We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't find a fault” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Warren

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Warren
Save Saved
You added The Warren to your Saves list
The Dale | Battlesteads, Alton ST10 4BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Couldn't find a fault”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the warren for 1 night after visiting alton towers and couldn't honestly find 1 complaint, the breakfast was amazing everything you could imagine, beds where extremely comfy and in a great location for alton towers.
I would definitely recommend to all.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
69
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a brilliant 2 nights stay. Annette and Keith where brilliant, we arrived quite late and Annette told us where to go for something to eat. only 5 minutes drive from Alton Towers which is what we were looking for. Breakfast was brilliant and the rooms were lovely and clean.

Would defo go back next year. Would recommend this to everybody

Thanks Again xx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic two night stay at The Warren. Everything about our stay was perfect. The room was really nice, spacious and very very clean. (The bed was the comfiest we have ever slept in)

Both Annette and Keith were very welcoming, so friendly, breakfast was lovely and we were made to feel at home from the minute we arrived.

As The Warren is only a 5 minute drive from Alton Towers we were in a perfect location. We also visited Thornbury Hall for a meal which was fantastic.

Overall our stay at The Warren was perfect and I would recommend this B & B to anyone.

Will defiantly be going back to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Top B&B
Me and the missus stayed here the night before we went to Alton towers, ok, it wasn't cheap but it wasn't expensive.
It was the small thoughts, little choccy bars in the tea cups, towels, linen and the room were immaculately clean! the bed was one of the comfiest beds i had ever slept in!
Breakfast was yummy and we polished off everything! The breakfast room has fantastic views of the countryside.
It shows when someone loves what they do! and the lady who runs the B&B really does.
Best B&B i have ever stayed in.

Happy Holidays

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at The Warren last weekend for a 2 nights weekend away to celebrate his 25th bday as we visited Alton Towers.
The atmosphere and the warm welcome was great.
The room was lovely, spacious, super clean and so cosy...with everything we needed for our stay.

Breakfast was delicious and fresh and again the breakfast room spotless clean.

We had a lovely time and the perfect stay made everything even better! 5 mins drive to Alton Towers as well, made it the perfect location for us.

There is a ASDA in Cheadale (I think thats how its spelled :p) which is less than 10 mins drive in case you need anything. Also the town centre is lovely and there is a very nice Tapas restaurant...we didnt eat there because it was fully booked but we found the old good Weatherspoon and had a lovely steak there :-)

I do reccomend you book your restaurant if you want to dine out somewhere nice as we left it last minute and it was all fully booked. :-)

We were both so happy and we are definitely planning to go back!!!

Enjoy your stay :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I stayed here for one night en route from Sheffield to the south and I can't find fault with anything. My large room was beautifully presented and spotlessly clean, with a sofa, TV & DVD, tea-making facilities (the fresh jug of milk in the fridge was a lovely touch which made my morning cuppa even better) and an amazingly clean bathroom was to die for. Lovely comfy bed too! The separate door from my, room with direct access to the front garden was so relaxing whenever I wanted to pop out for a cigarette, it was like staying in my own home. The breakfast was lovely and relaxing, the cooked breakfast was scrummy in addition to cereal, fruit and juice etc., eaten in a first floor light and airy room with views over the countryside. Annette and Keith are so welcoming and friendly and Annette gave me advice regarding a walk the next day - she genuinely wanted me to enjoy myself - real value for money, will definitely recommend The Warren.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two ground floor rooms with direct access to the garden - so relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

we stayed in The Warren from 24th August-27th August 2012 and all i can say is none of us wanted to come home, having a teenage son and a teenage niece i thought it would be hard to please everyone but they loved it just as much as we did.

on arrival we wer greeted by Annette who instantly made us feel welcome and showed us to our rooms.

The rooms were spacious,absolutely immaculate with everything you could possibly need even a dvd player and a selection of dvds to choose from.

The whole family absolutely loved the breakfasts, full english, cereal, yoghurts and fresh fruit juice......i have to add a little comment about the fact that i am vegan and Annette made an extra special effort to go out and get me vegetarian food and soya milk and spread, nothing was a bother to her and she was the perfect host( even took my niece to the local shop) the views from the breakfast room were amazing as were the gardens.

This is perfect if your planning a trip to Alton Towers as its only a 10 minute drive, after a long day it was lovely to be going back to somewhere so stunning.

We are already planning our next visit as we loved it so much, we would like to say a HUGE thankyou to Annette and her Husband for making us feel so welcome and our bank holiday weekend so perfect!!!!!!!

Cant wait to see you again
love Julie(moore), Dave, Danielle & Scott Phinn x

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Warren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warren

Address: The Dale | Battlesteads, Alton ST10 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Warren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.