We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful haven in the middle of nowhere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ralegh's Cross Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watchet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ralegh's Cross Inn
Save
You added Ralegh's Cross Inn to your Saves list
Brendon Hill, Watchet, Exmoor National Park TA23 0LN , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Watchet B&B and Inns
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A peaceful haven in the middle of nowhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

A very warm welcome with lovely cheerful staff.Excellent food,certainly didn't go hungry especially at breakfast time. We wished our short break could have been longer.The whole experience gave us a warm glow in a very pretty Inn with beautiful surroundings.
WE SHALL BE BACK!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    59
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
37
80
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

WE have now made our 5th visit to this delightful Inn. The setting and general atmosphere is excellent. Since our last visit in December the menu has been improved with an even greater choice & the carvery is still one of the best We have tasted with a wide choice of excellently cooked vegetables.
The rooms areattractve & the new mattresses are so comfortable. Just one comment! Why is there no shower screen/curtain in the bathroom? It is impossible to keep the walls dry if one stands in the bath! Great to have 2 chairs in the bedroom.The staff are always very friendly & helpful & they always make one very welcome. We have recommnded this inn to several friends who are very plesed that we have done so.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcestershire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Booked for a large group (34 in total) after seeing Ralegh's Cross on the internet. We stayed three nights and were delighted with the package for dinner, bed and breakfast and the value for money. Self service breakfast, plenty to eat constantly refreshed.

We were out all day until after 8 but when we arrived back dinner orders were taken and we were all able to eat together and relax for the rest of the evening.

The rooms were comfortable and Karin and Andre looked after us really well and were keen to ensure that we enjoyed our stay.

A rural location with frills...

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yeovil
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I visit to eat about once a fortnight which has always been enjoyable until recently. The staff are now so officious that they are rude. The menu has had a small makeover but the oddest things have been put together. My favourite veg lasagne is now dry and lacking in sauce and my fish on friday was swimming in fat. the toilets are disgustins and need a good dust especially around the hand dryer which is full of hair yuk! Also if you are unlucky enough to have to sit on the sticky map table the radiator there is very similar to the toilet one. Such a shame as I have been going here regularly for 4 years and stayed for new year in 2008/2009. I am feeling less inclined to go now and am looking for an alternative

Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

We wanted an easy going, not too fussy place to stay where children could run wild outside in a safe environment, hearty food and somewhere in Somerset! The ground floor family room in an annex just 20 paces away from the reception door suited us and with our 5 yr old having a put-you-up bed (not too far to fall when he rolls out). Very firm and warm bed and no traffic noise. The outdoor fort was fab for all 3 kids who wanted to play on it rather than go off for the day. Breakfast was so good the children had 2 or 3 helpings of cereal, toast and FULL english and they did not snack during the morning! The adults evening menu was very good and tasty. Loved the trout! I was a bit disappointed with the childrens menu, usual sausages burger chips smiles peas etc though the spag bol was good, more vege/side salad please, just ask the parents, I suppose I could have asked for more greenery on the plate as well, to suit the child! The staff were very friendly and helpful and would chat away to us. We knew the area so the location was handy for us for visiting family and long lost friends as well as holidaying. Minehead approx 20mins. WSR Bishops Lydeard approx 17 mins, a stunning sunny drive over Exmoor and down into Lynmouth and Lynton about 1hr passing pretty and colourful villages, Dunster 15mins and so on. About half hour off M5 through Taunton.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Ralegh's Cross Inn attracts visitors back time and time again. Indeed my wife have visited 4 times over the last 3 years but compared to others who have reached double figures on their return trips, we are just beginners. What is it that keeps people returning. ? Situated on the edge of Exmoor it is a great place for folk who like the outdoor life ie walking/hiking but does cater for those who like to keep in touch with shops etc. Indeed cricket lovers stay at the Inn whilst taking in a bit of their favourite sport in Taunton the home of Somerste C.C. The staff are very welcoming and helpful and cannot do enough for you.
Wednesday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday eveing are carvery nights in the retaurant and Tuesday is steak night. Meals (both breakfast (full english) and dinners) are very good value for money but if we did have a complaint it was that "chef" had removed our favourite apple pie to be replaced by a Normandy apple tart. Sorry chef please bring back the apple pie.
Of course some folk may consider that the rooms are looking tired in their decor, especially the en suite bathrooms, that although are functional could do with sprucing up and yes the floor boards do "creak" (what do you expect from a building this old) but we and many people like us just keep returning to Ralegh's Cross Inn because the pros far outweigh the cons and we cannot all be wrong !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2010

Rooms much improved since our last stay (new mattresses and duvets), but still dirty and unhygenic carpets in bathroom. The hotel was very understaffed during our stay,
with long waits at the bar to place our food orders. All the staff are polite and efficient.
Despite the above, this is excellent value, and cannot be beaten - the price for dinner, bed and breakfast beats most bed and breakfast places. (This included a special
offer of 4 nights for the price of 3). Dogs are welcome with no petty restrictions.


.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ralegh's Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ralegh's Cross Inn

Address: Brendon Hill, Watchet, Exmoor National Park TA23 0LN , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Watchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Watchet
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Ralegh`s Cross Hotel Exmoor
Ralegh's Cross Inn Watchet, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ralegh's Cross Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.