We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive disappointment, tatty and expensive.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holbrook House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Holbrook House Hotel to your Saves list
Holbrook House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wincanton BA9 8BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wincanton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Massive disappointment, tatty and expensive.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This hotel and spa is shabby and in need of some serious care and attention to justify the prices that are charged for accommodation and use of the facilities.

We booked to stay here last minute due to a booking mix up at another hotel. We booked for room only, and in paying for the basic room only option understood that we may not be staying in one of the nicest hotel rooms, although the booking process did not make it clear that there would be other room options of the type that we were allocated. On arrival we were shown around the back to what would have been stable block. This area is effectively located in a car park, there are no pretty gardens at the front and the area opens on to a yard / bin type area. The room itself was very warm and we were informed by the staff that unfortunately there were no windows in this room (!) and that our best option in the hot weather would be to leave the door open. Inside there were stains on the wall and ceiling, multiple holes / dents in the wall, there were bits (of glued on paper?) falling off the wardrobe, the bathroom door didn’t lock, there was dust / sand in the shower, there was no fridge in the room, one of the chairs had stains on the seat and was extremely rickety to the point I was worried to sit on it (I am not heavy at 65kg). The walls between rooms are extremely thin. Furniture was squeezed in so tightly that you couldn’t open the door of the bedside table next to the bed. The bed heads were made from cheap ply wood with no padding (very uncomfortable) and which were loosely screwed on to the bed which meant that everyone movement I made resulted in it banging against the wall (reference paper thin walls- apologies to my neighbour). The spa was thankfully only across a lawn area which was very convenient. However, the ‘spa’ was also very tired and in need of some attention. The showers were dirty, the Jacuzzi was tepid at best, there we holes in the ceiling of the swimming pool area, the steam room was lacking in steam and smelt like drains. The sauna was hot but very small. I paid £85 to stay, thankfully, only one night. The standard of accommodation is what I would have expected from a travel lodge but at twice the price. I would not recommend this hotel and warn against being fooled by the website which vastly misrepresents the actual quality of this hotel, unless perhaps you stay in the main hotel and aren’t bothered about the spa.

Room Tip: Rooms in stable block are horrible - if considering staying, the main house is probably the only opt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Janet L,

I was very disappointed to read your review on Trip Advisor and I am sorry that your stay was not up to our normal standards. We do appreciate all feedback, both negative and positive, and are doing our best to rectify all the points you raise.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    101
    38
    32
    26
See reviews for
44
218
8
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My wife and i had the most relaxing time at this hotel everything about it, the way it was run the staff and managment where always at hand and very friendly.
the suroundings both in and around the hotel where amazing.oh and i have to mention the food
excellent great chefs no how to cook.
My final words are, we are comming back thats for sure as we have found a little gem and well worth a visit.

mr and mrs cotgrave.

Room Tip: we stayed in the wessex room it as 21 bedrooms and all have a name of there own our bedroom was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Kevin814,

That you for your kind comments after your stay with us last month. I have passed them on to the rest of the staff and we look forward to welcoming you to Holbrook again soon.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The only thing going for this hotel are the views. The room we were allocated was VERY small and dated. Staff were not helpful when we asked to be moved to a larger more cooler room (stayed over night on one of the hottest days) and only attempted to find some sort of air conditioning for us after agreeing that it was the next room in the hotel to be renovated after many complaints from previous guests. The bar ran out of some alcoholic beverages half way through the night - not good when you have well over 70 guests for an event. Was glad to leave the next morning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear L201,

Thank you for posting your comments on Trip Advisor. On the occasion of your stay with us the rooms were not allocated by the hotel but by the guests who organised the event so I'm afraid that the decision to accommodate you in one our smaller rooms was out of our hands.

Regarding the alcohol, I'm sorry but we did run out of a particular bottled beer but there were plenty of alternatives available for the guests that night.

We do have an ongoing refurbishment programme at the hotel and can only apologise, once again, if your stay did not meet your expectations.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We recently stayed at Holbrook for a couple nights and were amazed at the high quality of the food and customer service. We found all the staff attentive from the minute we made the booking until settling the bill and getting advice on where to visit in the area. Whilst I appreciate the decor is slightly dated, the hotel is in a wonderful setting and I would not hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Thendaragirls,

I was delighted to see your comments after your recent stay with us and the staff team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Holbrook in the near future.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

How disappointing to find the staff were more interested in themselves rather than the guests, it seemed obvious that they were students doing pocket money jobs for the weekend. Being offered one drink in the space of 3 hours in temperatures touching 30C I'm surprised so many people remained standing. I am sure this venue is great when the hotel has a maximum of half a dozen guests to cater for, but for me and mine it was a HUGE disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear JET157,

I was sorry to hear that your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. As you can see from the majority of our reviews most of our guests are very complimentary of our staff here at Holbrook and I can only apologise that on this occasion we did not reach the high standard to which we aspire.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Booking online is always a gamble but from the moment we drove up the driveway we knew we had found a gem of a hotel. The staff were friendly, professional and attentive to our requests throughout our three night stay. Due to the fantastic weather we dined on the terrace for both the evening meal and breakfast overlooking the beautiful grounds this was a real treat. The food was wonderful and full marks for the presentation and flavors.
We relaxed throughout our stay and with the Spa facilities we didn't feel the need to leave the hotel grounds.
We would recommend Holbrook House Hotel and will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear PeterG,

I am delighted that you found Holbrook and that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a real bonus that we managed to have so many evenings of wonderful weather so that you could have dinner and breakfast on the terrace, making the most of the beautiful view.

We do hope that you come and see us again soon.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here on a weekend break, with plans to go to Longleat safari park. We booked a standard room but were kindly upgraded to the superior room (the receptionist said we were the only couple staying with them at the time, so may as well have the luxury room! Very kind!). Dated décor as mentioned but I think it fits with the period features of the house well. Four poster bed, large bathroom with roll top bath. Use of the spa. Breakfast was lovely too. Great location ,would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darrenmcginley, General Manager at Holbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Foot88,

Thank you for taking the time to place your review on Trip Advisor and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards
Darren McGinley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holbrook House Hotel

Address: Wincanton BA9 8BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wincanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holbrook House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holbrook House is a traditional Country House Hotel, set in seventeen acres of beautiful parkland and gardens. Boasting an award winning restaurant, luxury accommodation and a fully equipped spa, Holbrook is the perfect place for a relaxing break. All located within easy reach of the A303 and just outside the racing town of Wincanton in Somerset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Holbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holbrook Hotel Wincanton
Holbrook House Hotel Wincanton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holbrook House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.