We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful venue for a perfect wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dovecliff Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Dovecliff Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Derby
1 review
“Beautiful venue for a perfect wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We had our wedding here in September 2012. From the moment we walked in to view the venue on the first occasion, the staff at Dovecliffe Hall made us feel so welcome and it felt like they couldn't do enough for us. Stacey in particular was amazing and went that extra mile to make our day so perfect. She was always on hand if I had any queries and was a fantastic support in the build up to the big day. The venue itself is outstanding, the grounds are beautiful and gave us perfect pictures! The meal was incredible and everyone commented how nice it was. Stacey, Jason and all the staff at Dovecliffe treated us all like royalty on the day and nothing was too much trouble for them. The bedrooms are very nice and comfortable, the bridal suite in particular is very impressive. It was a shame we only stayed one night! The breakfast next morning was lovely and it was nice that it was just us and our guests having breakfast at the same time recollecting over the day before. I cannot compliment Dovecliffe enough and hope to go back on our anniversary! This really is a perfect venue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad that you and all your family had such a great day and we were so happy to play a huge part in that. We look forward to welcoming you back on your anniversary.

J. Manton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    50
    27
    15
    6
See reviews for
58
86
1
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I used to dine here under previous owners and it was a class act.As I needed to stay in the area with my wife recently I decided to stay here and eat in the hotel restaurant.Now I hadn't been here for several years but driving up to the hotel all looked well and it is a truly striking building.Checking in was fine and as we had a dog we where given a ground floor room.The room was a little tired but all ok.We had booked dinner for 7.30 and arrived for a pre dinner drink a little before then.We were seated in a small side room with 10/15 other people and waited forever to get a drink.The fire was unlit(outside temperature below freezing) and atmosphere poor.Drink arrived but despite several requests no menus.Eventually moved to another bar by the conservatory and after further wait found some menus.The problem was soon obvious.2 staff covering bar and restaurant service for 40/50 people.Eventually sat down for dinner at 9pm and have to say food and service then ok.
We were somewhat disappointed that such a super place has detiorated so much over the years.The place is tired and has had no upgrading since the new owners came a few years ago.How you can run a place like this with such few staff is a mystery.If you get a cheap deal it is worth staying but perhaps eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on trip advisor. We do find customer feed back useful in our quest to improve standards and service. I apologies if the service was not to our usual high standard however 2 members of staff for the 23 guests that we served that night is normally enough but I will take your comments on board. Just like many small companies in this present economic climate we are only able to maintain and invest in things that are not always noticed by the general public but rest assure the owners have no intention of allowing the building to deteriorate. We hope you will not leave it for another 5 years before we see you again.

J Manton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Attended a family wedding reception and stayed overnight with wedding party so we we had the place to ourselves. This is a lovely country house hotel and furnished in this syle, but its not too big , grand or corporate. Even in January the grounds were very pleasant and there are lovely communal sitting rooms to explore and enjoy.
Our room had french doors which led out to a small lawn with table and chairs and a view down to the river. Nice en suite facilies and ggod sized room with Tv and hospitality tray etc.
The only negatives - a slight drains smell in the bathroom, room too warm overnight, bigger cups needed on hospitality tray . I'm not sure how things would be under 'normal circumstances' but would definately like to visit again sometime.

Room Tip: Our room was located in a side extention which which was a bit of a trek through the main hotel up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We had excellent feedback from everybody saying what a fantastic wedding day it was and what a magnificent day everybody had had. We do pride ourselves for the quality and service that we provide and it is great for the whole team when we are praised for something we are passionate about. My apologies for the drain smell we were only made aware of this from your comment and we have now rectified this. We do hope to see you again soon.

J Manton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We came for a post Christmas night away for some peace and quiet and tranquility and had a lovely time. This really is fabulous hotel, we have stayed here a few times before and were married here in 2010 - a truly memorable day. The staff, as always were extremely attentive and very professional. We had booked an offer which included staying in their main suite which is beautiful with stunning views across the gardens. The champagne and home made chocolates were delicious and both dinner and breakfast the next morning were superb. I would highly recommend this hotel for a quiet weekend away.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Lord Burton suite, and having taken advantage of our romantic getaway. We are always happy to welcome back familiar faces and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

J Manton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, Great Britain
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arriving at 1215hrs for a pre-booked seasonal lunch, our party of 10 was seated in a luxurious lounge, and our drinks order was taken and served. Surprisingly our meal orders were not taken for some time, and it was after 1300hrs when we were taken into the large dining room, where two other parties were already enjoying their meals. Our meals were excellent, with tasty, well presented dishes, and the service, although efficient, was thought by some to be a little impersonal.

The dining room lacked any seasonal decorations, a point noted by an earlier reviewer. Everyone enjoyed the meal, despite the slow start, and the Dovecliff Hall Hotel should certainly be on anyone's list looking for a first class meal in an excellent venue, in this area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Thank you for you kind words about your visit to our hotel. I am sorry that you felt that you waited a little longer than usual to be seated on the 19th December but with two other larger parties having lunch that day and the fact that all our dishes are cooked fresh to order, we felt it best that your party was only seated once our hedd chef was ready for you. We are pleased that all your guests enjoyed their food and we hope to see you all again soon.

J Manton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed for just the one night on the run up to Christmas.
Checked in around 6pm with very efficient and friendly staff. The rooms to be honest could do with some upgrading...our door lock was hanging off, but it did work.
We booked dinner in the restaurant that evening and have to say it was superb.
The surroundings are just stunning and we would definitely like to see it again in the summer.
Breakfast was lovely and again lovely friendly staff who just appear when you need them and then disappear.
all in all a very nice place to stay to get away from the madding crowd :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, General Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your lovely comments about our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed dinner and breakfast the following morning and we would love to welcome you back soon. We have looked at the lock on the door after your comment and we have now fixed this.
We hope to see you again soon.

J Manton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton-on-Trent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

At a prepaid price of £85/head for Christmas lunch our expectations were high, however Christmas decorations were totally absent from the dining room. We were rushed from arrival to our table within 5 minutes including the ordering of pre-lunch drinks. We were asked if we wanted the inclusive bottle of red or white Conchay Toro 2012 Mountain Range and the first course delivered to the table. The plain smoked salmon with a pile of rocket leaves and a swirl of horseradish cream (no bread), set the standard of non inspirational food or presentation, The slice of smooth Duck Parfait with leaves and a halved cherry tomato could have also come straight from the supermarket. The Turkey being machine cut in nice even slices together with a circular brown meat slice with a white turkey skin was not at all appetizing, no bread sauce was included. The pan fried beef fillet was of an acceptable standard. A request for a jug of tap water was made and delivered during the main course and the mid range quality Christmas crackers were pulled and the accompanying pianist ceased at this point. waiter attendance was minimal with not even crumbs being removed. The Christmas puddings small and with limited fruit again looked more a Mr Kipling than Chef manufacture, in difference to the small mince pies which looked home made. The bitter cafetiere coffee came with cold milk. We finished our meal, paid on the way out for our bar drinks and collected the coats and left at 14 :20, with a less than satisfied feeling of the quality and experience at this price.

Room Tip: A nice dining room and the surrounding gardens are a credit to the hotel, but not very Christmas y.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dovecliffhallhotel, Manager at Dovecliff Hall Hotel, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
I am sorry that you felt the need to post your comments on trip advisor as well as write a letter to me and also a letter to the owners of the business. We always pride ourselves on the quality of food and service and this is quite evident from the other comments posted on this site. We had just short of 100 guests on Christmas day and everybody that we have spoken to have said what a lovely pleasant day they had and that the service and food were as usual faultless. Our chef, who has over 25 years experience, took your comment about the meat slicer as a personal compliment as we do not posses one. Being a house with 222 years of character we do not feel the need to festoon all the walls with Christmas decorations and believe that a few strategically placed decorations and a fantastic 20 foot real tree is more than enough to make the house feel festive. We are sorry that you felt that this did not meet with your high standards. As well as replying to your trip advisor comments you will receive a reply from the owners of the business and myself by post.

J Manton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dovecliff Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dovecliff Hall Hotel

Address: Dovecliff Road | Stretton, Burton upon Trent DE13 0DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Burton upon Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dovecliff Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dovecliff Hall Country House Hotel is a "hidden gem" nestled in the delightful Staffordshire countryside. Dating back to 1790, this elegant Georgian House has been fully restored to provide a subtle blend of history with modern comfortable hospitality. Set within seven acres of beautiful gardens and adjacent to the River Dove, Dovecliff Hall is the perfect retreat if you are looking to experience peace and tranquility. Our guest rooms have been tastefully decorated and boast views of either the gardens or the River Dove. With emphasis on comfort, elegance and functionality, all rooms have en-suite bathrooms with bath and shower and are equipped with flat screen TVs, telephones, free WIFI access, trouser press and tea & coffee making facilities. Classic English cuisine with a modern French twist can be enjoyed in our beautiful Orangery Restaurant. Only the finest seasonal ingredients are used and wherever possible, our Head Chef uses his local suppliers. Just 10 miles from Lichfield and 13 miles from Derby, we are ideally situated if you are looking to visit Chatsworth House, Lichfield Cathedral, The Peak District, Calke Abbey, Shugborough Hall, Alton Towers or Donnington Park. We look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dovecliff Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dovecliff Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.