you to the multi-award winning Golden Cup, a family-run village pub and hotel free house. The Golden Cup offers a world for everyone with its warm pub atmosphere, beautiful gardens, tasty home-cooking and fabulous accommodation which includes 7 ensuite bedrooms. And visitors are assured of a warm welcome from our band of friendly locals and regular customers. Experience superb dining in our restaurant- evening meals, Sunday lunches, special occasions and an extensive children's menu. The restaurant boasts a Five Star Ratemyplace rating. The Sports bar boasts a large-screen Sky TV, free WiFi, Pool Table, Darts, and Dominoes. We have a large beer garden with a safe play area for children, and an adjacent meadow where we host all kinds of outdoor events through the year. The perfect venue for weddings, christenings or any other celebration. We cater for parties of all sizes, from small gatherings in our restaurant to lavish celebrations in marquees in our grounds. And if you can't come to us, we can come to you with our specialist outside bar service. We take care of things so you can get on with enjoying your special occasion.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Four of us went for a meal on a Friday night in October 2013. Menu is fine (not great for veggies so be aware) and the venue/tables pleasant. Nice attention to detail with fresh flowers etc.

Good value for money - food well cooked and presented - good quality standard pub fare.

Marred only by some slight and wholly unnecssary rudeness (brusqueness) from the landlord (??) but I would give it another chance for sure.

Overall a safe bet.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    20
    8
    7
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

As a regular at the pub, the atmosphere is always friendly the drinks are reasonably priced. The food is your typical pub food, not the greatest food in the world but definately the worst! The pub is a place for families and couples alike!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Landlady from hell...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I could spend a lot of time and words giving you a detailed description on the lack of quality and customer service at this place but it would go on forever!

The attitude of the landlady is nothing less than terrible! She seems to live in a world where in her head The Golden Cup is a Michelin starred restaurant but in fact the food is nothing more than average and the atmosphere no better.

The location is good and the garden facilities bigger/more extensive than most pubs but the establishment is not what the landlady thinks it is.

I am sure this place could be a valuable asset to the village residents and passer by alike but unfortunately with the current management it will never be anything more than just a country pub split into two sections, a 'want to be' sports bar and a 'want to be' good food restaurant.

My girlfriend was shocked at how rude and self important the landlady was, it is like she is living in a world where 'The Golden Cup' is the best place in the world to visit. I am sorry but you really need a reality check and maybe your business will benefit, based on this experience I now see The Golden Cup as a place to go when The Crown is full and even then I would think twice about it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
1 review
“Great day at the Golden Cup Yoxall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We have had a fabulous day at the Golden Cup in Yoxall food and drink plentiful service wonderful and the the owners and staff superb they are a truly genuine bunch
must say the bad reviews are down to limited minority who obviously don't understand the trade

Well Done Golden Cup I wish you were my local.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked here last minute and it was well worth it...a lovely open fire greeted us..ordering our food was easy..as it was a Sunday there were 2 choices of roasts and a vegetarian option...food was prompt and hot..ordering a sweet was ok ish...the waitress recited about 5 choices...they forgot my dads trifle...we had to ask twice..but overall a very satisfactory lunch.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Golden Cup also viewed

Yoxall, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to The Golden Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Golden Cup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.