We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay in a Beautiful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ston Easton Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ston Easton Park Hotel to your Saves list
Ston Easton Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ston Easton, Ston Easton BA3 4DF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ston Easton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Calabasas, CA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay in a Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Absolutely loved everything about our stay in this hotel. The staff in every faction were very friendly and extremely helpful in giving us options on what a family is to do in Bath (and surrounding areas). The whole atmosphere is very authentic having been a manor in the 1700s, especially with the creaky steps all around and the dated pictures that cover every wall. Our room was beautiful and very comfortable, and our morning coffee and tea was lovely. I would love to come back here again some day. Say hi to Oscar the house dog for us!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Ston Easton Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Ston Easton Park, your comments will be passed on to the whole team included Oscar. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    88
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
48
278
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

My Son and Daughter in Law chose this hotel to formalise their union under British law in a civil marriage, having previously married in a wonderful Hindu ceremony in Kathmandu, Nepal in February
This was not a hotel that we were familiar with although having lived in the area previously and naturally were concerned as to what we might expect. I can honestly say that our concerns were soon set aside!
The quality of service we received pre-celebration and during the celebration and during our stay at the hotel could not have been bettered.
The arrangements for the function were carried out by Anna and Kat, the Events Co-ordinators,who dealt with everything down to the minute detail. These young ladies have tremendous patience as we chopped and changed guest numbers and arrangements several times but they fulfilled every request we made.
On the day the ceremony,the reception and wedding breakfast were carried out like a military exercise.(not surprising as the General Manager, Ian Stafford, is a retired army colonel) Everything went according to plan with Ian acting also as Master of Ceremonies and dressed in a fine pair of trousers in his family's tartan
The civil ceremony was beautiful with the Superintendent Registrar putting everyone at ease. The formalities were carried with a little humour which was refreshing as these occasions can be very serious.
The food was exquisite, well prepared and presented and superbly tasty. The staff were very attentive and dealt with all the needs of the guests. Everyone had a fantastic relaxed time!
This hotel is an old stately home with some wonderful rooms and large grounds. It has a walled garden which in itself is worth a visit and most of the food used in the restaurant comes either from this garden or is locally sourced.
Anyone contemplating a wedding venue or a somewhere for a special occasion or just afternoon tea should consider Ston Easton Park. You will not be disappointed and if you are then you've gone to the wrong place!!
Highly recommended so much so we will be back there soon for a nice lunch! Sorry have run out of superlatives to describe our experiences.

Room Tip: Ask for one to rear with views of gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Ston Easton Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are very pleased to hear such a fantastic review about the hotel, it was also our pleasure to be able to host your Son and Daughter in Laws wedding. Your feedback will be passed on the whole team at the hotel and your comments will be very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back for lunch soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Came here for a recent wedding - and loved the place. The room was lovely and spacious, the grounds delightful to walk in (even in the rain!) and the service was unbelievably good. It does have the odd idiosyncrasy (the shower was at my chest height) - but only to be expected in a country house hotel (you can't, and shouldn't, gut a lovely building just for a few minor improvements.

There were a couple of negatives, a few minor areas where the decoration is a bit faded, and there were a couple of small areas where cleaning could be better.

Having said the negatives, for honesty's sake, I will be returning here for a weekend break as soon as I have a weekend off! Next time it'll be with my dog - they seem to be extremely pet friendly, with some sensible rules so as not to annoy other customers.

A must go.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Ston Easton Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Many thanks for your review. It's brilliant to hear that the Wedding and your stay with us was a successful occasion. Please do visit us on your next weekend off, which we hope won't be too far away!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

This was our third visit to Ston Easton, and it was as good as the previous two. We stayed for four nights in a Superior Room (the Green Room), which was at the front. It was large with high ceilings and nicely furnished. What we love about the hotel is the grandeur, which I agree is a little faded, but not to the extent that it affects your stay, coupled with the staff. Every member of staff we encountered were both friendly and helpful. Our package included the Chef’s tasting menu on each night, which was excellent on the first night, and when I pointed out that, as good as it was, we wouldn’t want to eat the same things every night, the Chef prepared new menus especially for us each night, plus we were given the option of choosing from the a la carte menu as an alternative. Now that’s service! The food on all four nights was excellent, as was the restaurant service. Breakfast was very good with the cooked option served at your table. I would urge anybody who is thinking of visiting both Bath and Wells to give the hotel a try.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Ston Easton Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Many thanks for your review. Its lovely to hear that another of your stays at Ston Easton has lived up to your expectations.The team at the hotel take great pride in the service provided and will be very pleased to hear that this was appreciated by yourselves. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

I find some of the reviews on here ridiculous, and after staying at Ston Easton Park, I question whether they stayed in the same hotel as we did. Either that, or the hotel has very recently made some changes? Because we had a truly wonderful stay.

Firstly, the staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful.

The food was delicious. Whether you are a resident in the hotel or not, I recommend eating at the hotel restaurant. Couldn't fault it. The breakfast was also great: many options and beautifully cooked and presented.

The hotel itself was exactly what we expected / wanted: a beautiful old house with loads of character and the interior was all in keeping. Old houses are difficult to maintain, but they have clearly put a lot of love into this house. It was also immaculately clean.
It's a very tranquil place, and the gardens are beautifully kept. There's also the option to play croquet on the lawn, which is a nice touch.

We stayed in a Deluxe room called Vine, with a lovely view of the front gardens. The room was spacious, comfortable and peaceful. The decor is very much as you'd expect, all in keeping with the period house, a very typical English country house style.

It is also dog friendly, which was great news for us, because it meant we could take our little Jack Russell. She had a great time exploring the gardens and playing with the hotel dog, Oscar.
If you are not a dog lover, don't worry - there are strict rules for dogs!

All in all, a wonderful stay. A place I would recommend, and trust me, I am a hotel snob! I can only assume the other reviews on here are from people that are either never happy or were just very unlucky when they stayed here.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Deluxe Room, which was wonderfully spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Ston Easton Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Many thanks for your review. It's great to hear that you had such and enjoyable stay with us and I will pass your compliments on to the team at Ston Easton Park. We are currently about to carry out some maintenance on the house but as you say with such an old property this can be never ending. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Lovely relaxing stay, huge bed, well equipped bathroom, attentive staff. Nice gardens to walk around. Peaceful. Breakfast menu has a very wide choice all were delicious. The white chocolate brulee served for dinner was the only disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian S, General Manager at Ston Easton Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are very pleased to hear that you had a relaxing break away with us at Ston Easton Park. Your comments will be passed on to the team and taken on-board, we do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

This hotel building could be - and clearly once was - absolutely fabulous, but it is showing the lack of investment over recent years. It is an imposing building in a lovely setting and with some great architectural features but the window frames are peeling and there are quite a few other tell tale signs that the hotel has seen hard economic times. For example, the crockery in the hotel is a real mish mash of some beautiful fine china and absolutely bog-standard cheap as chips plain white steelite stuff you would expect to see at the local greasy spoon cafe - bizarrely, it seems a bit random which gets used for what; when we had tea in the drawing room we were served on 3 different types of china, none of which remotely matched the others. Our bedroom (William Pitt) was fine - nothing amazing, but comfortable nonetheless, but it has a scruffy view over the slightly utilitarian back of the hotel, and a very thick blind on the bathroom window (right next to the loo) which has to be kept down, making the room very gloomy, as there is no frosted glass in the window. There are no tea and coffee facilities in the room, although they will bring them if you ask and they will also serve it in one of the numerous pleasant rooms downstairs. On the plus side, we had free wifi in the room, the staff were really friendly and helpful and the breakfast was top quality. We did not eat there in the evening as we had a function to attend, but the dining room was beautifully set up from dinner - a really nice room oozing old fashioned elegance, and we heard lots of people saying good things about the quality of the food. I understand that the group that used to own this hotel went bust and it has been taken over by the chap who used to work for them. I hope he can restore the place to its former glory, as it has the potential to be amazing. In the meantime, I have given it 3 stars - I very nearly gave it 4 (I wish Trip Advisor had a category between average and very goood!) but I could not justify 4 stars on the basis that the place is not cheap - close on £300 for a night's stay and at that cost I expect the refurb work to have been done.

Room Tip: The William Pitt room isn't brilliant - no decent views and a dark bathroom because you have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian J, General Manager at Ston Easton Park Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Many thanks for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service and food at the hotel however we are disappointed that your overall experience did not meet your expectations. There are plans going forward to restore all of the windows in the hotel from the 1st August, crockery and light refurbishment is currently in hand. We do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future and that you will be impressed with the complete package. Should you wish to discuss your review further please do not hesitate to contact us on gm@stoneaston.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ston Easton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ston Easton Park Hotel

Address: Ston Easton, Ston Easton BA3 4DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ston Easton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ston Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ston Easton Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ston Easton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ston Easton Park Bath
Hotel Ston Easton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ston Easton Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.