We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alton Towers Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alton Towers Hotel to your Saves list
Alton Towers Hotel
Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was our first time stay at the hotel and it was ok, the family enjoyed it very much. I was a little worried after reading some of the negative reviews but overall it was fine. We stayed two nights and survived!!

Where to begin... Arrival was fine and the VIP parking is directly next to the hotel so no issue there. Checking in was fine too but nobody helped us really with our many suit cases... This trip to Alton towers was just a pits stop part of a bigger holiday so we did have many things with us. In Disney land Paris many staff was ready to help with bags etc.. so that was a very noticeable difference.

We rented the Splish splash room because the kids wanted to sleep in the yellow submarine! You can tell that the room was a little dated and decor quite old but the important thing is that the kids loved it. I personally thought that the bathroom was really good and actually quite big with a fancy spa bath and spa power shower.

Restaurant was ok for breakfast and dinner but it is quite expensive so be prepared! The hotel is quite expensive for what it is but I suppose this is the price you need to pay if you want to have early entrance to the park etc...

One thing that I really didn't like is that our splish splash room was on the 4th floor but we could hear the evening entertainment as if it was next door. This evening show went on until I think 10.30 or 11pm. This is terrible when you have young kids (mummy and daddy too) who are all very tired after a long day out and desperate for sleep to get ready for the next day.... I don't really know which is the better room to avoid this loud noise.

Overall, the stay was great and I suppose I could see the kids twisting our arms to come again. It is very expensive to stay here and eat here so be aware.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    578
    543
    324
    133
    87
See reviews for
813
285
5
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

it was lovely to relax after hard day in the park, clean rooms helpful staff, breakfast was nice and plentiful however dinner was a little pricey for what was on offer,, overall excellent stay but next time we will stay in the splash landings hotel because of the pool :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We are staying here for our summer vacation kids are enjoying the entertainment in the hotel & the park it's the resorts hotel little expensive but on the other hand very convenient going to the park with the mono train hotel it's self is nice & clean staff are also polite the breakfast is also very good something for everyone we had a lovely time sure will visit again in the near future!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

The whole hotel is clean & friendly & has a WOW factor. We had a travel cot in our room which made the room very small. The hair dryer didn't work... This is our only negative comment. The food is lovely - we ate in the Secret Garden & the entertainment was fine at night. We will stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Over rated,very expensive,room was dirty and the food is awful.
Breakfast -bacon was cold-eggs and black pudding not cooked-just mass produced food and very poor quality.
The bedroom wasn't clean even when the cleaner had just been.
Rip off prices as they have you captured.
Merlin group need to get their act together as the park it self is good but the hotels leave a lit to be desired.
Seemed to have only young staff which is obviously because they are cheap,but they need quality experienced staff who know about customer care,and what cleanliness is.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I stayed at the resort hotel (not splash landings) with two children aged 6 and 9 was v impressed from minute we got here nothing was too much trouble for the staff v helpful we ate at the secret garden where 1 child eats free before 630pm quite expensive but v good food. Buffet breakfast we got down at 730 and a long queue but moved quick and wonderful fresh hot and cold buffet style with so much we didnt even feel hungry til mid afternoon! Waterpark although busy fantastic for kids. I found the room a bit dated but beds comfy bathroom clean loo paper v value quality tho! Evening entertainment was a bit loud but finished by 1045 would def go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salisbury
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

On first impressions the hotels seemed ok but very busy. ONce we go to our room we were very disappointed. It smelt damp and looked unclean. Carpet dirty, mould around the shower.We were 3 adults and a 12 year old and had a double bed, a single and a pull out bed.The worst of it was location of the room, it was room 101 the first one as you go through to the rooms and shared a wall with the bar/ entertainment! I called reception who said it would finish around 22:15, i thought it was karaoke but infact they informed me it was a singer, the walls are paper thin and we could hear everything, people going back to their rooms, music, doors banging and lots of loud people! The mattress had seen better days and wasn't comfortable either.Would i stay here again ....no. On a good note the breakfast is good, but get there early, about 07:30 or you will have to queue for ages to get in wasting your time in the park.We have stayed at the splash resort and had a great time previously so may stay there if we visit again.

Room Tip: Opt for splash hotel rather than Alton Towers hotel, if not ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alton Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alton Towers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.