We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Warren

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Warren
The Dale | Battlesteads, Alton ST10 4BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Alton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Four of us stayed here over two nights recently as we were going to Alton Towers for the closing weekend. We arrived later than planned on Friday night, and from the moment we arrived the owners made us feel at home.

The place is spotless, and the rooms were lovely. We especially appreciated all the thoughtful little touches in each room - DVD player (with a selection of DVDs available), a local guide to the area, tea and coffee facilities (with fresh milk jug in the fridge) - even an umbrella, which is obviously very handy with the British weather!

The breakfast was fantastic, and the two of us that are veggies really enjoyed the vegetarian cooked breakfast.

I would definitely recommend The Warren, and will most certainly be going back if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed here for one night on Halloween. Because we'd be at Alton Towers for Scarefest until 9pm, we'd dropped by The Warren before we went into the park to collect the key and find out about breakfast/our room etc, which the owners were more than happy to facilitate.

After a long day in the theme park it was wonderful to drive for literally about four or five mins to The Warren and relax in a lovely room - as others have mentioned very clean and comfortable and fresh milk in the fridge, tv/dvd player.

The breakfast the following morning was wonderful and set us up for anither day in the park! We'd definitely recommend staying here if you are in the area or visiting Alton Towers. Annette and Keith are very friendly and helpful. They even didn't tell us off when we accidentally left with the room key (because we're idiots!!) All in all a great place to stay, would recommend!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend during an October half term road trip. If you are visiting Alton Towers, I urge you to stay here. The room was so absolutely spotless, as in, it felt like we were the first people to ever stay there. Breakfast was a real treat, really high quality food being served. Room had a DVD player and a fridge - ideal for us. Within walking distance of several nice country pubs serving good food. The owners Annette and Keith are very friendly and so helpful. We really felt it was so reasonably priced for what we got, we would have happily paid more, and will certainly be back! Again, stay here if you are going to Alton Towers or are just in the area, you just can't go wrong.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisol, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We checked in late as we'd spent the day in Birmingham on the way up. The owners phoned mid-afternoon to check when we were planning to arrive so that they could be ready to greet us. This attention to detail continued when we arrived. Fresh milk was put in our room fridge for a cup of tea. The owners asked where we were having dinner and lent us a torch to negotiate the lanes. They provided us with the pub's number so we could book a table.
The en-suite was spotless and we struggled to tell if it was well cleaned or brand new! The breakfast was lovely and the owners went out of their way to offer us their insider knowledge of the best rides and routes round Alton Towers.
W warm and friendly B&B with great views and no faults. I recommend staying here highly!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

I saw this bed and breakfast after reading great reviews on trip advisor. I was not disappointed. Great location for Alton towers, could have walked but after a day round the park thought it was a bit too far. Service was excellent and the rooms were big and very clean. Nothing was too much trouble. Great value and would definitely stay again

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the warren and it was lovely. We had a lovely warm welcome by annette and keith the owners Who made sure we had everything we needed and plenty of info and recommendations of places to go. Rooms are gorgeous, comfortable and very cosy. We had biscuits, chocolate and fresh milk available with tea's coffee and hot chocolate. Annette's breakfasts go down a treat to! Definately worth staying here. We'll definately be back next year when we go to alton towers. Lovely pub food close by to.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Had a brilliant stay here and would definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area - in particualr to visitors of Alton towers as it is literally 4 - 5 mins drive away. Annette & Keith(the owners) were absolutely lovely and so helpful. They even recommended places to eat, drink and shop. My friends and I were so impressed with the little touches provided - including fresh milk,choice of hot drinks, toiletries and even an extensive DVD collection! The place was clean, spacious and modern and we made to feel at home. We were free to come and go as we pleased and were even allowed to eat takeaways and bring beers to our room. I've never seen such a wide range of options for breakfast and all the food was fab! The whole stay was excellent value for money - nothing was too much for Annette and Keith and we are very much looking forward to returning next year with all of our friends!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Warren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Warren

Address: The Dale | Battlesteads, Alton ST10 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Warren, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Warren to your Saves list