We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels at home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yew Tree at Church Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Somerton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Yew Tree at Church Farm
Save
You added The Yew Tree at Church Farm to your Saves list
Church Farm, School Lane | Compton Dundon, Somerton TA11 6TE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Somerton B&B and Inns
mol
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Feels at home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

For the second time I've been at this charming B&B. A lovely surrounding, the green of nature that gives peace. A little village where the time stands still.
The breakfast is luxurous and served by Sarah who's caring for the guests needs.
I'll visit again at the end of September and look forward to my stay there very much. I recommend this B&B to all my friends!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaoowcat, Owner at The Yew Tree at Church Farm, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
It was an absolute pleasure to meet you and thank you for your kind words, Looking forward to seeing you again in September-your friends are more than welcome too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
91
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

Thanks again to Sarah for the wonderful stay we had at this lovely cosy bed and breakfast. The setting is remarkably amazing, right next to the village church with a view on a stunning Somerset valley. It is quite and very comfy, Sarah is a lovely host and very helpful - her breakfast is from another world!
Very recommended!
Nina

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaoowcat, Owner at The Yew Tree at Church Farm, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Thank you for your kind review, it is vey much appreciated, hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I stayed here for 4 nights while taking a course in a nearby village and it was a lovely retreat. The rooms have all been recently redone and are spotless and tasteful. The room where they serve breakfast could be in a design magazine. The breakfast would put most expensive hotels to shame--a beautifully prepared take on the full English version, with some much-appreciated fresh fruit. One morning when the weather was nice, the owner served me on a lovely little rustic terrace with a view. Because I was without a car, she kindly offered to drive me into nearby Glastonbury (10 minutes away) so I could meet a colleague for supper. A great base for exploring Somerset.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaoowcat, Owner at The Yew Tree at Church Farm, responded to this review, September 3, 2011
Thank you for admiring our home, I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay . It was a pleasure to meet you and I hope to meet you and your family the next time you are down this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

This is the second time that we have stayed a the Yew Tree and yet again we felt wonderfully looked after by Sarah. The rooms are beautiful, clean and comfortable. The little touches throughout make this place akin to a much more expensive boutique hotel.
We travelled this time with our 8 month old daughter and Sarah made sure that we had a cot on arrival and nothing was too much trouble over the whole weekend.
Now, the breakfast at the Yew Tree has won an award and we can see why. The cooked breakfast came with fresh bread, yoghurt, cereal, pastries and fruit. It was delicious and plentiful, contained the finest quality ingredients and the presentation was fantastic. We almost took a photo it looked that good.
In short, it was another relaxing stay and we really look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaoowcat, Owner at The Yew Tree at Church Farm, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
WOW, praise indeed, thank you so much, I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay. I hope to see you again at the next family function
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights for a family wedding and arrived with three small children and were looked after very well from start to finish. Sarah went out of her way to make sure we had everything we needed, and nothing was too much trouble. The loft room worked really well with children, and the breakfasts were great. Will be looking for an excuse to head back for another stay to explore the area more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaoowcat, Owner at The Yew Tree at Church Farm, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
It was lovely to have yourselves and the rest of the family stay in the other rooms for the wedding weekend I am so glad you enjoyed yourself.

Hope to see you again when you find your excuse to come back to explore!

best wishes
Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KRANJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

This year I was at Yew Tree twoo times (in January and in Jun/July). Serwice is very good. Owners are very kined hospitable and willing to help you. Breackfast is delicious in hospitable and peaceful atmosphere. Room and bathroom are clean comfortable simple and nice furnished. In Summer you may have breackfast or rest in beautiful garden. It's 3 min walk to Earth Spirit Centre, 20 min bay car to Glastenbury and there round are footpaths which provides you nice walk in nature.
I like this place very much because it's peaceful clean and owners are very kined, hospitable and they like to help you.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaoowcat, Owner at The Yew Tree at Church Farm, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
I'm gonna miss you guys, thank you for coming to stay here biannually for the last 3years.

See you in July 2012 for the long dance though
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

This is designer hotel meets B&B and wonderfully hosted by Sarah. The rooms are well fitted and very comfortable and you are made to feel extremely welcome. The rooms are in an annex, studio form so you have independent access without going through the family house which works very well. Although the location is a little off the main tracks, the house is easy to find.

Breakfast is beautifully served and set out in the dining room. This is better presented and quality than many a grand hotel (actually, MOST). This is now my place of choice when in the area.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miaoowcat, Owner at The Yew Tree at Church Farm, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Thank you for you kind words, I'm thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that we'll get to meet you again when you next visit Milfield. Best wishes Sarah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Yew Tree at Church Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Yew Tree at Church Farm

Address: Church Farm, School Lane | Compton Dundon, Somerton TA11 6TE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Somerton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Somerton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Yew Tree at Church Farm is a boutique bed & breakfast that has 4 individually designed en-suite rooms offering a warm, relaxed and friendly stay to anyone who just wants to get away from it all. Set in the heart of Compton Dundon, nestled between picturesque Lollover Hill & Dundon Beacon, with spectacular views over the somerset levels and Glastonbury Tor, we are perfectly positioned for the historic town of Somerton, Glastonbury and Clarkes Village outlet shopping ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Yew Tree At Church Farm Somerton, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yew Tree at Church Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.