We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture postcard pretty, quality, well located and super value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oak Inn

Royal Oak Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Oak Inn to your Saves list
Royal Oak Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   | Exmoor National Park, Winsford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7JE , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Winsford B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Picture postcard pretty, quality, well located and super value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Just wish they would realise that having a table directly outside the hotel for smokers is a pain for anybody in their best rooms as you could easily join in the conversations late into the night. Room 3 is badly affected. Otherwise pretty much perfect for a getaway.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    18
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
52
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

This is a traditional English inn located in a quiet rural location in the Exmoor national park. Very pretty from the outside and the inside is the same traditional style, clean, tidy and well looked after.

Good points: lovely location. Cosy bar. Food was good. The family running the inn were friendly and attentive. My room, a twin, was of a good size with a large bathroom. Good real ale. Car parking on site (no charge) and also on lane outside. No traffic noise. Dogs welcomed. iPod player in the bedroom.

Less good points: none really. If I was being picky, it would have been nice if the bathroom had a shelf for toiletries.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

While visiting Exmoor recently I dropped in to the Royal Oak to see if I could book a table for dinner with my partner that evening. There were two people on the reception desk who didn't even bother to greet me - there was just a chilly silence - and when I enquired if we could use a current '2-for-1' voucher which mentioned the Royal Oak by name they were extremely dismissive and snooty, initially claiming the voucher was out of date (it wasn't) and then claiming that it had been erroneously published (possibly - but is that my 'fault' to be treated in that way). There wasn't a smile or even a simple "we're sorry abut that, it must have been printed in error" and I was left with the distinct impression that they really couldn't care less whether I booked a table and had no people skills whatsoever. Maybe this is only a place to stay if you are from the city, into shooting pheasant and loaded with cash - otherwise you don't even merit a smile. As a frequent visitor to Exmoor, I can say it is now well off my list of places to eat at - and friends who live on Exmoor have confirmed my impression, saying they have experienced the same lack of warmth verging on hostility. So sad for such a pretty little Inn.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We spent only one night here, just a birthday getaway with dinner, but it was really lovely and we would highly recommend it. We had room 4 - which has a dressing room, huge bathroom and seating area and a romantic four poster bed which was huge and very comfortable.
Dinner was delicious and we thought well priced, and it is apparent that the family who now run this, having been there for about a year, have really made a difference. The whole place gleamed, service was generally efficient and friendly and if you like whiskey they seem to offer several dozen special brands. This delightful, picturesque thatched pub in a gorgeous village is a real treat, and Exmoor is so beautiful - do come and stay here!

Room Tip: room 4 is best for a romantic break
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

My husband and I were recommended this Hotel but could never have guessed that the experience would have been so good. We stayed for two nights mid week in July and were treated to a beautiful large room with four poster bed and plenty of room for the third member of our family, our bouncy black labrador. This Hotel was advertised as being dog friendly but the welcome given to our lab well exceeded expectations - the owners and staff could not have been more welcoming including allowing us to have breakfast in the bar area to accommodate our dog! First impressions of this establishment is of a chocolate box country inn however it gets better once inside with a fantastically well stocked bar area with a huge fireplace and a choice of eating space either in the bar area or within the dedicated dining room. The choice of food was exhaustive and on both nights we had something different for each course and could not find fault with anything - beautifully cooked and presented and reasonably priced. We have promised ourselves a return visit, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Room 5 is huge, ideal if you travel with a large dog. Although the view is over the car park, you s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Royal Oak over the jubilee weekend . We thought that the rooms were clean and comfortable ,the staff polite and helpful and the food good value for money. We would not hesitate in recommending a stay at the Royal Oak and will return in the future

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Ever since seeing a photograph of this chocolate box country inn I have wanted to stay there - and when the opportunity arose en-route to Cornwall earlier this year we booked in. The Inn is situated in the sleepy hamlet of Winsford in the Exmoor National Park and is just so pretty to feast your eyes on.
We were warmly welcomed, and shown to our lovely 4 poster room with en-suite facilities. Everything was top quality in terms of décor and furnishing - a really beautiful room.
We took dinner in the bar and were spoilt for choice from a vast menu - our food was imaginative, beautifully prepared, hot and absolutely divine!
Breakfast the next morning (included in the price) was cooked to order and again hot and tasty.
If you're looking for a short break in this beautiful part of England, we would highly recommend it, and can't wait to go back.
We were also really pleased to find that they accept dogs in the rooms and the bar - so when our new Labrador arrives, he'll be coming with us!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Oak Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Inn

Address: | Exmoor National Park, Winsford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7JE , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Winsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Winsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Oak Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is set in the beautiful village of Winsford, in the heart of the Exmoor National Park. The Royal Oak offers relaxed comfort, inspiring food and wine, local ales, and warm, exceptional service. Come to the Royal Oak for a weekend retreat, a candle lit dinner, a well earned sportsman's lunch or simply a quiet pint of Exmoor Ale and bag of pork scratchings. However you arrive and however long you stay, we look forward to seeing you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Oak Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Hotel Winsford
Royal Oak Inn Winsford, Exmoor National Park, UK

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oak Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.