We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Market Bar and Bistro

Market Bar and Bistro
The Market House, Market place | Somerton, Somerton TA11 7NB , England
+44 1458 272468
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 21 Restaurants in Somerton
Price range: $6 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Market bar & Bistro in Somerton will be re- opening from 1st August 2013 with brand new owners Description A surprise awaits you as you step in to this 16th Century market house which is now The Market Bar & Bistro. We are a contemporary modern bistro with a cosy, informal atmosphere in the center of historic Somerton. Ideally suited for lunchtime and evening diners, The Market Bar is the perfect meeting place for drinks or enjoying fine dining in stylish surroundings with great atmosphere. Our food is locally sourced and Homemade. Monday to Friday Lunchtimes we have a 2 course menu for £9.95 From 12pm till 2pm, we also have a separated Specials board at lunchtimes and evenings. Our opening hours are Monday to Sunday lunchtimes food is served from 12pm till 2pm and Monday to Saturday evenings food served from 6.30Pm till 9.00Pm, Closed Sunday Evening Fiona, Duncan & Avril have been in the business for many years and look forward to seeing old and new faces for our next adventure.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Visited first time in November for a quick lunch and had to wait til July to return and sit down for a full lunch with friends . Well worth it , excellent drinks, food , service . Knowledgable host, just wish it was closer to home !

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    16
    4
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I have been to this restaurant a number of times and am at a complete loss to understand the bad reviews. We have been on at least 7 occasions and the food has been very good and the service friendly. The meals are well presented. My Mum is an elderly widow who sometimes goes here for lunch. She always is made to feel welcome and included rather than alone

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic Puddings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Very friendly staff, and we choose the selection of puddings, which were fantastic.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Forget the rest - take a visit to the 'best' !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

My partner and I have visited the Market Bar on many occasions and have never been disappointed, be it for an evening out or a relaxed Sunday lunch and at all times have found the food to be beautifully presented, sumptuous to eat and served with a great deal of finesse. The owner has a good knowledge of wines and this is reflected in his cellar. We do also try other restaurants in the surrounding areas but for us, we find that the Market Bar cannot be beaten!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Love the Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I eat out regularly and the Market Bar is one of our favourite places. The reason for this is that it is one of the few eating places in the area that truly offer you a great 'dining experience'. You get the whole package - great food, excellent service and a very cheerful and welcoming couple who are very professional and go out of their way to ensure you have a wonderful dining experience. They are also one of the few restaurants that offer Prosecco by the glass! Other restaurants would be wise to follow suite.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Bar and Bistro also viewed

 
Somerton, Somerset
Somerton, Somerset
 

Been to Market Bar and Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Market Bar and Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.