We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, beautiful location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Culbone

The Culbone
A39, Porlock, Exmoor National Park TA24 8JW, England
01643 862259
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Restaurants in Porlock
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Relax and unwind while you enjoy the stunning views from our peaceful bedrooms, and outside dining area. The seasonal views of the Valley and Moors are breathtaking (the coastal mist adds real magic to the landscape). Lush green in the spring and summer and full of character and action in autumn and winter. Partridge, pheasant and deer are our companions in the milder months. Staying at The Culbone is a great way to experience life on Exmoor.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good food, beautiful location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

After a confusing start, my wife and and I enjoyed a lovely meal at the Culbone. The waitress seemed a bit annoyed as we couldn't make up our minds about whether to try the tasting menu or not. This was a bit rude but other than that, we had a lovely meal, beautiful lemon tart dessert. We would definitely visit again. The location is amazing, as is the drive up to the restaurant from Porlock. Its not the most intimate place, but you won't be dissapointed with the food or standard of restaurant. The price is fine for what you get.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello Jinx,

Thank you for taking time to write your feedback. We review all feedback as a team regularly and will use this to improve a little each day.

The drive really is spectacular isn't it. I'm lucky enough to drive up and down Porlock Hill sometimes twice a day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    55
    18
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minehead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Restaurant & Lynton Cinema deal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This restaurant is high quality and prestigious and it was a delight to eat there. The service and ambiance was lovely. There was some confusion about our cinema booking so I recommend you check carefully if going for this deal; the deal menu is good, in keeping with the character of the restaurant but in my view too limited for the cost, and too highly priced really. For £12.50 per head I would have expected larger portions, and also I completely missed that although there are three courses on the menu for this deal you can choose any two - the three would have meant good value.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for your feedback LizzieS.

I would be delighted to discuss your thoughts in more detail. We are very keen to improve our business and would welcome a conversation.

Could you please contact me direct mark@pipspubs. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porlock Weir, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“BIRTHDAY SUNDAY LUNCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Wonderful Birthday Sunday Lunch. Lovely surroundings and staff very helpful.The deserts were just wonderful.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you CarolynC. We Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I've eaten at The Culbone a few times, so it was the pefect choice for lunch with a girlfriend. It was pleasantly busy (always a good sign) and the food and service both excellent, as always!

My friend hadn't been to The Culbone before, but I'm sure she'll be back. I definately will, so thank you Culbone for another lovely meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
You are very welcome.

I'm glad that your friend enjoyed her lunch. We look forward to seeing you both soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
1 review
“Everything a restaurant should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

On frequent trips to Porlock Weir the entire family always looks forward to a trip to The Culbone. The food is always first class, beautifully presented and sourced locally. We often go as a large party (6+) at busy times and the service is always excellent, friendly and informal ... a balancing act so rarely achieved elsewhere. The specials board and main menu evolves with the season and the frequent speciality nights draw you back time after time knowing that there is always a new dish to try. Scallops, Duck Liver pate, Pheasant and the excellent Devon red beef have all been highlights over the last few months. Succinctly a fine restaurant, with great food run by a passionate team.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S, Owner at The Culbone, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic feedback.

It's a pleasure to serve guests who enjoy wonderful Exmoor produce as much as we do. We're looking forward to local Venison over the next couple of weeks and then wonderful local seafood fromMay. Hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Culbone also viewed

Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Culbone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Culbone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.