We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Pack Horse Stable Cottage

Saved Save
You added The Pack Horse Stable Cottage to your Saves list.
Porlock
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mdwardle
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A perfect place to stay for a perfect break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

A week spent in a beautiful cottage in amazing surroundings. Brian and Linda - the perfect hosts, couldn't do enough for us. A TOTALLY dog friendly place to stay. Already booked up to return !
Loads of walks to take on. Thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a break to get away from it all. 10 out of 10

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Shanfink
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A place with heart”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This is one of the few places we've stayed at that lives up to its reviews and descriptions online. We had excellent service throughout - from booking online to checking out. We were three adults and a 3 year old, and we all loved the cottage! The Pack Horse was easy to find by car and with a rather old sat nav, there were no hidden costs or surprises, the Stable Cottage was very cute, clean, and functional with comfortable beds, sofas, and a well equipped kitchen for cooking meals. There were many attractions around, even for bad weather, accessible by foot and car. But what we liked best was how the owners, Linda and Brian, made us feel - right at home. They looked after us very well, gave excellent tips on activities and made the stay almost magical for our son. I liked the bad weather the least, but that is something out of anyone's control, although Linda felt personally responsible for it and made scones and tea to cheer us up! I highly recommend staying at The Pack Horse.

5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
KLCAL
Instow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Super accommodation in a wonderful setting. We stayed in Stable Cottage which had everything you could need and so comfortable. Brian and Linda are wonderful and friendly hosts. Our second visit this year - no need to say more!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
jjwo
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Somerset is possibly Britain's best kept secret. Along with The Packhorse in Allerford.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
1
person found this review helpful

The Packhorse is undoubtedly in one of the most beautiful parts of the British countryside. The quality of the welcome you receive here is wonderful, the owners Brian and Linda really can't do enough for you. They are always around to help, but also discreet enough to leave you alone.

We came last year and loved it and despite trying not to come back we couldn't resist it (we like to explore and try to avoid visiting the same place twice.) It is highly likely that we'll be back next year.

The most amazing thing is the amount of excellent walking right on the doorstep therefore we rarely have to use the car. It really is beautiful.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
marc05126...
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
1 review
“We love this place...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010 for a stay in August 2010

I have never written an online review on anything before but I am more than happy to say how lovely The Pack Horse is. We first stayed there about 10 years ago when Linda and Brian had just taken over. The whole area is obviously beautiful but more important than this for us was the way the owners make everyone feel so welcome from the moment you arrive to the time you leave. Consequently we've been back every year since and are now proud to think of Linda and Brian as good friends. We've always stayed in Stable Cottage and each time we've gone back we notice some sort of improvement that's been added. It's clear that we're certainly not the only ones who re-book to go back year after year - that says it all I guess!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
meganoo7
spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“an oasis, home from home,lovely people beautiful villages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010 for a stay in December 2009

l had a few day away from London, what a treat was is store for me,beautiful villages decorated for Christmas,l joined friends , and we had such a lovely time exploring the countryside and their dogs enjoyed it too,will certainly go back again ,it very unspoilt, and the suite of rooms were spotless and nicely furnished ,the owners where so friendly and pointed us in the right direction od places to visit,E, Dobbs, London

Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Pat1943bo...
KENT
1 review
“A WONDERFULL PLACE TO STAY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2009 for a stay in December 2009

We had the most wonderfull week staying at the Packhorse, in Allerford., Somerset, Its the best West country accomadation we have stayed in,..surrounded by pretty villages , and the owners are so nice and helpful, we took our three dogs and they had a great time too, We cant wait to go back, do look at the website, you wont be dissapointed, its the best holiday in uk we have had for years,do try it, Pat and Colin, and the dogs...

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$176
/
Night
Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Linda G
Speaks English
Listed since : Jan 2012
Response Rate: 80 %
Response Time: Within two days
Calendar Updated: 10 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing