We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best that alton has to offer!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Warren

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Warren
The Dale | Battlesteads, Alton ST10 4BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
north yorkshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“The best that alton has to offer!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

i stayed here with friends last year and due to go back in a week. The owner Annette really is lovely, the hotel is impeccably clean, the service is great and you are made to feel right at home from the moment you get there, to the moment you leave.

I looked around last year for accomodation whilst staying in alton and they do vary every so slightly in price. On looking round some are nice, but here is second to none and there is nothing around the area tat could compare to this! Its spacious, the gardens are gorgeous and it really is like a little hideaway, but with that home from home feel all thrown into one.

To anyone visiting the area either for alton towers like it has been for me two years on the trot, or for business, seriously, you need to come here, its the best that there is... and coming from someone pretty hard to please, you will be nothing but chuffed by booking here!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Driffield
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

We have stayed here for 6 years now and can not fault the accommodation at all. The B&B is lovely and the service you get is amazing, you really are made to feel at home from the moment you get there, until the moment you leave. I am more than confident that I will be going here for many years to come, and that those years will be as good (it can't get better) as the years gone by. Perfect place to stay for anyone going to alton towers, or even those who want a nice little quiet few days away.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

We stayed here for one night following a trip to Alton Towers and were not disappointed. The rooms are spacious and meticulously clean with all the little touches that go to making your stay an enjoyable one. There was fresh milk provided in the little fridge in our room and a great selection of tea, coffee, hot chocolate and biscuits too. We found an ironing board in the cupboard and one thing I particularly liked was a DVD player in our room with a large selection of all the current films for us to choose from in the main reception. After a good recommendation for dinner in a local pub which we were able to walk to a film just finished our evening to perfection. Now then, breakfast.. do not leave The Warren without eating one of their great big fry ups, it was delicious and the setting to eat this fantastic feast was lovely, the breakfast room looks out over the gardens and the beautiful surrounding countryside. Annette made us extremely welcome and our only disappointment was that we were not staying another night!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2010

My girlfriend and I have just returned from a one night stay (wish we had booked two nights) at The Warren. Less than 5 minutes from Alton Towers the B&B is in a perfect location if your visiting the park as we did. I have to say this was one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. Lovely, clean, bright rooms with amazing vews out over the valleys. Nice touches such as flat screen TV in the room and a good selection of DVD's to watch made us feel very much at home, as did the warm welcome we recieved on arrival.

Superb, can not fault it!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2010

Myself and girlfriend stayed here for two nights whilst visiting Alton Towers . We usually stay at Heywood Hall, but they were fully booked so decided to take a chance on The Warren. Not disappointed in the slightest, and was even better than expected.
Its unfair to draw parallels to Heywood Hall as they both offer a very different service with Heywood being more of a self catering B&B while The Warren being more traditional.
Anyways, the location was within easy walking distance from Alton Village. The host Annette was lovely and couldn’t do enough for us. The rooms were spotless and large, with the most comfy bed i have slept in for a long long long time! Much needed after the drive from Belfast! Breakfast was very good with a large selection of items and a prefect cooked breakfast.
The resident Princess (cat!) Holly was lovely and made the place very homely.
All in all a very enjoyable stay that i cant recommend enough. Thanks Annette!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I went to alton towers with my other half and some friends and we stayed at THE WARREN over night.. it was such a lovely welcoming B&B.. The owners are so friendly and happy to help.. the rooms were so lovely and very very clean i feel that this should be more 5* then 4*.
The breakfast was very nice and a nice veriety to choose from.. i would defo recomend this B&B to anyone that wants a lovely, relaxing, place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Recently stayed here for 2 nights to visit Alton Towers. After seeing all the fanastic reviews I didnt possibly think that it could live up to them, but after my visit I can most definitely say that it does. Theres a great view, a warm atmosphere, only a short walk to the centre of alton, well furnished rooms and, most importantly, incredibly friendly service. Even though I usually stay in hotels, this combination of good value and rustic charm is something that many hotels cant really deliver. Very highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Warren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warren

Address: The Dale | Battlesteads, Alton ST10 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Warren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Warren to your Saves list