We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room for improvement” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alton Towers Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alton Towers Hotel
Save
You added Alton Towers Hotel to your Saves list
Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here over the Halloween period. Had a fantastic deal at £99 for one night accom with breakfast, entrance into the park itself and 4 fast tracks. Overall, the hotel is beautiful. Fabulous rooms with very comfy beds. The room as was the rest of the hotel absolutely spotless. Fantastic entertainment in the bar, and mildly surprised how relatively inexpensive the drinks were for a hotel bar. Access to the park is a lovely walk through the woodlands at back of hotel which brings you out by Nemesis attraction. It takes about 10 minutes, or there is a monorail outside the sister hotel Splash Landings. The minus points were, long queue in the morning for breakfast, breakfast foods not being replenished so lengthy wait. It was pandemonium in there. Also, at checkin on night before we were told to collect our park tickets from reception the following morning, only to be told at reception on collection that we had to go to Splash Landings. This was, after waiting in a lengthy queue of people checking out. I understand that it was a Sunday night, however, it was half term, and the hotel was not staffed adequately at reception for the amount of guests in there. I wouldnt want to be staying there during the summer months thats for sure. Overall, a lovely hotel and fab time enjoyed by all.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,845 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    601
    350
    144
    93
See reviews for
927
313
5
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atherstone, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We have just arrived back from alton towers hotel for my daughters 2nd birthday .We only booked it a few days ago because they have a fab offer for B&B AND FREE ENTRY to waterpark for only £59 for 2 adults and a toddler !!!! The hotel and staff were amazing and although a little dissapointed that the splash landings hotel was closed and we had to stay in the alton towers hotel it was so lovely ,the room was really a good size ,very clean and had lovely views. The staff were so welcoming and friendly and nothing was to much trouble ! even at breakfast all the staff gave our daughter a cupcake with a candle and sang happy birthday xxx so so lovely xI can highly reccomend this to any one with small children ,the hotel and splash landings waterpark was so clean and quiet it was lovely x

Room Tip: look for the offers
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

I have been fortunate enough to visit the two Alton Towers hotels numerous times and the original 'Alton Towers Hotel' remains the better of the two in my opinion.

The hotel has a relatively classy feel to it, with lots of hidden magical touches from the the magic doorbell (try pressing it as you walk in) and the special steps for the little ones at reception to the giant chair and beautiful garden. It is a shame some basic hotel services like a porter seem not to be available any more however.

The rooms were well kept and clean but are still in need of refurbishment, particularly the bathroom which is on par with the bathroom of an average Travelodge aside from the fact it is a bit bigger. I like that a basic room service drinks and snacks menu was available although it would have been better on a menu (as it used to be) than on the tv remote control stand.

Breakfast and our evening meal were great, the staff in the restaurants were definitely a highlight of the trip. They went out of their way to get a menu item requested by my son too (sorbet). I haven't tried the new Emperor Grill restaurant yet but I'm glad to see that the resort have improved the food offerings greatly. (there is also a new ice cream parlor and coffee bar at Splash Landings hotel).

Another good stay overall, but I can't emphasize enough the need to modernise some of the rooms!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Recently stayed in both 'The Sleepover room' and 'The Chocolate room'. I was a little dubious about the rooms from what I had seen on the internet, but let me assure you the virtual tours and photos do not do the rooms justice, particularly 'The Sleepover room'.
Easy to check in and pleasant reception staff, though we weren't informed about the VIP parking for the themed rooms and had to park a little way from the lobby, with a lot of cases to carry!
We decided not to have a meal, as it is very pricey indeed, though we did indulge in a few cocktails on arrival.
Firstly, 'The Sleepover room' is fantastic: dance floor, glitter ball, gigantic SMEG fridge stocked with cola and snacks. Music plays every time you enter the bathroom or the actual suite itself!
Fantastic makeup counter for 6, with little spa bags, hair dryer and GHD straighteners. Right next to the lift, so easy to transfer your luggage! There are two plasma screens and you can collect games from reception to play on the Wii and X box that are built into the dance floor area. Very comfy sleeping area, with soft furnishings etc
'The Chocolate room' really does offer unlimited chocolate. When we arrived we found smarties begin dispensed from the wall, chocolate hidden in hollowed out books and a chestful of quality street. They also have a sound box in the room that emits noises you expect to hear when on a train. Unfortunately, this decided to kick in at 3am and we could not turn it off!
My only quibble with this room were the bunk beds and their bedding, or rather lack of! My friend and I only had a very thin, scratchy bed spread, so we were shivering most of the night. The other beds had lovely big, soft duvets.
Breakfast was a little crammed, but fantastic array of food and buffet style, so you can eat quickly or leisurely, depending on your preferences.
All in all a very good stay and would be happy to return.

Room Tip: Try and splurge for a themed room, particularly if you are with a group of friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

After visiting Port Aventura for Halloween last year staying at home was no longer a real option! So I shelled out just over £370 to go to Alton Towers on Halloween to give the kids a bit of spooky fun. Having 2 autistic boys and a toddler we didn't opt for a 'scare room' and decided to stay in the slightly quieter Alton Towers hotel (£30 more than splash landings - why?).
A few days prior to the trip I fell and fractured my wrist do no rides for mum - but never mind I thought there will be plenty of 'spooktastic fun' to be had.
However I was to be sorely dissapointed. There was little going on that reminded you this was Halloween, unless you count the singers at night being dressed up as zombies and a few plastic. Pumpkins and props here and there. At port aventura there'd been shows all over the place, real pumpkins and the evening Halloween spectacular on the lake - at alton to do anything like that you had to pay an additional £9 per person to go in the 'scare maze'. - seriously are there tickets not expensive enough???. Also one of the big attractions advertised was to ride '13 after dark'. Which might have been fun for the kids had it been working....
Now for the hotel, since my last stay it's definately been downgraded. The last stay in the AT hotel we got goody bags for the kids, there was a lovely teddy in the room, your tv had a welcome on it when you went in and all the toiletries were imperial leather. Nowadays all of those little luxuries are gone although they do try and make animals from towels... The rooms are starting to look a bit tired these days as well and could do with a revamp in my opinion. Despite my request I had no travel cot so toddler slept with me and daddy. The room was quite clean though.
On arrival we tried to book for dinner before 6.30pm to take advantage of the 'kids eat free' offer but there were no tables so that was a non starter, however breakfast was good and plentiful with lots of options. Overall the stay was 'ok' just not £370 worth! One thing that did annoy though - at 9am a cleaner let herself in - we weren't dressed so I complained - pretty poor service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is gorgeous and the service was great. The grounds are beautiful especially with some Halloween decorations. The room was really clean with plenty of room, my only criticism is that the bathroom needs to be refurbished do that it is the same standard as the room. The food in the Secret Restaurant was great, massive portions although a little expensive.
Will definitely be back soon! The kids loved it and so did the adults!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

As you would expect from a hotel next to the park, it is very expensive. Unless you get a special deal, the hotel will be far pricier than similar quality hotels further away, but in my opinion it is worth it.

You can enjoy the park so much more knowing you are just a few steps away from your hotel, and there is enough entertainment and different dining options at both hotels that kids and adults will be easily entertained.

I have not stayed at Splash Landings hotel, just the normal hotel each time, but it has always been clean, and the garden area with fountain is beautiful at night to sit and have a drink around.

I have eaten at both the Grilllhouse (fantastic food, top recommendation for adult groups) and the Secret Garden. The latter looks like any standard restaurant and we expected standard pub food, but were pleasantly surprised by a very high quality and tasty meal, so apologies for the assumption!

The only downside I would have is, though friendly, the staff have not been very helpful at any of our stays; to the point that I had to walk back to our hotel from the water park (in soaking wet gear, freezing) to get money because we had been mislead about paying on our room, and they offered absolutely no assistance in the matter, essentially receiving a shrug of the shoulders - hence the 1 star I'm giving to service as I have been bothered enough to file a full complaint about it.

Don't let the poor service deter from a lovely hotel with a great location though, the easiest way to sum up our visit is we will be going back again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alton
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter
Premier Inn Uttoxeter
#2 of 2 in Uttoxeter
4.0 of 5 stars 478 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
11.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Peakstones Inn, Piggery and Friends Restaurant
12.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
12.6 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke on Trent-Hanley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alton Towers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alton Towers Hotel

Address: Alton Towers, Alton ST10 4DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique hotel is themed around the incredible explorer Sir Algenon, who has made the Alton Towers Hotel his home. There are plenty of fun and quirky features to discover, including his amazing flying ship which has crash landed right in the middle of the Hotel. Wake up in our explorer-themed bedrooms, ready for your next adventure! Our Secret Garden restaurant offers a delicious brasserie style menu, and the evening entertainment is perfect for all ages.Whichever hotel you are staying in at the Alton Towers Resort, you can choose to eat in any of the restaurants and drink at any of the bars. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alton Hotel Tower

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alton Towers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.