We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family weekend away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wychnor Park Country Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Wychnor Park Country Club to your Saves list
Wychnor Park Country Club
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   | Wychnor Park, Barton under Needwood DE13 8BU , England   |  
Hotel amenities
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Family weekend away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were joined by two brothers and a sister and their other halves for a family weekend away at Wychnor. We had two neighbourning houses. On the Saturday we all ate together in the restaurant. Fantastic meal, great service and ambience. On Sunday we had breakfast together in the bar before heading off on our journeys home. Wychnor is in a great position for exploring nearby attractions such as the National Arboratum and the Cathedral City of Lichfield, and further afield to the Peak District, Chatsworth House and other National Trust places of interest. Our check in and out went very smoothly and we were contacted during our stay to ensure we were happy and there was nothing we needed. The staff could not have been more obliging. Some of us used the leisure centre facilities during our stay. We would be happy to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    57
    17
    7
    6
See reviews for
79
63
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We recently had a family celebration at Wychnor Park, occupying two apartments. We had a wonderful time. As usual, staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful, the food was good in bar and restaurant, and even the weather was kind to us.

Wychnor is one of our all-time favourite destinations and we always enjoy staying there. Tucked away in the countryside we feel miles away from everyday cares, relax, unwind and enjoy the peaceful surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

My sister and I and our respective spouses booked 2 apartments over the recent bank holiday, both apartments boasted huge sitting rooms and bedrooms and well appointed bathrooms and kitchens. We stayed in the coach house, which was encased in scaffolding - which I think could have been pointed out during booking, but that's my only niggle.

It was lovely to have so much internal space to relax in.

We visited the bar and had walks in the grounds, but didn't use any other facilities as we were up for a family event.

The friendly receptionist (who appeared to be on duty for the entirety of our stay) booked a taxi for us.

i would recommend and I would stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
We are really pleased to read that the standard of our resort has met, if not exceeded, your expectations and we are happy that you have found the apartment you were staying at spacious and comfortable. We are looking forward to seeing you again and we are grateful to you for recommending us! Thank you for your review.

Louisa Herrero
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Only stayed for one night - wish it had of been for longer. Accommodation was lovely, surrounding area also really lovely. The only complaint we had was the drains had a really horrible smell. Will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I have just come back from Wychnor 11.05.2013. We had an apartment/cottage and whilst it was very nice, there were some things that were missing. No soap the master bedroom's shower room; towels were changed and the bath mat was not replaced and the washing up cloth disappeared. It seemed to us that the place maybe had not been used for some time as it was cold and felt a little damp upon arrival. We were not allowed in until 4pm but there did not seem to that many people staying, so were a little puzzled. There was achild'shand print on the window so that had not been cleaned.
The resaurant - I read the reviews of the restaurant and deliberately asked if it had improved. Oh yes, they said, we all eat there. Frankly, it had not really improved since the 2008 review. The windows of the room had not been cleaned; they had a trainee waitress who really did try her best but didn't seem to be supervised and helped. The food: my roll was wet underneath and had to be changed, uncuttable melon which was v unripe, my duck breast had some sort of membrane running along it and was rather tough and a minute bowl of vegetables. The best bit was the Bailey's sweet. For the price, it was pretty dire.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
We’re sorry to learn that you were disappointed with aspects of your recent stay at Wychnor Park Country Club. All the accommodation should be serviced to our usual high standard of housekeeping, and we’re sorry that you had cause for concern in this regard. Please be assured that this has been addressed with the resort’s housekeeping team.

We would clarify that the standard check-in time for this resort is 4:00pm, and we’re sorry if this wasn’t made clear to you prior to your arrival.

We’re sorry to read of your concerns regarding the restaurant at Wychnor Park. We must advise that your review came as a surprise to us, as we receive very few complaints about the on-site restaurant facilities at our resorts. We strive to maintain a high standard of food quality – the resort’s catering staff make every effort to ensure that diners are satisfied, and we’re sorry that you were disappointed on this occasion.

We trust that these issues didn’t mar an otherwise enjoyable stay at Wychnor Park, and we hope that you’ll choose to return here in the future.

Kind regards
Louisa Herrero
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My family stayed at the WYCHNOR PARK COUNTRY CLUB between March 15-22, 2013. We reserved a cabin. We had a major mechanical problem on our second night. The bathroom fan in the Master bedroom kept turning on and off all night long, perhaps 500 times. The night manager came and said the only way he could stop it was to turn off our power until the maintenance crews could get there the following day and repair the wiring in the cabin. As it was literally freezing outside, my wife and I opted to spend a sleepless night in a warm cabin instead of trying to sleep in a freezing cabin. The management was unapologetic, and said that they just needed to update the wiring in the cabins.

On our fourth night the hot water generator in the master bath shower conked out. The night manager's solution was that we share a shower with our kids. Once again, they were unapologetic and said they just needed to update the water generator units.

I would not recommend that anyone stay in a cabin at this resort until all of the wiring and appliances are updated. Ask when you book when the unit was last updated.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
diamondresorts, Manager at Wychnor Park Country Club, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
We’re sorry that you experienced some disturbance during your recent stay at Wychnor Park Country Club.

The wiring in all our accommodation undergoes testing every 5 years, as per electrical regulations, and any maintenance issues are attended to as necessary. The resort’s maintenance staff have fully investigated this matter, and determined that the issue which arose on this occasion was the result of a fault with the switch, which could have been resolved in the short term by removing the fuse from the fan until the maintenance staff could attend to it the following day. We’re concerned that you were given to understand that you would need to turn off the lodge’s electrical supply entirely – this appears to have been a genuine misunderstanding, and we’re sorry for the frustration caused to you by this.

In the interests of minimising disruption to all our guests, wherever possible we do try to find alternative solutions to performing maintenance work during the evening, and we’re sorry that you found this unsatisfactory. We understand that the reception staff did offer to arrange for one of the maintenance team to attend that evening to resolve the issues with the shower, however.

The electrical systems in all our accommodations are fully and regularly maintained, and this is a separate procedure from the refurbishment of fixtures and fittings – the electrical systems will be up to date, irrespective of whether the apartment or lodge has been refurbished or not.

Please be assured that your experiences are not the norm at Wychnor Park, and in no way reflect the experiences of the majority of our guests. We really hope that you’ll give the resort another try in the future!

Kind regards
Louisa Herrero
Resort manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This place was booked for me as a treat. The drive up to the building was splendid and I was a little bit worried re the scaffolding around the building. Entry to the room was not complicated and on entering the suite I was met by a large living room suitably fitted out for two people for a comfortable week. Towels, utensils coffee tea. Everything was present which made the stay lovely. There was even a docking station in the bedroom. On the evening we went to the bar where there was live music. The singer Gary entertained us for the evening with a selection of easy listening music. Not too loud. The prices behind the bar were reasonable. This place is a little jewel. In the morning I was able to enjoy the views. The downside to my stay was that the shower flooded. There is a fault in the plumbing which should be rectified sooner as opposed to later. I was told by someone else that this fault is known. If you ask me would I stop here again. Definitely. A lovely place. Next time it will be longer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wychnor Park Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wychnor Park Country Club

Address: | Wychnor Park, Barton under Needwood DE13 8BU , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Barton under Needwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Barton under Needwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Wychnor Park Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When traveling in the UK, you will want to stay in a place that represents the brilliance of this majestic and historic area. You will have never seen or experienced anything like Wychnor Park Country Club. By staying here, you are ensuring that you and your family will be having the holiday experience of a lifetime.Wychnor Park Country Club dates back all the way to the period of Queen Anne. You will find yourself among 55 acres of some of the most stunning estate grounds and take in some of the most breathtaking, panoramic views. The Great Hall, housed here, symbolizes an age of gracious living.At Wychnor Park Country Club, you will find plenty to do before even heading off the grounds to explore. We have a golf course that brings in enthusiasts from around the world. You may also want to enjoy the heated indoor swimming pool. Either the golf course or the pool area is a great place to spend time with family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Wychnor Park Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wychnor Park Country Club Hotel Barton Under Needwood
Wychnor Park Country Club UK/Barton Under Needwood, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wychnor Park Country Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.