We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lynch Country House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Somerton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lynch Country House
Save
You added The Lynch Country House to your Saves list
Behind Berry, Somerton TA11 7PD , England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Sharon, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Lynch country house in Somerton was a lovely place for a vacation. It was very comfortable, had nice gardens, and a wonderful breakfast in their sunroom. We very much enjoyed our stay in this historic house.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
40
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful house in lovely gardens. The black swans were a delight. There was only a room available in the Coach House for us when we booked at £90 per night. The decor and furnishings are a little dated and you'll encounter a little road noise but nothing too concerning. Bed was very comfortable. Perhaps the rooms in the main house are of a higher standard.
Breakfast in the orangry was very good and we were looked after very well.
This was our first time staying in Somerton which is very quiet and a pleasant stop off for the night.
I would probably stay again but felt the Coach House prices are just a little high. if I had been in the main house at that price I would have been delighted but I imagine that would take the rate up a notch.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This has to be one of the loveliest places we've stayed in! It was slightly more than we would normally pay, but not overly so, and was definitely worth the bit extra. The owner, managers and the lady who came in to do breakfast and rooms for two days of our stay were all so friendly. When booking, I asked for a top sheet and thin duvet, which was in place when we arrived, and was glad I had, as the old walls stored up the heat as the day had been warm; also I had requested apple juice (instead of orange) and this was happily provided.

We stayed for three nights in 'Cheshire' in the Coach House across the courtyard which has ground floor rooms. Everything was spotless and of a very high standard and good quality including the very comfy bed. There was good attention to detail to make our stay perfect, such as sufficient lighting, mirrors with adjacent sockets for hairdrying, even a multisocket should we need it. (We've often had to unplug lights or kettle to use a hairdryer or charge phone). There were umbrellas provided in case of rain at breakfast time walking across the courtyard.

The breakfast was wonderful, and no need to order the night before (a thing I hate!). A big bowl of strawberries and blueberries, prunes, grapefruit, and delicious yogourts; a good choice of cereals according to my husband; and of course the lovely cooked breakfast.

The room was of a good size, although not over-large, with plenty of room to move around. We saw into the other rooms and the ones at each end are slightly larger. The gardens are beautiful, with four gorgeous black swans on the lake, who pottered about by the orangery windows at breakfast time. I can't really think of anything negative to say, other than the folding mirror inside our wardrobe door didn't catch shut properly and if we opened the door too quickly it hinged open and you could have a nasty bump! Although the Coach House is adjacent to the road, there was very little noise or traffic at night, but being downstairs were not happy to leave the windows open at night, so it could get too warm on hot days, but one of the rooms had a ceiling fan. A place well worth considering and we hope to return and be able to stay in the house itself next time.

See my other review on the White Hart in Somerton

Room Tip: If ground floor rooms are a necessity then it's the Coach House, if not, stay in the house itsel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

I had arranged a 2 night stay June 16/17 for 9 visiting American's on my tour of the UK.
I had wanted the group to experience an authentic country house..
The accommodation, breakfast and the beautiful, serene grounds did not disappoint.
Mike and Chris looked after our every need, even our laundry!

I will definitely return,with or without a group (they all loved it) it is a relaxing well located visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Just stayed at the Lynch Country House and it was wonderful. Warm and friendly and a excellent freshly cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: All of them
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We only stayed for one night in June, but it was great in every way - friendly staff, beautiful house & gardens, spacious comfortable room, good breakfast (quality & quantity). We paid more to stay in the main house, but probably worth it. The town of Somerton is within easy walking distance and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012 via mobile

Have just stayed for one night at The Lynch and what a great find it was. We stayed in the family room on the top floor as this was the only room available.
The room consisted of a double and single bed with a seperate private bathroom. As the room was in the eaves of the house the ceilings were a bit low but the room was very comfortable. A fan was provided in the room as a got quite warm.
The breakfast was great and consisted of ingredients of a very high quality. The house itself is very impressive with well kept grounds, large pond with fountain and their own black swans. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lynch Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lynch Country House

Address: Behind Berry, Somerton TA11 7PD , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Somerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
The Lynch Country House Somerton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lynch Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.