We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundial Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wheddon Cross
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sundial Guest House
Save
You added Sundial Guest House to your Saves list
Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park TA24 7DP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Real hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Old fashioned customer care is what drives the Sundial guest house and I cannot praise highly enough the hosts here. I returned with my wife over the May bank holiday weekend to see if it was possible that the incredible attention and service I had enjoyed last autumn could possibly be repeated.

We were in no way disappointed. Stephen and Margaret are outstanding proprietors, nothing is too much trouble and they are polite, friendly and very very helpful. That is to take nothing away from a very comfortable guest house with good food, an excellent bedroom, a lovely lounge for the use of guests and a bright and charming dining room. We were lucky to have very good weather and were able to enjoy the breathtaking views and the lovely garden too. Wheddon Cross is a very tranquil village in the heart of Exmoor, but there is a good Pub serving food opposite and a petrol station with a largish supermarket close by, so you are not isolated.

The attention to detail in the house makes every day seem special, fresh cut flowers, tasty local produce, everything clean and spotless. I have no doubt that we will return to enjoy this wonderful place again in the foreseeable future, and I cannot wait.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    2
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
15
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
man
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Sundial at the end of October. It was an exceptional experience. Stephen & Margaret are excellent hosts, their guest house is warm, welcoming and spotless. Nothing was too much trouble and they are constantly striving to improve their already superb facilities. Our en suite room was a good size with double aspect windows, and an excellent bathroom with wonderful shower. Lovely bedlinen and soft towels completed the picture.Breakfasts are superb with only the highest quality ingredients. Just to put the icing on the cake, Stephen & Margaret are a pair of foodies and offer, at extra cost, dinner. DON'T MISS IT.The food would put many a restaurant to shame. In short, don't hesitate. Book now before the regulars fill the place. We shall certainly be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very welcoming and helpful hosts who were very kind letting us check in slightly later and had some delicious cake and tea waiting - lovely after our drive. The room was spotless and very confortable, lovely feather duvet - gorgeous! Next morning the breakfast was yummy, and set us up for our day looking at ponies. There was a little car park but we could even get our long 4x4 in no problem. In all it was perfect and we will be back next time we visit Exmoor.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

While visiting Exmoor as a U.S. tourist I was taken to this location by friends from Surrey England that love this place. I found Sundial House B&B to be an excellent central location to tour Exmoor that has a wonderful host and hostess, great food, very clean rooms, superior service and it is an outstanding value. Seriously...what more could one say?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport newport
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just got back from annual walking trip to Exmoor and again stayed at Sundial. Why would we stay anywhere else on Exmoor? SPOTLESSLY CLEAN/GREAT BREAKFAST/STUNNING EVENING MEAL/GREAT HOSTS. Steve and Margaret have got it right. Took us down to Minehead to start a walk and the helped out a Dutch tourist who had run out of petrol. No surprise they are both great people.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Sundial B&B was recommended by friends who are pretty discerning when it comes to quality accommodation and sundial did not disappoint. Excellent in all aspects, welcoming hosts, very comfortable rooms with all the 'touches' that make a stay here memorable.
Margaret's 'confit du canard' was the best I've tasted outside of France. Everything's fresh and 'home made' . Don't miss the 'eating in' experience as you won't find better quality and presentation in many a 'good' restaurant.
Excellent value and a very good B&B experience.
Well done Steve and Margaret. You've got it right !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed at Sundial house late last August. It was our first night in the UK and found the B & B to be excellent. Had a wonderful meal there and a superb, healthy, beautifully cooked breakfast. thank you Stephen and Margaret - my husband and I and my cousin felt very comfortable here and very welcome. The beds were extremely comfortable. I highly recommend this B & B - especially for the food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sundial Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sundial Guest House

Address: Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park TA24 7DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Wheddon Cross
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Wheddon Cross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Sundial Guest House Wheddon Cross

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundial Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.