We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ston Easton Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Ston Easton Park Hotel to your Saves list
Ston Easton Park Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ston Easton, Ston Easton BA3 4DF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ston Easton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Salisbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderfully relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We arrived at the hotel and were welcomed by Oscar the dog! We were promptly and efficiently checked in and shown to our room, the Blue Room (we had been upgraded!). The room was enormous and very comfortable. The hotel is obviously very old and my husband and I loved the quirky nature of our room, the slightly sloping floor added great character to our room and stay! We decided to partake of afternoon tea which, we felt a bit overpriced at £9.75. We each had 2 warm scones, jam (very delicious and thick), a mountain of clotted cream and a pot of tea. The selection of loose leafed tea was good and arrived in a huge pot! We had booked the Travelzoo offer and had a five course taster menu (worth £55 each!) for dinner. We started with a tomato soup with goats cheese, a pea panacotta with smoked pea and edible flowers, my husband ahd mackerel two ways with a horseradish dressing and I had seared halloumi. We both chose cheese souffle for our main course which was absolutely superb. Finally, despite not really having enough room I finished with strawberries with panacotta and sorbet. Our meal was excellent and the waiting staff very attentive, but not overly so. In the morning we were treated to an enormous selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts, pastries and the traditional cooked breakfast, all of which was excellent. There were also complimenary newspapers available so a long and lazy breakfast ensued!! Our overall impression of the hotel and staff was very positive and we would definitely return! My only slight criticism was that the bed was a bit too soft!

Room Tip: Ask for a hospitality tray to be put in your room prior to your arrival!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    88
    26
    6
    6
See reviews for
48
278
4
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent three nights here on a Travelzoo deal which included a five course tasting menu on the first night.

The staff were very helpful and the resident dog Oscar and the two lovely cats in the grounds put a smile on our faces :) The building itself was simply stunning.

We stayed in the French room, which wasn't huge but was very nice indeed. The bathroom was lovely.

The following could have been better:
1) there were no tea making facilities in the room, but bottled water was available.
2) the bed was not a double but two singles pushed together.
3) Our room did not have wi-fi or internet (which it should have had); in spite of all of the efforts from the staff, the ICT set up meant that there was nothing that they could do to sort out the situation as the wired routers were set to only work in specified rooms and the ICT department could not get the wi-fi to work as far as our room (although the router was meant to be practically opposite).

The ICT set up was generally baffling with access expiring every 12 hours. Now, the hotel is in a secluded location, where only guests will be able to access the wi-fi, why on earth would any one apply those restrictions? Furthermore, I have never come across any hotel that applies such restrictions if they do have wi-fi! Normally, one week access is granted (advice to management: get a more customer oriented ICT department).

Breakfast was really good, especially once we learnt to order a platter of meats and local cheeses from the menu!

The five course tasting menu (normally £49) was excellent.
We also had a three course set meal which was also excellent. The only glitch being the crab served with the salmon, which was a little odd tasting - very fresh, but odd flavour combination, not very pleasant, the salmon itself was otherwise excellent. The only irritation of the night (and a big no-no) is that we were served less appetisers as I did not eat meat: instead of replacing the lamb meat ball with something else, they simply gave us one instead of two! Bad, bad, customers service!
The cheese board was absolutely fantastic.

Bath Ales were served, very nice but a bit pricey (but we found a lovely pub 5 minutes down the road, The Farrington Inn)

Croquet and a tennis court were available; even though the tennis court was quite old, the net was nice and tight and it was a bit good fun nevertheless.

Overall, we really loved this place. It would be perfect if only it had a spa/relaxation area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We stayed on 10 October on the Travelzoo deal. Warm welcome from Receptionist always a good start! Room spacious and clean; spotless bathroom with bath robes, toiletries and tissues. We had read reviews so knew there would not be a kettle but we appreciated bottled water and ice bucket. Could be picky and mention burnt lampshades but it did not affect feel of room one bit. We were apprehensive about the 5-course tasting dinner but need not have been! Brilliant and tried things we had never tried before ... and found we liked them! Service excellent, efficient and attentive although Breakfast Waitress added the missing ingredient the next morning - friendliness! Grounds amazing although not quite convinced that neglected kitchen gardens were currently providing quite as much for the kitchen as had been claimed!!!
We were aware hotel had recently been sold as part of Von Essen group going into administration but there was no hint of discontent, uncertainty or transition - apart from there being no postcards available (which was a shame as all good publicity when extolling virtues to friends and relatives!)
I wish the Ston Easton the very best for the future. We had a brilliant stay (though we could not have afforded it at full price!)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Well we have visited Ston Easton on may occations for lunch but thought it was about time we stayed and enjoyed the hotel as well as the food.
We arrived and were shown to a wonderfull room on the top floor with amazing views of the lawns and maze, we popped down and had afternoon tea which was lovely a little exspensive but very nice, after a snooze we had the most wonderful evening meal we have experienced for a long time the service was great and the food was amazing!
After a coffee and night cap we went to bed and had a wonderfull nights sleep in a very large comphy bed woth lovely pillows and also new ice and fresh water was supplied when the bed was turned down.
next morning again the breakfast was wonderfull and the staff again we great, this was a lovely overnight stay with wonderful food and a setting we really enjoyed out time at Stone Easton!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Ston Easton in June 2012 on a Travelzoo deal. Everything, room, staff, dinner and breakfast were excellent. Very highly recommended. My value ratings are based on the Travelzoo deal. The place has a lovely atmosphere, it felt like an elegant country house not an hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Ston Easton Park is close to the wonderful city of Bath and set in beautiful gardens and parkland. The hotel is gracious, peaceful and very comfortable. We had our pre dinner drinks in the library then moved through to the elegant main sitting room. Our meal was first rate, the staff were charming and thankfully not overly attentive. There was an excellent choice of wines but we decided to be guided by the sommelier and try something different - his recommendations proved a great success.
Our room was right up on the top floor, we had booked very late, and I could have done without the long climb after my 3 course dinner! We had a pretty little terrace that looked out over the gardens but there was no direct view from the window. Spacious bathroom with plenty of lovely soft towels.

Room Tip: We booked very last minute and would like to go back and stay in a different room, perhaps on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed on a one night on a Travelzoo offer. We had a large room on the front overlooking farmland and car park. Room was very quiet. The room was beautifully furnished with a 4 poster bed. The bed was very high for a short person .Gardens are nice but more could be be done to bring them up to a good standard.The tasting menu and breakfast were very good. Staff are very good and helpful. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ston Easton Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ston Easton Park Hotel

Address: Ston Easton, Ston Easton BA3 4DF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Ston Easton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ston Easton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ston Easton Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ston Easton Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ston Easton Park Bath
Hotel Ston Easton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ston Easton Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.