We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab location, lovely apartment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alverton Motel

Alverton Motel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alverton Motel
Save
You added Alverton Motel to your Saves list
Alverton, Denstone Lane, Alton ST10 4AX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Alton B&B and Inns
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fab location, lovely apartment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

We found this on the internet when searching for accommodation close to Alton Towers. The location was great, the breakfast cooked perfectly, beds comfortable, apartment for 4 of us a lovely size. TVs, kettle etc worked and a great playroom for my boys to entertain themselves in.
We are returning this year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    15
    9
    8
    6
See reviews for
23
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Although we found the accomodation adequate, we were a little surprised when the fully licenced bar was well stocked but never open. It is advertised on the web page and a notice in the room states, open until 11pm, but when we asked if it was to be opened we were told that it would not be and had to go out of the premises for the evening.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

My girlfriend & I wanted to stay somewhere close to Alton Towers so that we didn't have to travel far. The Alverton Motel was a convenient place as it was just over a mile away from Alton Towers. Despite that we stayed for one night, they were very friendly and very understanding too as we checked in very late. The apartment was clean and cozy and we both liked it very much. If we're going to Alton Towers again for the weekend, we are definitely coming back to the Alverton Motel for accommodation. Thank you very much for having us.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

I have stayed at the Alverton every year for the past five years now and it has always been brilliant!
The motel is in a great location as it is within two miles of Alton Towers and is really easy to find.
The staff have always been extremely kind and pleasant at any time of the day. Although there is no evening meal supplied at the hotel, the staff are very knowledgeable of the surrounding areas and will be able to point you in the right direction for any kind of meal that you fancy.
The rooms have always been immaculate, they are comfortable and it's great that you are given your own little chalet as you feel you can come and go as you please.
The breakfast is brilliant, the full English is always superbly cooked and it is clear that the Alverton have taken on board customer feedback as this year they had a choice of six or seven cereals as well as the toast and jam.
Overall the Alverton Motel is a great place to stay, it is in a perfect location, the breakfast is brilliant, the rooms are clean, tidy and fit for purpose and the staff are friendly and inviting.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

I had an 'apartment' booked for me by a work colleague, who didn't know the place, just went on location.

Greeted by a rank, musty, old smell on walking in. Only had to stay the night, so thought I could probably put up with it.

Checked the bed (worried it might be dirty) and low and behold, beneath the thin (albeit clean) top sheet there was a woodlice pottering across the (unwashed, hairy and rather horrible) undersheet. Lots of human hair, grubby etc. Rank.

I upped and left, finding a really nice (clean!) little B+B 200yds up the road for the same price.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Have stayed here b4 and never had any problems. Yes the decor is outdated but rooms are usually comfortable and fit for purpose.

We arrived quite late in the day so decided to just unpack our cases and go out and grab some dinner from the pub over the road.

we arrived back at our room at approx. 10 pm and all wanted a nice hot shower. This is where our problems began. No hot water or pressure from shower. No problem as notice says reception open till 11pm i will go and let them know. Not a soul in site. No problem notice on wall in room says if nobody at reception knock at main house. So I did, for about 15 minutes waiting for a reply. Eventually when someone did answer i was THROWN a set of keys for the room next door, which calmly i said that was a little rude. The reply i received was a stern SOD OFF!!!!! and door slammed in my face. I couldnt believe i had been spoken to like that, i was in total shock. About 10.30 now and myself and my family tired from the long travel had to repack and move to another apartment. Yippee we now had hot water for a shower (oh after we had cleaned the hairs left over in the bottom on the shower tray).
This recently moved into apartment had hot water for a shower but No hot water in the basin. We did let reception know the next morning,but nothing was done about it and didnt really want to be insulted again so we put up with it for the 2 nights we stayed. The breakfast is lovely and the lady serving was extremely nice, its a shame the owner doesnt care as much because motel is ideal for alton towers and the outer look is lovely. People will still stay here for its location and look which is a shame because maybe if the motel had to work a little harder to attract PAYING customers the owners manners may improve.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

We arrived to find that the room had no toilet rolls. We had to change rooms after just one night as ours was infested with ants. The complimentary milk was 3 months out of date. The hotel is 2 miles from resort (even although the hotel claims it is only 1 mile away). The route is definetly not walkable - no predestrian footpath and very fast roads.

Friendly service, great breakfast. Nice pub across the road do good food.

Cheap and cheerful.

But wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: 2 miles from Alton Towers
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alverton Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alverton Motel

Address: Alverton, Denstone Lane, Alton ST10 4AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Alverton Hotel Alton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alverton Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.