We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Exmoor Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Exmoor Country House to your Saves list
Exmoor Country House
Minehead Road, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 19 Porlock B&B and Inns
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed for one night with a group of friends. The location is easy walking distance in to town with good facility's. The hosts at Exmoor house are very welcoming and nothing seems too much trouble. The bedroom was a great size, as was the bathroom and all of it was lovely and clean. Great breakfast too. I will return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve t, Owner at Exmoor Country House, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much....as new owners its very important to us that you enjoyed your stay so we're delighted to see that you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
41
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We were attending a local Land Rover Experience event in Devon and found Exmoor house on google. The hosts were absolutely fabulous, nothing is too much trouble. We booked a couple of rooms to accommodate the children too, both rooms spotlessly clean, well stocked and comfy.

Can't wait to return ...

Room Tip: we had a look at all the rooms (we were the first of a big group) all rooms lovely. we had room 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve t, Owner at Exmoor Country House, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you so much....as new owners its very important to us that you enjoyed your stay so we're delighted to see that you did!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kings Lynn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Stayed for a weekend recently and had a wonderful time. New owners Sally and Steve were great and nothing was too much trouble, lovely breakfast! The surrounding villages are very pretty, Porlock is like stepping back in time, lovely to see independant shops thriving in a village. We did lots of walking and it was so nice to back to a clean, warm and welcoming B&B. Will definately be returning in the spring.

Room Tip: Room 2 has amazing views of grazing sheep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve t, Owner at Exmoor Country House, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting us...we’re delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spalding, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

Fab location, perfect for exploring the beautiful countryside. Exmoor House itself is spotlessly clean, warm and relaxing. Our bedroom was a very good size with incredibly comfy bed. Hosts Steve and Sally were welcoming, charming an attentive without being intrusive. Great value for money. We will be returning soon!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve t, Owner at Exmoor Country House, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting us...we’re delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globetrotterUK88
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Superb 2 night stay in November. Very welcoming and in ideal location for enjoying the superb National Park and lovely little town of Porlock.

Couldn't ask any more from a B&B, Warm & Cosy, good value for money and the breakfast was spot-on! Will definately be visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve t, Owner at Exmoor Country House, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting us...we’re delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

If you're visiting the area, Exmoor House is certainly a place I'd recommend.

The hotel is ideally situated for exploring the nearby coast and is just a stone's throw from the pretty village of Porlock.

The place itself was lovely, I had a great nights sleep and Steve & Sally did everything they could to make us feel at home.

The breakfast was very good too!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve t, Owner at Exmoor Country House, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting us...we’re delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at Exmoor House for 1 night and I wish it could have been for more! The setting was so peaceful and the views were amazing. With only a short walk to Porlock village all the local amenities were close by. Our double en-suite room was very well presented with tea,coffee and biscuits available. Steve and Sally couldn't have been more welcoming and provided some useful information on the area and where to visit. They also served us with a fantastic full english breakfast from locally sourced produce! Thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steve t, Owner at Exmoor Country House, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Thank you very much for visiting us...we’re delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exmoor Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor Country House

Address: Minehead Road, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Porlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Porlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exmoor Country House Porlock is a fine Georgian period house set in its own scenic grounds within the magnificent Exmoor National Park. All our rooms are furnished and finished to a high standard. Our English breakfasts are cooked to order using the best local produce we can source. We invite guests to relax in our lounge during the day as well as in the evening and offer complimentary drinks and light bites between 6 and 7 every evening. All in all quite stylish! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Exmoor Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor Country House Porlock, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exmoor Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.