We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pack Horse - Bridge View

Porlock
|
Condo/Apartment – 
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andrea J
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Had another wonderful stay at The Packhorse, this time we were there for 3 glorious weeks! We stayed in the Bridge Apartment, which is delightful. However, I have stayed in the Rose Apartment on another occasion and that is really great too. I can echo what other reviewers have said that Linda & Brian are the perfect hosts. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble. A welcome cup of tea on arrival and then every Friday Linda makes the best cream teas around! We ate ours in the lovely surroundings of their courtyard. If you're looking for a great place to chill, then you've found it at The Packhorse. Plus if you're into activities there is so much to do. The walks in the surrounding area are fab - lanes, woods or to the beach! You are bound to see deer when walking on Exmoor or around Porlock Hill. If you're lucky you may catch sight of the otters that sometimes visit the river next to the Packhorse in late evening. I didn't see them this time but I most definitely heard them. However, I did encounter the 'eel family' when Brian enticed them out with some ham! Over the years, I have stayed in various places within the area and can honestly say that you feel so welcome and at home, so much so, you just don't want to leave! So that's why I've booked another 3 weeks for 2013 and am also looking to return in a few mths time.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
AJW39
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Another lovely time....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

Just back from another week at The Packhorse. Such a lovely time, never disappointed. Lots of walking straight from the property. Linda and Brian as always, the perfect hosts. Will be back in October....!!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
RubyDogBa...
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fab Week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Pack Horse. On our arrival we were met by Brian and Linda who made us feel extremely welcome and relaxed. We stayed in the Bridge View apartment which had all the space we needed plus lovely views of the bridge and ford. I would recommend the Pack Horse for its excellent location, accommodation ( including many cupboards and coat hangers) and very friendly owners.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
AJW39
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A haven of peace and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The Packhorse is a little gem nestled in the Exmoor countryside. This was our third visit and we are returning in October and May of next year. Linda & Brian are wonderful hosts. Linda's knowledge of the area, (with little bits of history thrown in) and the many walks, straight from the cottages are invaluable. All of their cottages/apartments are furnished to the highest standard. The attention to detail, from the lighting to the bedding (we sleep so well) is lovely. We stayed in Bridge View with our two dogs. The views from almost every window are amazing. We are always lucky with the weather, and if I didn't know better, I would say that they manage to organise that too...!!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MandSShop...
Coventry
1 review
“A little bit of heaven on earth.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

A warm and friendly welcome from Linda and Brian. Very comfortable accommadtion in pretty courtyard setting. Surrounded by beautiful walks in picturesque Exmoor. We keep coming back.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
londoner0...
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best in Somerset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009 for a stay in December 2009

I had a wonderful weekend at the Pack Horse in Allerford, the apartment was lovely,and Linda and Brian the owners ,where so helpful ,Home from home, We went for the Porlock Christmas weekend and had the time of our life,,,Its an amazing place to stay with the little bridge in front of the Pack Horse,I cant wait to go back and take my dog next time Elaine

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
dogholida...
Leicestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Packhorse is TOPS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2009 for a stay in April 2009
1
person found this review helpful

Found this excellent accomodation 3 years ago. We have 2 large dogs who holiday with us. The Packhorse and the friendly hosts Linda & Brian look after all your needs and requirements throughout your stay. Its perfectly placed to explore Exmoor. The dogs love it too. The accomodation is varied and we stay in different appartments or the cottage, depends on the size of our family on each visit. Good value for money, peacful, relaxed and you do your own thing. To find a place that caters for dogs and their families is a top priority for us. The Packhorse is TOPS for us and we come twice a year. I would gladly recommend it whether you have a pet or not. We are due back again later this year, can't wait. When you find a little gem, do you keep quite or tell everyone? Well, I've told you now !!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$809
/ Week
Make Inquiry
this property has payment protection
Owner
Linda G
Speaks English
Listed since : Jan 2012
Response Rate: 85 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 6 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing