We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight to see the fireworks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bank House

Save Saved
You added Bank House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bank House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Smithy Bank, Alton ST10 4AD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 day discount
Ranked #1 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
Leafield, null, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Overnight to see the fireworks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight to watch the fireworks at Alton Towers, changing our booking at the last minute. They were really accommodating and made us feel welcome. We stayed in the Flintstones room which was wacky but very comfortable and clean. The breakfast was amazing with my daughter opting for pancakes and maple syrup and us going for the full Staffordshire breakfast. It was hot and delicious and set us up really well for a great day. Would stay there again!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your kind review on tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked your room. We try to go the extra mile at Bank House and appreciate your comments.
Hope we see you again for a 2nd visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    338
    24
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
137
108
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We arrived at 9pm greeted with a warmth and kindness. All of the rooms were themed and as a family of 5 were accommodated in the Flinstones Room the beds were very comfortable. Every detail of our stay was thought through. Breakfast choices were fantastic and well cooked. I would recommend anyone to stay there and it is a 5 minute drive to and from Alton Towers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for reviewing Bank House on trip advisor and for your very kind comments.
So pleased that you enjoyed staying with us in the Flintstones room and found us to be friendly and accomodating.
Do hope we see you for a second visit, we promise the same warm greeting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Who would ever think anything could top Alton Towers for the grandchildren ?
Well the Flintstones room did it for the girls and ourselves. Lynne was most welcoming and looked after us so well with that very special attention to detail. Breakfast was super with plenty of choice. We will certanly return next school holidays. Thanks for a great experence

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review the Bank House.
We're delighted that your grandchildren liked the Flintstones room. Its a very popular choice with families, in fact we should probably create another to meet the demand.
It would be really nice to see you for a second visit and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

A warm welcome awaits you at the Bank House by Lynn and her team. Nothing is to much trouble. It was our son's 10th Birthday and banners, balloons and a card greeted his arrival at breakfast. A perfect start to his Birthday. I must add that breakfast was delicious and plentiful. We stayed in the Flintstone room, which was a bit of fun. We had plenty of room for a family, it was spotlessly clean and we all slept well.The Bank House is only a few minutes drive from Alton Towers. We would definitely stay here again and will highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind and generous review on tripadvisor.
We're pleased that your son appreciated the breakfast table decoration and that you found The Flintstones room to be fun.
As new owners we strive to deliver a service that is helpful and enjoyable. We obviously hit the mark with you and your family, thanks again.
Look forward to welcoming you back for a second visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

I booked this B and B for my husband and sons annual trip to Alton Towers for Scarefest. Having somewhere ton stay enabled them to make the most of the late opening and enjoy the mazes. From making our initial inquiry to departure we found the owners to be extremely helpful and friendly. I was given number of options of place to eat and the owner gave me full details of what kind of meals, venue and prices of each and she was totally professional in that she would not give a particular recommendation just relevant information. My son and husband had the flintstones room which they felt was perfectly adequate and clean. The breakfasts are huge and I have never known anything to beat my sons enormous appetite. They did fing car park a bit on the tight side. But not a problem as the owner ran out to stop the traffic whilst they reversed off. We would definitely recommend and use them again. Outstanding service from very friendly, genuine people - a rarity.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely comments on tripadvisor.
We take pride in making our guests feel welcome and its very rewarding when we receive such kind reviews. We believe that to go the 'extra mile' costs nothing and our guests are usually pleased,as you were. Once again, thank you.
Hopefully we'll see you for a second visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perthshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed at The Bank House this time round on our annual trip to Alton Towers.. and we were not disappointed.. friendly welcome from Lynn, very clean & rooms to accomodate the individual needs. Son & I in a room, so we had the 'punk' room, 2 single beds. room & bathroom were as mentioned very clean. Breakfast was huge !!! could have kept me goin all day at alton towers.. no complaints with the breakfast. free wifi.. a bar in The Bank House & shop just over the road & very central in Alton.. "The old oak tree" does exist.... ha ha
Absolutely no complaints about the Bank House.. will deffo use it again.
Thank you for everything.. maybe next yr i will get the french maid (hint hint) ha ha...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Bank House and the staff.
We are pleased to have been included in your annual trip plans this year and look forward to welcoming you back. Your chocolate macaroons were very well received by staff members a big thank you for that.
As for a personal maid..........we may not be able to fix that for you but we can take you to the chained oak tree to prove it's not a myth.
We're really pleased you liked your themed room and the way it was presented and look forward to seeing you again, perhaps you'll try another room next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We have just stayed at this hotel. We booked 3 rooms for 10 of us going to alton towers which is 5 minutes drive. Flintstones room for 5 guys gave us a laugh.well presented clean and really comfortable beds. Running late Lynn the owner waited up till we arrived and gave us the best welcome ever and was able to get us a meal at the local resturant at 10pm. Rooms where amazing so comfortable and plently of space. Breakfast choice in the morning couldn't complain made fresh for when you order and planty to choose from. Will definetly be back at this hotel. So relaxed really made our weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn P, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time effort to review bank House on tripadvisor with lovely comments.
I'm glad your party enjoyed their stay at Bank House and that I was able to help you acquire a late meal (probably because there were 10 of you I hasten to add and not because I have super powers)
However I was pleased to be of help and delighted that you liked our rooms and enjoyed your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House

Address: Smithy Bank, Alton ST10 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bank House 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Bed and Breakfast 1 mile from Alton Towers Resort. Bank House is located in the heart of Alton village and within walking distance of all of the pubs which serve food. All rooms are themed and en-suite with freesat tv/dvd, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryers. Four poster rooms have whirlpool baths. Free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Hotel Alton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bank House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.