We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rushed....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The White Hart

The White Hart
Market Place, Somerton TA11 7LX, England
01458 272273
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The White Hart is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 21 Restaurants in Somerton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $40
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Rushed....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a table of 8 ladies to which we booked a table for 7 30 pm they wanted us to order straight away the waitress informed us we had to order on time due to the kicthen now being delayed because we didn't sit down dead on 7 30 pm ! Personally slightly rude and when we asked if we could change a dish we were told there was nothing else on the menu that's it .. Portions small and expensive on the positive side lovely bar area to sit to have a relaxing drink baring in mind 2 large wines at £19 !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    41
    28
    16
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a shame”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have been to the white hart 4 times now and will not be going again the menu is very limited and portions small rump steak at £20 is way too much money and the chef needs to turn down the gas I asked for rare each time and only got one on the fourth time.if any one reading this wishes to visitnsomerton I would strongly,recommend a small detour and end up at the market bar just 60 yards away and wonderful wholesome food at proper rural town prices and suggest if you want city prices and minimal portions go to a city

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
670 reviews 670 reviews
363 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
371 helpful votes 371 helpful votes
“A 20 minute drive here was worthwhile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Tintinhull some 20 minutes away in a car. We saw a recommendation for this place and booked on a Friday. It was packed but we were served reasonably quickly and the staff were lovely, enthusiastic and very well spoken. We found the food here to be of a very high standard, probably the best meal that we had on our 9 day trip to Somerset (other than those I cooked on the Aga where we stayed of course). It s not cheap but I would say in this case you get what you pay for and that is not always the case in this area. The only negative was that I had to ask for a glass to be replaced as it had come out of the washer dirty.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A touch of luxury...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Great hotel/pub with rooms in the lovely, quiet town of Somerton. The pub has been recently refurbished and the attention to detail is spot on. Think Farrow and Ball colour schemes and crisp white sheets and you'll get the picture...As another reviewer has mentioned, the beds are incredibly comfortable and very inviting.
We visited the pub on a Sunday and it's exactly the kind of place you could easily while away the hours in the quiet bar with the paper and a pint. Although they do a limited menu on a Sunday evening, we had no complaints as the food was excellent and the staff extremely helpful.
I must also mention the breakfast which was, quite simply amazing. You may have missed them now as the pub only serves seasonal dishes, but the strawberries with vanilla yoghurt and muesli was one the nicest things I have ever eaten.
Highly recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exciting menu and super service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Great meal with super service - very impressed particularly with the imaginative menu using locally sourced ingredients.
Not cheap but perfect for that special night out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Hart also viewed

 
Somerton, Somerset
Wedmore, Somerset
 

Been to The White Hart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Hart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.