We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B - Highly recommend it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bank House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bank House to your Saves list
Bank House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Smithy Bank, Alton ST10 4AD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Alton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great B&B - Highly recommend it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. The staff were very nice and friendly. We had a night in the Marilyn Monroe room and another in the Ska/Two tone room. The rooms are great!! The breakfast was lovely too.

The location was perfect for Alton Towers Park, less than 5 minutes in the car.

Alton is a beautiful village with a couple of nice pubs. The Bulls Head in particular, had a lovely restaurant, a stones throw from the B&B.

We'll certainly go back if visiting the theme park again.

Room Tip: The Marilyn Monroe room was brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardbudd, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience two of our themed rooms. Glad that you enjoyed breakfast too. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    31
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
168
126
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

A couple of Friends and I stayed at the Bank house Hotel for three nights and we absolutely LOVED it to bits...My friends stayed in Boudoir room which was so beautiful (my friend even LOVED it, as she tends to be a very picky person, when it comes to hotels and cleaness) and I stayed at the Two tone room which was very modern but sooooo homey at the same time.. It was our first time away from home and we loved it soo much that we was so sad to go :-( ... Staff are so lovely and they really care about you.. and BREAKFAST is yummmmmyyyy :-P especially the pancakes :-) ...WE LOVED IT. thank you so much for making us feel so welcomed and caring for us. We were in shock how KIND you all were.. wish all hotels were like yours :-(.. THANK YOU. Nathalie, Azima and Nurul xxx

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardbudd, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Wow, thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review. We are really pleased that your first trip away from home was so enjoyable and that you loved the breakfast. I will pass your comments onto our staff who will be happy that they helped make your stay so enjoyable. I do hope to see you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Bank House b&b. Great location, a mile from Alton Towers. Perfect after a long day! The rooms lived up to expectations and the breakfast in the morning was yummy! Also great pub down the road with lovely restaurant!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardbudd, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you for a great review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your room and breakfast and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Had an excellent stay here would strongly recommend it to anyone, brilliant location for anyone who is going to Alton towers felt very welcome as soon as we arrived!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardbudd, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, June 16, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Only stayed for one night as we were going to alton towers the next day with a group of friends but what can i say but epic!!

After what seemed like a journey from hell what took over five hours due to engineering works and accidents on most the motorways we arrived very deflated but where greated by a ever so friendly man at reception that showed us to are room and as soon as he opened the door to room 7 the flintstone room it all just seemed worth while.

The room was spotless and had everything you could ask for and instantly uplifted our spirits. We took a short walk to the local pub about one min walk away and had a very nice meal then walked back to retire for the night.

The breakfast in the morning was equally as great as are stay with everything you could have asked for fruit,cooked to order food and much more... but the best part was the staff that even said goodbye and have a great day at the door as we were leaving.

I would highly recommend staying here to anyone that asks

Thanks for a lovely stay guys :-)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardbudd, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, June 13, 2011
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay in the Flintstones room and that breakfast was good too. I will pass your comments onto all of the staff who will be happy that they made your stay enjoyable too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

What a fantastic place, each room has a theme and the owners have done a brilliant job making the rooms a real experience to remember. We want to go back and stay in every room...ideally placed for Alton Towers, very welcoming friendly owners, lovely breakfast and one of the best meals we've ever had just up the road in the local pub (The Bulls Head). Great for couples or families (the kids will LOVE the family rooms) Book it, you wont be disappointed - dont be put off by the outside/main road...the inside more than makes up for it ...enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardbudd, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great review. We are really pleased that you liked your room and were able to comment on our other themed rooms too. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

We stayed here after looking for affordable accomodation close to Alton Towers.
Bank House was easy to find and helpfully situated at the bus stop! All staff were pleasant, cheerful, welcoming and eager to help and make sure our stay was as good as possible.
The room was lovely and homely but fun with the themes.
I will definately stay here again if i'm lucky enough to visit Alton Towers again, i highly recommend staying at bank house.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richardbudd, Owner at Bank House, responded to this review, June 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. Really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bank House

Address: Smithy Bank, Alton ST10 4AD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bank House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4* Bed and Breakfast 1 mile from Alton Towers Resort. Bank House is located in the heart of Alton village and within walking distance of all of the pubs which serve food. All rooms are themed and en-suite with freesat tv/dvd, tea/coffee making facilities and hairdryers. Four poster rooms have whirlpool baths. Free on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bank House Hotel Alton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bank House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.