We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute booking..perfect for the purpose” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alverton Motel

Alverton Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alverton Motel
Save
You added Alverton Motel to your Saves list
Alverton, Denstone Lane, Alton ST10 4AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Alton B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Last minute booking..perfect for the purpose”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We booked a night at The Weeping Ash at the last minute for myself and 2 teenage girls. We arrived quite late as the weather was awful, but the owner met us at reception and gave a very friendly welcome. We were shown to our 2 bedroom cottage which was very spacious and airy. The decor is quite dated and mis-matched, but perfectly clean and warm which is what was important to us. There were 2 good sized bedrooms each with a flat screen tv, bathroom with plenty of towels and toiletries, a lounge and a large kitchen/breakfast bar area. We were provided with tea/coffee etc and lovely ingredients for a continental breakfast. For the price we paid, I was very pleased and content with our accommodation and the service we received. Being an accommodation provider myself, I do tend to have high expectations, however this met and exceeded my expectations based on the price we paid. Thank you for a lovely stay and we will be back in the Summer. For a similar price we would have had to share a small room at any of the local B&Bs, but here we had the space to relax and have our own privacy.

Room Tip: We have cottage 3, which had 2 bedrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had stayed here before in 2005. Quite a difference since then. Very warm welcome from the owner. We were informed that the motel was changing due to retirement thus the reason for only having 3 apartments and a continental breakfast. Our acommodation was satisfactory to our needs. Heating was on for us arriving and fresh ample foods were already in the fridge including milk. Tv in all rooms with freeview box. Good range of breads and cereals available were also included for breakfast. Cleanliness was 100% and plenty of towels and blankets were available. Our apartment consisted of 2 bedrooms upstairs, one with a double bed and the other with 2 double beds. Tea, coffee, sugar etc are also supplied. On our second day we wandered around the area and on returning to our apartment, supplies were replenished and towels replaced. Of course there is no doubt there are people looking for some bad points to our stay however there were none. Very warm welcome, approachable owners and plent of information for things to do. Further plans are also in place to alter the exterior to improve parking as most of the remaining old apartments are being demolished. We will definetly return next year.

Room Tip: If you find the living room a little dull at night, you may want to bring down one of the bedside la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick on Tweed, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had previously stayed at the alverton motel a few years ago so when i was visiting alton towers again i decided to stay again. Its under a new name now and they only have 3 apartments but in my opinion it was much better. Me and my friend payed £25 each for the night and it is certainly value for money. We had a two storey,two bedroom apartment with living room.bathroom and kitchen.It was very well kept and clean. The fridge was stocked with breakfast things aswell. In the room is a welcome book with a list of nearby reastraunts a nd takeaways. We just went to the pub reastraunt which was a twom inuite walk from hotel. The customer servive was fantastiv and its only a mile to alton towers itself. Was a great place to stay and i will deffinatly be useing this motel again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This place is very good value for money and an excellent location for visiting Alton towers. I found it to be clean and comfortable. It is a little strange in that some of the outbuildings are not used and seem deserted. The tennis courts are overgrown. There is a games room with lights in that dont work?!? All very odd. But I would still stay again if ever visiting Alton towers.
Nice selection for breakfast and very friendly owner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We found this hotel to be in a great location for Alton towers and the staff friendly. We also had breakfast and that was lovely.

I found The hotel quite dated throughout. We stayed in one of the outside chalet type rooms, I found it was really old fashioned, a bit too oldy for me. The shower had one setting only and it was way too hot for me. My husband had stayed here quite a few times but said that it used to be nicer. To be fair though our room was very clean and tidy.

I don't think I'd go back as it was just too old for me but an older person or couple probably would not find it much of a problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We needed somewhere to stay during the scarefest at Alton Towers during Halloween, and the Alton Towers Hotel was fully booked, even though there was 1 room available for £325 a night at Alton Towers (yes, £325 a night).

So, we decided to do a search of local accommodation, and found the Alverton Motel. We did check trip advisor before going, and one thing that stood out was the bar was never open even though it is advertised as open late.

This really, was the only bugbear we had, because there is nothing really around the motel for when you get back, so the bar being open would have been nice.

But no, the building is just switched off, pitch black, and not a chance in hell's chance of the bar being open on the two nights we stayed there.

Alverton, we are not picky people, but come on - sort that out, or remove the sign at least, it stops people from having ammunition against you, especially on websites like this, where I can imagine people just write reviews for fun, and pick up on silly things, etc.

If i was a hotel owner, I would not give clients such ammunition to counter-attack with, especially these days, when review websites are everywhere.

Breakfast was nice, the rooms were fine, everything was ok really, but just open the bar. You make create extra revenue, and be in line with the signs you have about the bar being open.

One thing I will say, is that we left Alton Towers late one night, not eaten so tried to find a chipshop, or similar for some food. You will not find food ANYWHERE around the area of Alton, so make sure you eat before leaving Alton Towers, or you will go hungry. Apparently, the nearest chipshop we were told was 8 miles away.

Ok overall, but could do with updating a few points.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

We went as a group of four and booked two rooms at the alverton manor this october for the alton towers scarefest... Luckily we only stayed the friday night as we were staying in the alton towers hotel on the saturday. Being the end of October we all know this country already starts getting pretty cold, unfortunately there was no heating in the rooms and not a drop of hot water! Getting out of bed in a freezing cold room and stepping into a freezing cold shower is not a great experience... We could hear the screams between the two rooms and we hadn't even reached scarefest yet! The grounds are beautiful, which you have a great view of when eating breakfast and it is close to alton towers which is handy but its such a shame they have let the place get so run down! The beds are lumpy and the decor is something even your gran would cringe at! The carpets were horrible and not really something you wanted to risk walking across with bare feet. They charge the same as any other bed and breakfast so they should be offering the same service... We were glad to leave and get a hot shower and comfy bed

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alverton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alverton Motel

Address: Alverton, Denstone Lane, Alton ST10 4AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Alverton Hotel Alton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alverton Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.