We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hunters Lodge Inn to your Saves list
Hunters Lodge Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Leigh Common, Wincanton BA9 8LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Wincanton B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Found this hotel just googling hotels near Longleat and what a lucky find it was. Massive room big bathroom, plenty of hot water. Bed was comfy and room was nice and clean great to have a big tv in the room. Free WIFI always welcome but you won't get a good phone signal which made for a pleasant evening for me but frustrating for my 16 year old son. The pub was nice open fire background music and no sport. The food was very good and reasonably priced. I would imagine it would be a great stay in summer, children's play park, animals and a big beer garden. I would recommend the Hunter lodge as a great place to stay cheaper than a travelodge and a 100 times better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    61
    14
    2
    2
See reviews for
61
101
7
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, Dorset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

GREAT PLACE! I've been here on several occasions and haven't been disappointed!

Brilliant, helpful, friendly staff very welcoming.

Nice little pub, busy with a great atmosphere! Perfect for the family :)

Great food, for a brilliant price! Lots to choose from and the carvery is divine!

Cannot fault this place what so ever!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Having eaten here on numerous occasions we thought it would be a good idea to have a family meal here for 27 of us, booked in advance with meals preordered. We were disappointed when 2 of the meals received had undercooked chicken (cold and raw inside) and a burger with a raw middle. Also disappointing was the cleanliness of the glassware, dirty and smug marks on all glasses and jugs, and some cutlery, when on closer inspection we also found that dusting on the lower parts of the tables had gone amiss too. They ran out of glasses because no one had come round to collect the dirty ones and wash them! They have a very nice new zip wire in the play area but perhaps some investment into cleanliness and cooking facilities would have been money better spent. My family had travelled some considerable distance to be here for my birthday. We spent a lot of money that day, although all 3 uncooked meals were not charged for, perhaps I should have listened to my friend when I told her we were going there and she remarked 'o dear' and she had had an unsatisfactory meal there too.
It is such a shame and will make me think twice about going there again, to somewhere which used to be a superb eatery with delicious food and we have happily dropped in for a bite to eat at on numerous occasions with no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malbain, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am sorry you were not entirely satisfied with your meal here. I am fairly obsessive with the polishing of cutlery and glasses and don’t normally ever have a problem. I don’t know what happened on this occasion but will look into maintaining consistency.
I would like to point out that the chicken was not raw. A couple of wings had veins running down the bone which colours the meat around it. 2 of the 3 meals containing wings were completely finished (there was nothing left on the plates) and yet 1 was still refunded. I am sorry to say that yes the burger was slightly pink although there are no health implications as they are 100% beef.
I would like to add that 4 weeks ago we reopened the kitchen after being closed for a week for a 15k refurbishment. Investment in the kitchen is critical and hence why we were able to serve your table within 15mins. Lastly a letter of regret for the uncooked burger and explaining the veined chicken was sent to the organiser with complimentary vouchers to be distributed accordingly. I’m sorry you were not 100% satisfied but unfortunately we are only human and mistakes happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

After checking reviews on tripadvisor , booked a night at the Hunter Lodge Inn .
Huge, clean & well maintained room . Easy going , friendly and well organised team of people.
Those small touches parking , free wifi , lots of tea and biscuits , large TV , comfortable beds all count . Had both a lovely evening meal and fabulous full English Breakfast . True value for money . Totally recommend and hope to visit again soon .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I cannot praise this place enough,we stopped by on the off chance,and once again enjoyed another great meal,staff was friendly,the area where we sat was quite comfortable and the food was excellence itself,well done to you all at Hunters Lodge.

Room Tip: i cannot help you to choose a room,but as i live quite closeby in the next village,i know where the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
99 hotel reviews
Reviews in 123 cities Reviews in 123 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

From the rip roaring reviews I was expecting too much I think. The pub is just off the A303 and has a nice country feel to it. The hotel is a modern bolt on.
Pub-Nice cosy atmosphere with good ale and a pleasant menu with standards and a specials board. I thought the barman was the landlord but no, the place is a family owned place run by hired help apparently. Nice friendly chap though.
Hotel-(Room 1) Very friendly lady and check in but never saw her again. Our room was spacious and well appointed but there were two big let downs.
Firstly-That bed! They have tried too hard to make it comfortable and ruined it. It appears to be memory foam with a comfort topper and it makes it like sleeping on a marsh mallow. I almost got up in the night and dismantled it. One or the other folks not both, thats overkill!
Secondly-The wet room/bathroom whilst roomy was positively grubby. The grouting by the door was white but in the shower area it was brown. Thats just bad cleaning and a lack of bleach. The silicone arround the edge was mildew and as for the rim of the toilet..... This is a failing of the manangement to quality control the cleaning staff.
In retrospect It was just about OK but Im glad I did not pay more or stay longer.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malbain, Owner at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you for your review. I would like to apologise for the bathroom in your room. As mentioned in a previous review the 1 wet room we have does deteriate far quicker than the others. This is something we need to keep on top of. The room has had all the silicone replaced and grout cleaned. It is now back to looking its best. All our rooms have double thickness memory foam mattresses. Absolutely loved by most but not appreciated by some - that is why we put the topper in place. We only have the customers comfort in mind. We are an independently owned family run business. As you can appreciate I cannot be on the bar looking after customers for the 17 hours a day, 7 days a week we are open. There is a highly trained, hard working team hear who always have the customers satisfaction as their number one priority. Apologies again for the bathroom. I do have to admit it was not us at our best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We were delighted to find the Hunter's Lodge Inn.

We had expected a roadside travel lodge with a pub but found a really nice and comfortable place to stay the night close to the main road but far enough away to miss out on the traffic noise.  

Our room was impressively large... About twice the size of a standard hotel room with beautiful views over the Downs.

The food was either a belt-tightenly delicious carvery or a very robust and varied a la cart if pretty indulgent comfort food. Add a good range of reasonably priced beers and wines.

A lot of the people in the bar and the restaurant seems to live locally and be regulars and the staff were friendly and keen to ensure that customers were happy.

Breakfast was super and so... all in all... a really nice place to stop off two hours drive from London.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Inn

Address: Leigh Common, Wincanton BA9 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Lodge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hunters Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Hotel Wincanton
Hunters Lodge Inn Wincanton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunters Lodge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.