We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly noisy. Room could be vastly improved” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Shoulder of Mutton

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barton under Needwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Shoulder of Mutton
Save
You added The Shoulder of Mutton to your Saves list
16 Main Street, Barton under Needwood DE13 8AA , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ludham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Incredibly noisy. Room could be vastly improved”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I completely agree with Caroline I wish I had read her review before I booked. We had the noise from the young people down in the smoking area until 2.00 in the morning. We asked them politely to tune it down and they just got louder. The language was dreadful and we could hear the whole conversations. We then rang the pub number and asked the lady who answered to speak to them but to no avail. It had taken us five hours to get to the place and the next day we had to drive the five hours again after having less than five hours sleep. I would not use the place again and I would not reccommend it to anyone. The food was good but we were in the area for a special occassion and we could have eaten anywhere. It was the nights accommodation we required. We departed expecting an apolgy or explanation but nothing at all was said.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    9
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
10
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

The Shoulder of Mutton is a relatively nice pub, with good parking in a lovely village. My partner and I booked a Friday and Saturday night, to attend a wedding. On booking I called to ask about the potential noise from the live music and was told that the rooms were separate and would not be effected. This was not the case, as it could be heard word perfect in our room until gone 11.30pm. Worse than this, however is the fact that the rooms all look out on to the pub smoking area and so loud, drunk people can be heard as late as 1am, as if they were standing next to you. There is absolutely no consideration given for any guests staying or attempting to get some sleep.

The room itself was the double, which was very tired. The carpet had seen much better days, as had the walls and fittings. On the whole it was clean, i.e. bedding, towels, sink etc and the drinks were in good supply. The bed was wrecked, causing us just to roll into each other and it is on the small side.

The shower ensuite again was clean, but had holes and cracks in the wall. The toilet seat shifted when sat on, as it was broken and generally aged. The shower was ridiculous with almost no pressure, washing hair was a nightmare and you got cold as there was not enough water to cover you.

Breakfast was pleasant and it would seem that the food side of the pub has been concentrated on, with absolutely no attention having been paid to the accomodation. A vastly overpriced room and a pretty awful stay overall, especially due to the noise.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We have just returned from a 3 night break staying at "The Shoulder of Mutton" in Barton under Needwood. Our room was small but I think some of the others might have been a little bigger. There was everything you needed including the usual hospitality tray and toiletries in the shower room.
We ate our evening meal here too and the food was excellent, freshly cooked and hot. The lager battered cod was the best battered cod I have had for a long time and was just like what you get at a seaside! Our stay included a Sunday when meals are not served after 6.00pm. We had our main meal while out at lunchtime and our hosts kindly had sandwiches prepared for us ready for us to eat as our "tea" at a time which suited which was about 7.30pm when we had them in the bar with wonderful shandy made from local bitter.
A very convenient B & B if you are visiting the National Memorial Arboretum which is only a few miles away.
Thank you. We would return.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ely
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

Took my elderly grandfather here for Sunday Lunch, absolutely first rate in every regard. The staff were welcoming and friendly, the food was very tasty and plentiful, the beer was well kept, the pub itself was well appointed and the loos outstanding. In the last six months I have eaten at each of the eateries new and old in Barton and without doubt this is the best for a traditional British meal out. I rated the rooms 3 only because we didn't actuall stay here so I have no idea, and the pub only shows up as a place to stay not as a place to eat, which is a shame as if others experience mirrors mine they will be delighted.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Second time we stayed here.We go to a festival near by.The beds are comfy,the bar and food is great and the staff are very friendly. Lovely village as well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

The Best Pub we have been to on the COUNTRY!
We had been looking for a pub in the evening close to Burton and stumbled across 'The Shoulder of Mutton'. The Best off-chance pub i've been too!
The staff were the friendliest i've come across. The waitress was (blonde; Definitely worth a mention) so helpful, friendly & very interactive. The Chef; An absolute Gem he was at the front of the house and welcomed us and we had great banter with him, this was such a lovely sight and made our experience 10x more enjoyable. The menu was extremely varied and great value for money and the food was exceptional; some of the best i've ever tried! The Pork in cider was delicious!!!
The atmosphere in the pub was fantastic! A REAL GEM! The chef was a star and was such a credit to the establishment.
We are from Dorset and had been to Alton Towers, but we will certainly be back to travel the 4 hours just to visit the pub! We eat here on the 4th of July 2011

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Shoulder of Mutton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shoulder of Mutton

Address: 16 Main Street, Barton under Needwood DE13 8AA , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Barton under Needwood
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Barton under Needwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn situated in Rural Staffordshire close to Barton Marina, Burton & Lichfield UNDER NEW MANAGEMENT AS OF JUNE 2014 Hi from the New Management and thank you for looking at us on Trip-Advisor. We are slowly making positive changes to this well-loved pub and welcome the feedback from customers. If you have any questions please do not hesitate to get in contact with us ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Shoulder Of Mutton UK/Barton Under Needwood, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shoulder of Mutton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.