We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It could have been good if only....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ralegh's Cross Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watchet
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ralegh's Cross Inn
Save
You added Ralegh's Cross Inn to your Saves list
Brendon Hill, Watchet, Exmoor National Park TA23 0LN , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 10 Watchet B&B and Inns
Tegryn, null, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It could have been good if only....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

It's a shame really. Maybe we were unlucky....
1. Waiter forgot our dinner order on the first night (well, there were at least 4 other people in the restaurant), resulting in 1.5 hour wait and then only after we reminded them we were waiting
2. Bed comfortable, but very very small double
3. No bath plug (surely should have been noticed by cleaner). No shower apart from hand held over bath, but no shower curtain so shower not an option.
4. Bath plug handed over, but now no hot water....wait for engineer.

It is a shame, the food was really very good (when it arrived) and the rooms nice enough, but too many silly errors resulted in a 'not sure' feeling about the place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    59
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
37
80
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okehampton
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed our usual 3 nights and again everything was brilliant Lost touch of the number of times we have stayed at Raleghs As usual the food was good the service was good the room clean and tidy and v comfortable bed What else could one look for The nature of the old property does not make it easy to maintain but work is ongoing to gradually refurbish Hope to be back again soon likeso many people we have met in recent years who, like us, are on their umpteenth visit Thanks again R X

Room Tip: Rooms bordering the car park are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here 30 years ago on our honeymoon. It was much a much smaller property then but the food was fantastic. Bit of nostalgia and we decided to go back. Mistake. The room was not clean at all. Windows dirty as were skirting boards etc. Bathroom was the worst. Chipped bath, and really quite dirty. The worst thing was a rolled up rubber anti slip mat. It was disgusting with mould and discolouration. It was smelly in the corridors.
The food was not good at all. The breakfast was greasy. All the crockery appeared to have a greasy film over it and I took several plates off the pile at breakfast before I found one without food residue baked on it.
We were due to stay 2 nights but decided it was safer to go home after one.
The staff were working hard in the bar/restaurant but there did not seem to be enough of them. I am assuming that the say may apply to the housekeeping staff which is why the rooms are do dirty. Fortunately it was not too busy in the bar so service was not too slow.
The whole place had an air of neglect about it. Lack of cleaning and attention to detail. It could be so much better. You will forgive a lot if the place is clean.
Sadly disappointed.

Room Tip: Keep on driving. We found others a bit further into Devon that were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

On our way home and passed this place and noticed that they were open for breakfast. What a breakfast - huge! For £7.95 you get two of everything and free flowing toast and tea or coffee. Not your cheap sausages or bacon either – proper butchers porkers and thick bacon! Great service and nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennington, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My husband, our sons and I spent a week at Ralegh's Cross Inn in July, during a very warm summer, and found the staff friendly, helpful, relaxed and the service was good. The food was quite delicious, with a fantastic carvery and a wonderful red onion and two cheeses pie. The rooms were comfortable. The surrounding countryside is spectacular and we had a very happy stay. It is well worth a visit. The statue in reception is quite lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I have stayed at Raleghs Cross several times over the last 10 years and dispite its change in ownership, it has always maintained a great service and very good food.
I have stayed there on my own over the weekend and have also taken my wife and we both agree that the tranquility surrounding the venue offers a great way to relax and escape from the hustle and bustle in London.
The food is very good with a wide range of different dishes and the carvery is the best I have come across anywhere. The service is always very friendly and helpful.
The accommodation is adequate and well maintained. They are renovating their guestrooms now and this will be even better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunton
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

A party of 15 of us, consisting of friends and family, had a fantastic carvery at the Raleghs Cross, today, we phoned on the last minute and we were advised by a staff member that they were fully booked, but we were told to wait on the phone for a minute or 2, so they could speak to the manager

We were very pleased that they could fit us in, I must admit on our arrival the place was heaving, then again we had been warned that it was busy

We waited a good 20 minutes to get to the carvery, but it was absolutely worth it, there was a great selection of vegetables.

We had 2 vegetarians, in our party and they are usually very difficult to please, but they walked away very happy.

We had some lovely desserts, again, it took a little while to come, it was worth the wait.

A big thanks to the management for fitting us in on the last minute, we did try 2 other venues, but we are not sorry that we visited your pub!!

Well done

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ralegh's Cross Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ralegh's Cross Inn

Address: Brendon Hill, Watchet, Exmoor National Park TA23 0LN , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Watchet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Watchet
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Ralegh`s Cross Hotel Exmoor
Ralegh's Cross Inn Watchet, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ralegh's Cross Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.