We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shirt Break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hunters Lodge Inn to your Saves list
Hunters Lodge Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Leigh Common, Wincanton BA9 8LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Wincanton B&B and Inns
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Shirt Break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Just returned from a three night stay, a huge thank you to the staff at Hunters Lodge Inn all of you were so welcoming and friendly. The accommodation was clean and very well equipped, a good selection available on the breakfast menu. No pressure to have your evening meal their, we chose to one night and it was excellent. This is in no way a criticism but this accommodation is not for you if you are looking for a quaint country pub, but it is head and shoulders above the well known brands. Location is easy to find, and in good range for historical and themed venues. The goats were a huge source of amusement too, whilst sat having a drink in the garden.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    61
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
61
101
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We broke our journey here on the way to Dittisham, we had a fabulous room, actually we were given a suite, 1 huge double bed which was sooo soft and comfortable with fluffy pillows, a job to get out of in the morning.... with 2 singles in the room as well. Bathroom en suite, very good size, beautifully decorated with 2 sinks and a shower in a bath.Very good breakfast, with such helpful smiley staff.
This visit was so good that we booked again on our return journey, and of course we asked for the same room. Peaceful, nice view over fields from our windows.
On our return journey we had a meal in the evening which was delicious.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite, so reasonably priced and so very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Arrived early at the Hunters Lodge (about 10am) as I needed to do some work. I was greeted with a smile and told that my room would be ready at about 1pm but no problem with me sitting in the bar and working, as WiFi is available throughout the bar & accommodation. I was asked if i wanted any tea or coffee, as breakfast was still being served so I could help myself free of charge. This set the scene for a really relaxing and enjoyable two night break.
Throughout my stay the friendly staff could not do enough to make me feel welcome, comfortable and special.
The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable.
On the downside, I was disappointed with a couple of my meals; my chicken wings (on the ribs and wings platter) were overdone and the scampi tails were not really scampi tails but more like those found in the freezer at Iceland. All other meals were first class, but it did just take the edge off what was otherwise a perfect break.
Sitting on the verandah having a beer and looing out over the Somerset Coutryside makes me feel English all over again!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridgewells
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Can not recommended this hotel and there food enough lovely staff and so helpful the for was really good home cooked will defo be coming back views are amazing and don't want to say cheap because standards are far from that but exacellent value for money

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were greated by staff who were very welcoming when we stayed here for one night on the way to Cornwall. A family of five our room was clean and comfortable. The restaurant was great and had a good choice of meals and breakfast was excellent. We have stayed at other local places on previous years but will be booking here again in future and hope to visit for longer next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night travelling back from cornwall. It is a very convenient place to stay as it is literally 1 minute off of the A303.

On arrival they made us feel very welcome and as the weather was nice we went out onto the veranda whilst we had a drink. The kids were able to play in the vast play area and see the goats which they absolutely loved.

Our large family suite was very well equipped and clean. It had a large double bed and 2 singles and the beds were so comfortable!! Our room looked over the goats which the kids watched until bedtime. The food there is gorgeous and fully recommend the carvery.

We stayed in a travel lodge going to cornwall i so wish we had booked this going there instead, it topped off a thoroughly enjoyed holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

The Dorset Suite perfect for what we needed, large family room with double bed and two single beds. We ate in the restaurant one night and plates were all empty - Really good meal! Even though weather wasn't great, the children were able to enjoy the great play area and look at animals. Ideal location as we were visiting family nearby and just next to A303. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Inn

Address: Leigh Common, Wincanton BA9 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hunters Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Hotel Wincanton
Hunters Lodge Inn Wincanton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunters Lodge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.