We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat in Alton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Malthouse B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Malthouse B&B
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Malthouse Road, Alton ST10 4AG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Alton B&B and Inns
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Birthday treat in Alton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here as 2 couples aged 24-29 for my birthday in the middle of October, arriving late on in the evening we managed to find The Malthouse quite easily despite it being dark.

We were greeted on arrival by one of the owners who was v.friendly and professional, explaining all that we needed to know throughout our stay and asking if we had any questions. We were each shown to our rooms which were excellent - ours had the four poster and was of a decent size with a large bathroom and a walk-in shower, excellent!

Breakfast the next day was as you would expect of a full English but with locally sourced stuff. It was served piping hot and was excellent! There was also a choice of fruit / cereal etc. so plenty to choose from.

Plenty of pubs in the area and most of them serving real ale. The Royal is just a 2min walk down the hill from The Malthouse and serves food up until 9pm which is handy if you arrive late in the evening such as ourselves. We went the first night and it was spot on. The second night we went for a meal at The Bulls Head Inn which was fantastic and relatively cheap. They have a small restaurant at the rear which seats about 40 people so you may need to book in advance although we didn't.

The Malthouse is only a short drive from Alton Towers Resort (less than 10mins) so we thought it would be rude not to go. we got the Towers 2 ticket for an extra day (£5) as we were there during 'ScareFest'. I would recommend the 'Zombies! Scare zone' and 'Nemesis Sub-Terra' the latter of which is at the park all year round!

One thing I will say is that I have been to Alton a few times and not always to go to Alton Towers - I always get the impression that although the village and the surrounding area benefits greatly from the nearby theme park, some of the locals don't seem to like to acknowledge it's presence (this is just a personal observation). As we were there late at night we could hear noise from the theme park, which I understand is a bone of contention amongst some of the locals. No noise to be heard from our fantastic room at The Malthouse of course.

All in all we had a fab time in Alton. It's a brilliant place to go even if you're not visiting 'the place what shall be named'.

Would I go to Alton again? Yes
Would I stay at The Malthouse again? Definately!

I hope I've covered everything and hope this helps!

Room Tip: One of the rooms has a four poster (can't remember the number)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
A late response sorry! A lovely review with lots of information for other to consider when visiting Alton. Thank you for your time and trouble.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    11
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
45
46
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at The Malthouse during half term for two nights. Everything was perfect, could not think of a single thing that could be improved. Breakfast was outstanding. Perfect base for Alton Towers. Ate both evenings in the Old Bulls Head, delicious food and they were very happy to accomodate our party of ten!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
A Fantastic review thank you so much. A lovely little family group that we very much hope come to stay with us again. Bye for now!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The Malthouse made our Alton Towers trip rock! Fantastic breakfasts, lovely bedrooms and really nice hosts - I'd go as far to say that they made our trip. Will be going back again, what can I say, there are B & Bs and then there's places like 'The Malthouse'

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Well what can we say! A fabulous review from fantastic people that we can't wait to see again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I've just returned from a wonderful two night stay at the Malthouse. The hotel itself is an ideal base for Alton Towers and exploring the nearby Moorlands. The rooms are cosy with good amenities, and the staff go out of their way to help you; nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast service is superb, with many different items on the menu to choose from. Everyone is catered for.

If you’re after that certain hotel with all the personal touches, then look no further.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Thanks for adding such a lovely review. We try really hard to make sure that there is a good breakfast selection, it's nice to know that this is appreciated. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed over the weekend of 19th & 20th October, warm welcome from host on arrival. Stayed in the "small double" room 6 which was perfect for what we wanted, if was being picky the only thing would be that tv was too high but thats being pernickity..Great filling breakfast every morning gets your day off to a flyer before going up to the park which is a 5minute drive away. Few places to eat at night which are minutes walk from the malthouse. Will be returning to Alton Towers again and 100% be staying at the malthouse again !!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We're always pleased to welcome first timers to The Malthouse. It's good to know that this lovely couple enjoyed their visit with us and we're delighted to know that they'll be coming back to stay with us next time they go to Alton Towers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Really enjoyed our overnight stay here.
Was warm, Cosy and friendly place to stay.
Breakfast was very nice and service was excellent.
Was nice seeing all wildlife outside and birds on feeders.

Would and hopefully will be staying again one day soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thanks for adding your review, glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We have a pretty big garden and spend lots of time outside trying to keep everything tidy. We're really lucky to live in the countryside and have a lot of fun watching the wildlife that visits our garden. It's nice to know that our guests have enjoyed watching the birds feeding. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights while we visited Alton towers. The rooms are lovely and spacious and clean! A lovely full breakfast is available which keeps you going for the whole day. Well worth the money. Will be back again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themalthouse, Owner at The Malthouse B&B, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thanks for adding your review, it's very much appreciated. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Malthouse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Malthouse B&B

Address: Malthouse Road, Alton ST10 4AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Alton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Alton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Malthouse B&B 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One mile from Alton Towers. Friendly 17th century home located in the village of Alton providing B&B. Comfortable en-suite accommodation with TV, tea/coffee tray, free WiFi access, alarm clock, hairdryer and wall fan. Hearty English, vegetarian, vegan, gluten free and dairy free breakfasts. Private car park free. Double, twin, family, four poster and wheelchair accessible bedrooms. Celebration? Ask for details of flowers, balloons, chocolates etc. '4 Star rating - 5 star hospitality'. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Malthouse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Malthouse B&B to your Saves list