We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely pub” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Globe Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Globe Inn
Market Place, Somerton TA11 7LX, England
01458 272474
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 21 Restaurants in Somerton
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Somerton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely pub,, we walked in and the atmosphere was lovely,, the bar staff greeted us with big friendly smiles an held a lovely conversation,, we were seated straight away and drinks were with us within seconds of ordering,, the landlord and lady were about the pub doing there usual business but didn't hesitate to stop and say hello,, they have a friendly dog who patters about and loves children,, the beer garden is a sun trap and lovely to sit and enjoy a few drinks,, food is fantastic very good value and all local produce. Love music is often held here with lots if drinks and dancing. Overall this is a brilliant pub and I highly recommend a visit

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monmouthshire
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“First Impressions can be wrong”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

And by the title, I am referring to the exterior. My wife and I stopped in Somerton for lunch. I had been here before, but never visited the 'pub' scene. Somerton is a pretty Somerset Village not far from Yeovil and the Globe resides anonymously just behind the main village square in the market place. The exterior is quite foreboding and the roadworks outside at the time did nothing to enhance the building. Dark stone, small white Georgian windows and a large black surround to the main entrance with a small dark green door to finish it off, were off putting. We very nearly did not go in. However, go through the door and it is all change. I think the greeting from behind the bar was probably one of the best I have experienced. Genuine Somerset warmth exuded from every pore of this young lady and the rest of the staff were brilliant as well. The food was of excellent quality, plentiful and the prices VERY reasonable. The waitresses were charming and friendly and happy to engage in conversation. The bar is comfortable with an inglenook fireplace, plenty of stone and wooden beams, all went to enhance a very pleasant and relaxing atmosphere. Definitely a place earmarked for another visit when next in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing lamb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I often eat here and am never disapointed in the service and the food is delicious and great value, the rack of lamb is my new fav at the mo. Highly recomend and if you'd rather eat in peace there's a lovely restaurant and conservatory hidden away from the hubbub of the bar

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bar & resuraunt”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The two are combined which I do not like if your eating, The beer garden and smoking area are quiet good though

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Steak Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We went on a Wednesday evening which is " Steak Night " and both had a perfectly cooked large Ribeye steak with lashings of crispy chips and fresh veg. Great value at £14 each. They also do 2 for a tenner on Tuesdays and Thursdays which again is great value.Thoroughly recommended.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Globe Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Globe Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Globe Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.