We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunters Lodge Inn

Save Saved
You added Hunters Lodge Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hunters Lodge Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Leigh Common, Wincanton BA9 8LD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Wincanton B&B and Inns
London
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

The Hunter's Lodge Inn is situated just off the A303 near Wincanton. A good halfway point between London and the West Country. The building itself is very pretty and the car park is adjacent and large enough for all.
I stayed here in early January 2012, arriving on a cold and blustery day, I was very pleased to feel the warmth as I walked in. I was given room number 5 in the lodge of the adjoining building. It took only a few seconds walk from the Bar/Restaurant to the lodge. Automatic sensors turned the lights on and off as I walked all the way to my room. The room was very nice, high quality furniture, memory foam bed, 42" flat screen TV, plenty of room for my case, and plenty of hangers for my clothes. Tea & Coffee, and even bottles of water were all complimentary ! The toilet and shower room was fantastic, beautiful tiling, a heated towel rail that actually worked, and worked brilliantly, and a really hot and powerful shower. One of the nicest rooms I have ever stayed in.
I headed down to the bar and liked the real ale served there, they had Butcombe and Palmers bitter, which was excellent. All the staff were nice, and the manager, called Malcolm was very welcoming and professional. There is free wi-fi Internet access in the bar and restaurant areas, I measured it at 2.1 mbps download, this speed may decrease if more people go on line.
I ordered the mixed grill, it was one of the best I have eaten. Absolutely top quality produce from a local butcher, first class salad and jacket potato. The food here is first class, you can see my photos of my mixed grill, and of my breakfast the following morning, which was equally as good. This is a place I am going to return to, and to think I paid only £35 for bed and breakfast, and less than £20 for my mixed grill and beers ! This is a place you must try if you travel the A303 as I do.

I recommend The Hunter's Lodge Inn 100% !


Richard Kaminski.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    53
    14
    1
    2
See reviews for
57
86
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
england
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Stayed for one night [monday 11th dec] whilst away on business. Great location just off A303, traditional country inn, with great rooms.
Room was a small double, although I only paid for a single @ £40 b and b, shower was great very powerful and large, bathroom was spacious and very clean with nice fluffy towels. Bed and linen where quality as was the room fittings.
Such great value
Pub, although tired furniture and carpets was very welcoming, service was very good and the food great.
Even though it was a Monday night approx 30 people where eating, which speaks for the quality of the food.
The place would be a great place to spend a few nights and explore the area.

Graeme

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Met some friends here for Sunday lunch, Great friendly service and a fantastic, all you can eat, carvery. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed here night before a client meeting and will be coming back ! Booked on late rooms and for the bargain price was expecting a hovel and I was so wrong !
Got her at half seven, nice and friendly bar which serves lovely home cooked food until 9pm. Great selection of drinks and a nice warm atmosphere .
Room - huge ! Clean and well presented with full wet room !
Being self employed, I try to stay for less than 50£ using late rooms etc , this is one of the nicest and friendliest places I have stayed and would recommend !
Thanks

Room Tip: Stay here !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Only had lunch, the staff were very warm and friendly, but the top of the wooden table was sticky and the carpet was so dirty I placed my handbag on a spare chair rather than on the floor.
The so called large breaded cod and chips was very disappointing, the fish was small and to me looked like the cheap pre-breaded frozen type, the mixed leaf garnish consisted mainly of onion. We did not bother having a dessert.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

We chose Hunters Lodge because it is close to Longleat and other attractions. Reviews were pretty good and noted it as family friendly. We were very happy with our stay. The location is really handy as we had hoped with about 10 miles through the lanes to Longleat. It would also be a handy stop off when travelling down the A303 which I would definitely use when on business.
The fact that the Inn is on site is a real plus and saves a lot of hassle. The food is good pub fare (including a kids menu) and the drink selection good with Ales available. The staff couldn't be nicer. They are very friendly and welcoming with a relaxed attitude towards children which in turn makes it relaxing for parents. If you are stopping off en route just be aware that the food stops at 9pm.
We had a very spacious family room with a double and two singles. Unlike most rooms we've stayed in, this still leaves plenty of room to move around without tripping over things. The free wifi works in the room which is helpful for looking up local information on the net and is necessary for this because there is no phone signal to speak of.
The bed was a foam type of good quality. It took a bit of getting used to but was comfy. THe pillows were nice which cannot often be said of hotels. The room was quiet and so even our son slept perfectly.
The animals in the back yard and the excellent play fort went down well too.
Breakfast is plentiful, fresh and tasty which sets you up nicely for the day.
The Hunters Lodge Inn has a nice feel to it and we would defintiely go back.
We got a reasonable rate which made it a wonderful package all round.

Room Tip: we booked a family room and couldn't have been happier with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllheli, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011 via mobile

A great cheap option. Large well appointed room. Food excellent and plentiful. Staff friendly and helpful. Would definitely use again

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hunters Lodge Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunters Lodge Inn

Address: Leigh Common, Wincanton BA9 8LD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Wincanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Wincanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hunters Lodge Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hunters Lodge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hunters Hotel Wincanton
Hunters Lodge Inn Wincanton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunters Lodge Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.