We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wychnor Park Country Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wychnor Park Country Club to your Saves list
Wychnor Park Country Club
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   | Wychnor Park, Barton under Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8BU , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Milton Keynes
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I stayed with my group for one night in November & was very impressed with the accommodation. I booked a '2 bed apartment' which turned out to be a 2 bedroomed house in the grounds. It was spacious, modern, well equipped & very clean. The country club has many facilities which we didn't have a chance to use as we were only there for one night. The bar was cosy & well furnished & the barman was helpful & polite. The reception staff were excellent too. The only slight niggle was the restaurant - one of the waitresses was very rude to one of my party at dinner & breakfast the following morning was chaotic to say the least! I am hoping to return, next time for longer so we have a chance to enjoy the facilities. Hopefully the restaurant was a blip this time as the food was excellent & competitively priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
We are really pleased that your stay at Wychnor Park Country Club was a generally enjoyable one! We’re sorry to read your concerns about our on-site restaurant, though – we strive to provide excellent service in all aspects of our business, and we are very sorry that we do not seem to have achieved this during your stay. Please be assured that your experience on this occasion doesn’t reflect our usual standards of service, and that this will be fully addressed with our restaurant staff.

We are pleased to read that this incident hasn’t deterred you from coming back to Wychnor Park, and we look forward to seeing you again!

Louisa Herrero
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    73
    20
    8
    7
See reviews for
95
75
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, GA
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I booked a week at Wychnor not knowing what to expect as this was my first resort stay in England. Everything was wonderful. Hazel greeted me at reception when I checked in. Check in was fast . I booked Wychnor as a holiday for myself and my daughter's family . The accommodations were excellent. We had a two bedroom two bath unit which was well appointed and very clean. My two grandsons are five and nine. There were lots of activities planned for youngsters and they had a fine time thanks to Gary, the program director. Gary also ran adult activities and sang most nights. We thoroughly enjoyed his talent and wide selection of music. We also loved the grounds. Wychnor is beautiful . The golf course is well maintained, the gym was satisfactory, and the indoor heated pool was great.
There is also a steam room and sauna. I particularly pleased that the hot tub was for individuals 16 years plus. This rule was actually enforced much to my pleasure. So many times my mate and I have wanted to use a hot tub and have it full of young children. We also enjoyed the tennis court and crazy golf.
We ate in the bar lounge several times and found prices to be reasonable and service good.
Check out was easy and again Hazel was pleasant, efficient, and helpful.

Room Tip: Everyone we talked to liked their rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are delighted that you chose Wychnor Park for your recent visit to England, and that you had a lovely time here! We strive to provide all our guests with amazing holiday experiences, and we’re really pleased that the resort had everything you needed for a wonderful stay. We really hope you’ll get the opportunity to come back here for another visit – we’d love to see you again!

Louisa Herrero
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northe east
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed in 3 bedroom courtyard accommodation which was in fact a house. Accommodation great with plenty of space.
Kitchen was new and had all the modcons.
A very relaxing place with plenty to do and places to visit nearby.
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
We are really glad to read your lovely review, thank you - please visit as again soon as we are looking forward to providing you with excellent service again!

Louisa Herrero
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I love Wychnor! We spent another couple of nights here ( 5th time so that probably says it all) and it was nice for there to be no Christmas tree this time!! Indeed weather was beautifully warm so DH was able to go out on the 9 hole on site while I enjoyed a quiet read on the sun overlooking open fields and the river. Lots of nice low cost places to visit very close( Barton marina and Barton nature reserve) . Indoor swimming pool is lovely as is the steam room and sauna an jacuzzi. We took the half board this time( good value) and a good selection although my lamb was a bit disappointing. staff all very friendly and helpful and you are really made to feel part of the family.
Roll on next visit!

Room Tip: All are good but courtyard is closest to swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
We’re really pleased that you enjoy staying at Wychnor Park Country Club, and that you had a lovely time here on your most recent visit! We strive to maintain a high standard of food quality at our on-site restaurant, and we’re very sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion, though. We hope this didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable break here, and we look forward to being of service to you again!

Louisa Herrero
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bed log cabin for 1 week. We usually stay here over Easter on our own in the main house, but this time we brought my mother and so needed a larger accommodation. We e mailed before hand to remind them that we needed a walk in shower for her. When we arrived, we were given a choice of 2 properties to see which would suit us best. One had a walk in shower just off the main bedroom and the other had a walk in shower next to the 2nd bedroom, which was the better choice for us. The unit was an accessible unit with twin beds in the 2nd bedroom which were electrically operated beds. The main room had a king size bed, which was very comfortable. The kitchen was slightly dated and had a table with seating for 6. There was a very limited work surface. The sitting area had 2 sofas which were fairly comfortable. A sliding door led to the balcony with a table and chairs, looking over the fields towards Lichfield.
We used the swimming pool, sauna and steam room several times and it was very clean, thanks to Lorraine, who was very busy tidying. Our grand daughter came to visit and we went to the children's play area. It was rather a disappointment. There was 1 swing, suitable for the very young child and a climbing area leading to a slide and that was it.
As we are here in April usually, it was good to see the property with trees in leaf, and plants in the garden area, although these did cut down on the views that we were used to seeing.Swings and roundabouts!!
The staff here are always so friendly and helpful.There was housekeeping every other day which was very good. We did find that the bathroom for my mother had a nasty smell which we thought was from a dry trap, but it did occur several times over the week. There was no rail in the 2nd bathroom, which my mother felt would be useful as she felt a little unsteady. There was a shower stool, but this couldn't be put in the shower area unfortunately,
Wychnor is very close to plenty of places to visit and the roads are very good, mostly dual carriageways. Recommended are the Black Country Living Museum, Ironbridge and Blist Hills Victorian Town..The A38 which is the main road off which Wychnor is situated, can be extremely
busy and you do need to move sharpish when moving onto it. Luckily the road is a mile away up a single carriage way and there is no traffic noise at Wychnor.
A well recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Amazing time yet again at Wychnor!
We arrived just after 4pm (check in 4pm) and were greeted by families out on the lawn playing archery, having faces painted - generally having a great time. The reception staff lovely and welcoming checked us in promptly (£65 taken as a damage deposit which is refunded on departure)
We were allocated Coach House apartment 5 - was beautiful and had everything you could possibly want for!! if we had been staying longer than 2 nights we would have tried to request a log cabin or a house as me and my DH shared the sofa bed and it wasn't the comfiest (Show me one that is!!)
We thought we had brought everything with us but realised while cooking we had no butter - reception has these in supply as well as a list of other goodies!!
We were hardly in the apartment as we use this as a base to go to Drayton Manor and Alton Towers but we have said we will be back next year and hopefully for a few more days to take advantage of the swimming pool and family activities during the day!

Room Tip: We love the log cabins but there are so many types of rooms to choose from - 1 bed apartments and 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
We strive to provide all our guests with amazing, memorable holiday experiences, and we’re delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Wychnor Park! We hope you’ll get the opportunity to return here for a longer visit, to take full advantage of everything that the resort has to offer – we’d love to see you again!

Louisa Herrero
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We received a friendly welcome as soon as we arrived and were please with our two bedroom apartment that we were allocated. As a family we used the tennis courts, crazy golf and swimming pool many times and it is great that it is included in the price. We are led to believe that a multi purpose court is to be an addition in the future, which will be good. The surrounding area is very tranquil and makes the whole experience a relaxing one. The only down side I would say was that the apartment could have been a little cleaner, in particular the kitchen cupboards, one of which was overtaken by a spider web. However as you are in the middle of the countryside the spiders are to be expected I suppose. Having said that it would definitely not put us off staying there again and in fact we are already trying to work out dates that we could go back as there is so much to see in the area (Alton Towers, Drayton Manor,Cadbury World, the National Arboretum, Twycross Zoo etc). We also must mention Gary who takes all the childrens activites and puts on the nightly entertainment, he is a treasure.

Room Tip: I believe the coach house rooms have been refurbished so if you can get one of these all the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wychnor Park Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wychnor Park Country Club

Address: | Wychnor Park, Barton under Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 8BU , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Barton under Needwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Barton under Needwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wychnor Park Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling in the UK, you will want to stay in a place that represents the brilliance of this majestic and historic area. You will have never seen or experienced anything like Wychnor Park Country Club. By staying here, you are ensuring that you and your family will be having the holiday experience of a lifetime.Wychnor Park Country Club dates back all the way to the period of Queen Anne. You will find yourself among 55 acres of some of the most stunning estate grounds and take in some of the most breathtaking, panoramic views. The Great Hall, housed here, symbolizes an age of gracious living.At Wychnor Park Country Club, you will find plenty to do before even heading off the grounds to explore. We have a golf course that brings in enthusiasts from around the world. You may also want to enjoy the heated indoor swimming pool. Either the golf course or the pool area is a great place to spend time with family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Wychnor Park Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wychnor Park Country Club Hotel Barton Under Needwood
Wychnor Park Country Club UK/Barton Under Needwood, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wychnor Park Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.